The Pastry Book Tag

pastry tag2

Thank you so much to Marwhal Reads for the tag! What an amazing opportunity to talk about the two things I love most in the world- food and books! So without further ado let’s get to this!

CROICoffee cup and croissants on vintage slate chalk boardSSANT: NAME A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE (INCLUDING YOU) LOVE.

I have so many- can I make a list? This calls for a list! The first books that come to my mind are Peter PanThe Hobbit and His Dark Materials. Then there are more recent books like Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Heir of Fire and Name of the Wind.

macarons2

MACARON: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS HARD TO GET THROUGH BUT WORTH IT AT THE END.

Oliver Twist– I was twelve and it was the first classic I read. It gave me the impression that Dickens was really hard, but I’m glad I persevered through it- otherwise I may never have discovered my love of Dickens and Classics in general!

vol au vents

VOL-AU-VENT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WOULD BE AMAZING BUT FELL FLAT.

I have so many of these that I keep planning to make a whole blog about it (it’s kind of a pet peeve of mine). So I could probably fill a whole page just about this. The first thing that comes to mind at the moment is An Ember in the Ashes– which I really thought would be the book of the summer for me and totally fell flat 😦

PAIN pain au chocolatAU CHOCOLAT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WOULD BE ONE THING BUT TURNED OUT TO BE SOMETHING ELSE.

I feel like I often mention Poison by Chris Wooding in these tags, but it’s just a really unusual book and I didn’t see any of the plot twists coming when I read it.

PROFITEROLEPROFITEROLE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT DOESN’T GET ENOUGH ATTENTION.

I don’t think I tend to read anything too off the beaten track (and if I do, I tend to dislike them). Does Sabriel count? It was something I loved as a teenager and I don’t know if it gets as much attention now.

CROQUEMBOUCHECROQUEMBOUCHE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT’S EXTREMELY COMPLEX.

Heart of Darkness is one of the most difficult books I’ve ever read. There are *literally* so many layers to it. It’s a bit like a Russian doll. I would be lying if I said it was easy to get to the bottom of it, but it’s very rewarding once you get to the “kernel” of meaning at it’s heart.

NAPOLEONNAPOLEON: NAME A MOVIE OR TV SHOW BASED OFF A BOOK THAT YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK ITSELF.

This is a bit controversial, but I preferred the Lord of the Rings movies to the books. Not that I don’t like the books, but the movies are among my favourites.

 

EMPANADAEMPANADA: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS BITTERSWEET.

Hit’er’s Canaries– it has got to be one of my all time favourite books. I love how it sheds light on one of the more hopeful moments in the darkest period of world history. I easily could have said The Book Thief instead- it’s such a beautiful book!

 

KOLOMPEHKOLOMPEH: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT TAKES PLACE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN YOUR HOME COUNTRY.

I have two recommendations for this. Firstly, A Thousand Splendid Suns, which takes place in Afghanistan and is a really moving and significant story about life for women under the Taliban rule. Secondly, I recommend Memoirs of a Geisha. Though I’ve been told it’s not entirely accurate, I still found it fascinating and completely absorbing.

PATE A CHOUXPATE A CHOUX: NAME ONE FOOD FROM A BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY.

Well that’s gotta be Bertie Botts Every Flavoured Beans- I don’t care what Dumbledore says- I want sweets that could be everything from strawberries to bogies!

 

Mmm I’m hungry now… I need to get cake pronto, so I’ll be quick about this- I nominate:

Zezee with Books

Tea and Paperbacks

Embuhlee Liest

and anyone else that fancies doing it!

11 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag

  1. Ayunda says:

    Thanks for nominating me! I loved Memoirs of a Geisha too, the book teaches a lot about Japanese culture but also engages us with the story. Also I had the same experience reading Dickens! I struggled reading Great Expectations but I actually really liked it, Dickens is one of my favourite classic authors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

