Overhyped Books List

I was gonna try and get on the Top Ten Tuesday Train- but a) it’s Wednesday now and b) this is not this week’s topic. But honestly, I just *had to* write this blog. Overhyped books are my biggest peeve (or my worst nightmare if you want to link this to Halloween as I was supposed to).

For this list, I’m not talking about books that were bad per se, but books that I might have actually enjoyed more if there wasn’t so much hype around them. I’m also sticking to modern books aka no classics.

So without further ado, here’s my top ten overhyped books:

  1. The_Fault_in_Our_StarsThe Fault In Our Stars- I can’t not put this on the list- I was extremely disappointed by it. It’s a shame, because I might have enjoyed it more if it hadn’t been overhyped. I won’t go into too much detail though, as I’ve already written a blog on it here.

Invisible sentence to make this work

  1. shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024Grisha Series- not a terrible series, but one I might have enjoyed more if it hadn’t been marketed as THE NEXT BIG THING. And THE ROMANCE OF A CENTURY- which it definitely was not. Again I’ve done a review of it already here.

Invisible sentence to make this work

  1. emberintheashes_jkt_5-1An Ember in the Ashes- this was absolutely nothing special. I kept waiting for it to live up to expectation. And waiting. And waiting… Still waiting…. Nope- looks like it’s never gonna happen. The overall problem with this book was the author was relying too much on the uniqueness of her world. And yet, having read other books set in ancient Rome, I didn’t even feel like it was particularly unique. In fact, there was nothing special about any of it. There was nothing interesting about the stoic male lead or the bland heroine. Nor was there anything remarkable about the contest part of the plot- you know the type: a contest where no one wants the main character to win oh-my-goodness-what-will-he-do? Or the sub plot about the slave secretly spying on the master. Or the fairly obvious plot “twists”. Basically, it was all tried and tested and boring as hell.
  1. The_Bone_Season_coverThe Bone Season- what on earth was this book even about? It was way too confusing and had too many tangents. Everything just felt like the author was trying to cram in as much as possible. One idea led to another crazy idea. Then all the crazy ideas just compounded together into one hot mess. I mean, it started out with clairvoyants in a dystopic steampunk world and then it jumped to a weird parallel universe sci-fi thing with vampire-aliens. Yeah, that’s right- this book had vampire-aliens. And I thought sparkly vampires were the pits- guess I’ve been proved wrong. I swear the only way this could be compared to JK Rowling is if you say “this is what Harry Potter would have been like if JK Rowling was on crack”.
  1. Seraphina_book_cover_(US_addition)Seraphina- this one was personal. Dragons are unquestionably my favourite mythical creature. That’s why I so desperately wanted this to work. I was promised a book that finally, finally delivered awesome dragons and a great plot. What could go wrong? Well, everything apparently. I did not connect with the characters or the setting. Now, I get that may be down to me having particularly high standards when it comes to dragon lore. So I could have let Hartman off on that one. But the real nail in the coffin is that I was bored. I just felt like Hartman sacrificed the plot for the sake of said world-building (although in the interest of fairness, this could also be because I’m not a huge fan of detective stories). This book just did not deliver on the amazing dragon story I’ve been waiting for- I guess I’ll just have to stick to rereading the Hobbit for now.
  1. Legend_Marie_Lu_Book_coverLegend series- I didn’t mind the first one, but as the series progressed, I just found it so boring. Since the writing was nothing special, it really needed a great plot to carry the story. But I just felt like it was a nothing-dystopia (basically my newly coined term for a dystopia that, unlike regular dystopia, is not a social commentary and isn’t really about anything at all). And I could never find the connection with Les Mis- it just felt like a dumb ploy to sell books. Sure Lu could have been inspired by Les Mis, but did that need to go on the cover of the book? I mean, Stephenie Meyer was inspired by a dream- it didn’t say “inspired by a dream” on the front of Twilight.
  1. Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011Divergent- I’d say this was another “nothing-dystopia”, but the problem with this one is that it’s about everything. I swear nothing made sense in this book series, as I made clear in my Allegiant review. It’s Hunger Games meets Harry Potter meets some genetic stuff that made no sense. And yes I think it’s a total rip off of the Hunger Games- and before anyone says “Divergent was written first”, it was published in 2011 and Hunger Games was published in 2008. Case closed.
  1. matched and selection2Matched/Selection Series- and yes, I’m naming both of them together because they’re basically the same book. Both of them have a shallow whiny main character that can’t decide between two perfect guys that love said whiny character irrationally. Then said whiny character flits between both of them for three books whilst shit goes down in some generic dystopian world. Yawn.
  1. Bronzehorseman.jpgThe Bronze Horseman- this is basically my Book That Shall Not Be Named. Ugh I have no words left. I did a blog about it here.

Invisible sentence to make this work

And finally (don’t hate me- although if you’ve made it this far and not been offended by my opinions, I congratulate you):

  1. Knife_of_Never_letting_Go_coverThe Knife of Never Letting Go- I just hated the writing style of this book. I didn’t get the concept and I didn’t get what was going on half the time. I just. Did. Not. Get. This. Book.

Invisible sentence to make this work

So that’s that. Agree? Disagree? Leave your comments below.

20 thoughts on “Overhyped Books List

  1. Zezee says:

    I’m with you on 1 and 2. Didn’t like Green’s book and Bardugo’s was just okay. After the first time i read #5, I would have agreed with you a little but i really enjoyed it the second time around. I can see how it can be boring though. A couple other readers said the same but I liked it.
    I refuse! to read Allegiant. Insurgent pissed me off so bad and it’s a shame because I liked Divergent.

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      That’s fair- as I said, I think the fact that I didn’t like it stemmed from my disappointment mostly that the dragons weren’t what I wanted them to be. I think if I wasn’t so prejudiced I might have liked it more.
      I quite enjoyed Divergent too- but the idea felt tired and when I tried to think about it my head hurt from how stupid the concept was.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ayunda says:

    It’s too bad that you didn’t like the last two books! I’ve heard so many people recommending the Bronze Horseman and I’m looking forward to reading it. And I loved The Knife of Never Letting Go, I’m actually currently reading the last book right now! But I guess we all have different opinions for these novels…

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Don’t worry! I’m in the minority- you’ll probably love them. Anyway, I feel like it’s good to have another perspective before you read things- cos I think a lot of these books would’ve been better if I hadn’t expected too much from them 🙂

      Like

  3. Creatyvebooks says:

    The only book I disagree with you on is An Ember in the Ashes. I actually enjoyed that book a lot. As for the others I read Marie Lu Legend. It was a good series but I don’t know what all the hype is all about. I’ve read better dystopians. Also, I’m sad you didn’t enjoy Bronze Horsemen because that is one of the books I will be reading in November. Is the romance and writing that dreadful?

    As for the other books on your list, I’m glad I was never interested in the Selection or Matched. I hate the Bachelor TV show so there’s that. Patrick Ness never been on my radar so that’s a book I don’t have to worry about. I mean I can go on and on about your list. It’s that good.

    PS do you like the Divergent movies better than the books or you don’t really care either way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      That’s totally fair- everyone has different taste 🙂
      Yeah I completely agree with you about Legend. I also felt it kind of fizzled out as the series progressed- although that might have been because I lost interest :/
      I’m not gonna lie, I certainly thought it was dreadful. The writing isn’t that bad, but I *hated* the characters (particularly the main one, she’s such a drip!) and the plot drove me crazy.
      Yeah Matched and the Selection were such a waste of time. I don’t think I had any expectations for them to be good though- I just hoped I’d be pleasantly surprised. I’m not from the States, so I’m not familiar with the Bachelor- if I had been, I never would have read it!
      Thank you so much!
      I quite like the movies- they’re certainly entertaining. My main problem is that the whole concept doesn’t work and drives me mad!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Eve Messenger says:

    I could not agree more about what a pain overhyped books are. It is so hard for them to live up to larger-than-life expectations! (Although they sometimes, gloriously, do.) Interesting, not even consciously, I’m pretty sure I’ve avoided reading #1, #2, and #3 because they reek of “overhyped book.” I really enjoyed Seraphina but can understand how lifelong fans of dragons might not. I had to shield my eyes as I scrolled past #6 because I recently obtained an autographed copy of Legend and am looking forward to reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I know exactly what you mean- it’s always been the biggest bane of my life when it comes to book. Yeah I was sorely disappointed with #1, #2, and #3. I have to say Seraphina was the harshest one on the list! As you said, it’s basically cos I’m a lifelong fan of dragons :p – I am ridiculously hard to please when it comes to books about them. haha it’s funny that you should mention Legend too, cos that one’s also really harsh! I actually gave it a very generous 4* on goodreads when I first read it- but it’s on the list cos while I enjoyed the first one I completely lost interest and became bored as the series progressed :/ (my ratings took a nosedive after book 1). Also, because the marketing ploy of comparing it to Les Mis was way off base- so really the hype was just wrong about the book rather than anything else. (Sidenote: I really like Marie Lu now that I’ve read the first two in the Young Elites trilogy!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

