Halloween Book Tag

Ooh it’s now officially Halloween where I am…

jack o lantern gif

So time for something Halloween themed. Thank you to embuhlee for the tag!

1. Carving pumpkins- what book would you carve up and light on fire?

as i lay dyingHaha- what a brilliant question! I think that would have to be my least favourite book in the entire world: As I Lay Dying. I still don’t get it- even after I had to read this damn book twice for uni. Why Faulkner- why write a book about how inadequate words are? Why??? (I did a review on it here expressing my disdain but that’s pretty much all my opinion amounts to).

2. Trick or treat- what character is a trick, what character is a treat?

queen of shadowsI’m gonna go for a Queen of Shadows theme here. Dorian is a (yummy) treat and I so desperately want him to be happy (preferably with Manon not Aelin). And Chaol is a trick, cos he seems so nice on the outside, but really he’s a damned hypocrite (grr).

Invisible

3. Candy corn- what book is always sweet?

isla and the happily ever afterIsla and the Happily Ever After– I know it’s a lot of people’s least favourite book in Stephanie Perkins’ series, but I just loved this book. It’s really sweet and I always love a happy ending! I get all warm and fuzzy when I read it 😀 (And yes I’ve heard the criticism that it’s unrealistic- but I just don’t care!).

invisible

4. Ghosts- what character would you love to visit you as a ghost?

Harry_Potter_and_the_Order_of_the_Phoenix*Spoiler* for Harry Potter 5 (but if you haven’t read it yet, I don’t know where you’ve been living) but Sirius Black, cos I had a massive crush on him as a child. I always imagined him as this kind of rock star wizard type figure. I don’t really know what I’m expecting to come of this encounter- some weird ghost romance maybe? We’ll just have to wait and see…

5. Dressing up in costume- what character would you want to be for a day?

Hobbit_coverOkay, I’m gonna go for a really weird one, just for kicks: Smaug from the Hobbit. Yes, that’s right I want to be the evil, but totally kickass dragon from the Hobbit. I’d spend the day just chilling on a pile of gold and maybe roasting the occasional villager (what? I’ve got to eat something)

invisible

6. Wizards and witches- what is your favorite Harry Potter moment?

Harry_Potter_and_the_Prisoner_of_AzkabanHow can I pick just one? I always loved the Marauders parts of the story best. I loved how complex they were as characters and I was hooked every time a bit of their past was revealed. So my favourite moment is probably when Lupin reveals how they all became Animagi in Prisoner of Azkaban. Although the part when Snape’s story was revealed was also epic! Oh and that moment in Chamber of Secrets when Tom Riddle is revealed to be Voldemort was also really epic. (What? You didn’t actually expect me to pick just one did you? :p )

7. Blood and gore- what book was so creepy that you had to take a break from it for awhile?

breatheBit lame- but I’m easily scared and I thought Breathe by Cliff McNish was really creepy. Yes, I know it’s a children’s book, but there were ghosts and creepy things going on and it was dark. I actually had to wait till morning to finish it. I very nearly put the book in the fridge like Joey in Friends to protect me from it (although admittedly he was dealing with the Shining, which I’d imagine is a tad scarier). Weirdly this book freaked me out more than books that I’ve read that are actually supposed to be properly scary. Don’t ask me why, cos I have no idea.

I nominate:

CreatyveBooks(bargain)bookblissyourdaughtersbookshelfBloggertized, Anetabooksandbakes, Zezee, Alice@raptureinbooks, Ayunda, Maria

and anyone else who wants to do it! Happy Halloween!

16 thoughts on “Halloween Book Tag

  1. Zezee says:

    Lol @ Smaug and crush on Sirius, though I like him too. I prefer Sirius in my mind to the Tv one though. In my head, he’s tricked out in a leather motorcycle jacket n wears aviators sunglasses with a buzz cut n tattoos. Totally different from the HP world but I love a bad ass Sirius.
    Thanks for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Creatyvebooks says:

    Thanks for tagging me. I’m so bad with tags but hopefully I can get this one done before Halloween is over 🙂 These questions are awesome I’m going to need you to lay off my baby bro Chaol. Yes he’s a misguided fool but he means well :-p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

