BOOK TAG: MY LIFE IN BOOKS

Yay another tag! Thank you so much to Marwhal Reads for tagging me! And this is good timing for me cos it’s gonna be a hard week to do any blogging- I’m moving and starting a new job- all in one week! (All I need is to get divorced for a full hat trick of stress- although I’d need to get married first to achieve that last one).

FIND A BOOK FOR EACH OF YOUR INITIALS:

Well I’m Orangutan Librarian on here, so my initials are OL. So two books for that are:

two books

COUNT YOUR AGE ALONG YOUR BOOK SHELF: WHAT BOOK IS IT?

hollyblack-thedarkestpartoftheforestOk, so I have no bookshelves to speak of, what with moving and all, so I’ll just count books in boxes… And 23 books along is The Darkest Part of the Forest– which I have yet to read. Kind of wondering if that is supposed to be symbolic of my age in some way? I mean, does that mean being 23 is a scary fairy tale or something? I feel like it should.

Invisible

PICK A BOOK SET IN YOUR CITY/STATE/COUNTRY:

DickensBleakHouseI live in London so I could choose so many things! Let’s go with Bleak House cos the opening is so great and atmospheric:

“London. Michaelmas term lately over, and the Lord Chancellor sitting in Lincoln’s Inn Hall. Implacable November weather. As much mud in the streets as if the waters had but newly retired from the face of the earth, and it would not be wonderful to meet a Megalosaurus, forty feet long or so, waddling like an elephantine lizard up Holborn Hill. Smoke lowering down from chimney-pots, making a soft black drizzle, with flakes of soot in it as big as full-grown snowflakes—gone into mourning, one might imagine, for the death of the sun. Dogs, undistinguishable in mire. Horses, scarcely better; splashed to their very blinkers. Foot passengers, jostling one another’s umbrellas in a general infection of ill temper, and losing their foot-hold at street-corners, where tens of thousands of other foot passengers have been slipping and sliding since the day broke (if this day ever broke), adding new deposits to the crust upon crust of mud, sticking at those points tenaciously to the pavement, and accumulating at compound interest.”

Also, anyone seen the TV show- it’s amazing!

PICK A BOOK THAT REPRESENTS A DESTINATION YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRAVEL TO?

star of kazanGosh there are so many. I remember always wanting to see places in Eva Ibbotson’s books. I think Star of Kazan (and possibly a few others) was set in Vienna and I’ve always wanted to go there because of that.

Invisible

PICK A BOOK THAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE COLOUR:

I don’t really have a favourite colour, but I’ve always thought the Iron Fey series was pretty colours (until they went and changed it on my kindle- grr)

iron-fey-series

WHICH BOOK DO YOU HAVE THE FONDEST MEMORY OF?

heidi book.0I’m gonna go with Heidi, cos I’m feeling really nostalgic. But Harry Potter gets an honorary mention, cos it was the first big book I ever read (I was 7, bless)

Invisible

WHICH BOOK DID YOU HAVE THE MOST DIFFICULTY READING?

anna35dollarHmm I’ve had similar questions before, so though this may not be the most difficult, I think I did have a hard time with Anna Karenina– not because it isn’t good, but because the first and last parts dragged. The same could also be said for some parts of Les Miserables if I’m honest.

Invisible

WHICH BOOK IN YOUR TBR PILE WILL YOU GIVE YOU THE BIGGEST SENSE OF ACHIEVEMENT?

north-and-southI want to say War and Peace– but I’d be lying if I ever thought I’d get round to reading *that*. It’s way too intimidating. So I’ll go with North and South instead, because I actually really want to finish this book, and somehow have never managed to get round to it. Even though I was supposed to read this at uni *hangs head in shame*

Invisible

AND THAT’S THAT. I NOMINATE:

Zezee 

embuhlee

Ana

Ayunda

analee@booksnacks

Sara Letourneau

Claire@ArtandSoul

Keira

18 thoughts on “BOOK TAG: MY LIFE IN BOOKS

  1. yourdaughtersbookshelf says:

    Great post – your admission that you will probably never read War and Peace made me giggle, as I JUST gave away my copy after staring at it on my shelves for multiple decades. Actually, it was staring at me… I finally had to admit it was just taking up space. And I don’t feel guilty at all! (Maybe a bit).

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you! Haha glad I’m not the only one that feels this way!! I remember being frightened of my mum’s copy when I was young- and that was *before* I realised she just had part 1. After that I pretty much decided, “yeah, that’s never gonna happen”

      Like

  2. Maria says:

    Yay! Glad you were able to get this done despite your packing/new job/craziness. And I have to agree that 23 is a bit like a scary fairy tale of trying to figure out how to navigate the adult world!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

