SEASONS OF BOOK BLOGGING TAG

So here’s the thing… I’m behind on tags- there I said it! I feel so ashamed! According to my (god-I-hope-it’s-reliable) list of all the tags I need to do, this one was given to me the longest time ago, by the lovely JBookish, who is also the incredible creator of this awesome tag. Thanks again! Very excited for this one!

RULES AND REGULATIONS:

  • Thank the creator (so she can see all of your answers!) and the person who tagged you.
  • Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there!
  • State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.
  • Tag whomever you’d like when you’re finished.. or else you’ll be “it” forever.
  • Have fun, of course!

November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!
Yup- I was tagged in November- I’m pretty late to this party but whatever. Gosh- this is a hard one to start with! I think the first thing that popped into my mind was the very first “big” book I was ever recommended. I was seven at the time and I’m eternally grateful because it’s what got me into reading. Any guesses what that book is? (Ok, the picture is a bit of a give away, isn’t it?). Yeah, you guessed it: Harry Potter. Just thinking about this is making me feel super nostalgic now. Shout out to my friend Abigail- who is an even bigger bookworm than me- who recommended me that book (and so many more over the years!)

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

Hmm when I’ve given books as gifts, they’ve been a little odd- like the time I gave Turn of the Screw to my brother. I’m planning to get my mum a copy of The Yellow Wallpaper cos I’ve been telling her to read it for ages- I have weird ideas of what kind of books to give as gifts, clearly. And yes, I deliberately chose the creepiest images I could find.

yellow wallpaper and turn of the screw

January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

So I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve always had this thing called “Mid Year’s Resolutions”. Which basically means that when I have a problem with the way I’m doing something, I make a Mid Year’s Resolution to change it. My current ones are to exercise more (I know, totally cliché) and it’s going really well cos I now have an exercise bike in my room- so yay exercise and tv!

February is the month for relationships. Name your favourite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!
My goodness- I don’t know where to start. I had a long think about this one, because I wanted to pick a book that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside- and I don’t think I could choose better than Emma and Mr Knightley- because their relationship is, at times, romantic, platonic and familial!

Emma_Jane_Austen_book_cover

Invisible

March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.
Gosh there are so many- I think it would have to be the Hobbit. It’s just one of my favourite books and I’d like to experience it for the first time again. It’s just such a magical experience- and if by some freak accident, you haven’t read it- stop what you’re doing and pick up a copy now! And yes, I realise this is about the gazillionth time I’ve mentioned this book in my blog- but I don’t care!

Hobbit_cover

April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.
Yeah, I’m sorry about this one. But I think of all the books in my overhyped books list, this one suffered the most for being overhyped. Basically, because it isn’t actually a terrible book, but I expected so much more from it because of the amount of acclaim it had. (Ahh don’t hate me!! I know that’s a pretty sacrilege thing to say in the book-blogging world)

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

Invisible

May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.
Hmm this one’s hard. I’m gonna go with Daughter of Smoke and Bone because when I came across it, I’d already read a lot of rubbish angel and demon YA Romance books, and I really wasn’t expecting much. Boy was I surprised when this turned out to be awesome! Also, I wasn’t really expecting the twist at the end. So yeah, surprising all round.

daughter of smoke and bone

June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

YA Contemporary cos it’s not challenging and it really relaxes me. The more romantic the better.

July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks. (Figuratively. Please don’t light books on fire.)
Fireworks as in angry? Cos then it was As I Lay Dying. If not then A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab- because it’s like “ahh amazing!!!” I guess the latter, cos it’s so incredible, it’s like fireworks going off in my brain from all the excitement!

a darker shade of magic

Invisible

August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

Sarah J Maas- I mean she kind of already is a big deal- but whatever, she deserves to be an even bigger deal. That woman knows how to write!

September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

There were actually loads of books I read for school that I loved. But I’m gonna go with one of my absolute favourites: To Kill A Mockingbird because, c’mon, it’s one of the best books ever written.

to kill a mockingbird

October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

Hmm I don’t tend to dress up as characters (I’m much too lazy for that). How about Catwoman cos she’s sexy and I like superheroes. Or Arwen from Lord of the Rings, if I’m feeling super adventurous.

I TAG:

Some of my newer followers- it’ll be a nice chance to get to know you 🙂

Brin’s Book Blog

Tony Single

Tash

Nya

ReinReads

Sara Beth Williams

Patrick W Marsh

The Book Adventurer

Red Headed Book Lover

The Words of the Roses

Impossible Girl

If you’ve done it, just link to your post below- I’d still love to read your answers! Also there’s no obligation to do it and you’re welcome to do it- even if I haven’t tagged you!

26 thoughts on “SEASONS OF BOOK BLOGGING TAG

  1. authorswilliams says:

    Thanks for the tag, that was sweet of you 🙂 This might take me a while LOL. I’m totally new to this blog tagging thing. Ha!
    So I suppose I shouldn’t tag you back because you have so many tags already 🙂

    Like

  2. authorswilliams says:

    Sorry I should’ve thought that other comment out more carefully. To add more to it…I agree, it was definitely overhyped. It was a fairly decent read until the end, which as I mentioned, was IMO kind of lame. Even though we all knew it was coming…and so on and so forth…

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I thought it was ok, but I didn’t like it cos I expected so much more and that just made me really picky about all the problems I had with it. I’m not sure I’d have liked it if I’d gone into it without expecting anything, but I probably wouldn’t have hated it so much- then again, it’s pretty pretentious, so maybe I would have

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tony Single says:

    This is very very cool. Love the idea! And… To Kill a Mockingbird? You have taste. I’m one of those crazy people who love it so much that the film version disappointed me. (I know, I know. The film is supposed to be a classic but…) 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. J. Bookish says:

    Yay you did it! I had to read the Yellow Wallpaper for an English Lit class in college and I’m pretty sure it was the creepiest thing I’ve ever read… that cover just added to it. And I just finished Emma a few days ago! I really liked it, it’s my third favorite Jane Austen novel haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

