Keep It Fresh Award

Thank you so much LitMermaid for the tag! (Am I the only one that thinks the title sounds a little gangsta?) Anyhoo, without further ado, here’s the rules:

  1. Post the rules before starting and link back to this post as a reference for other bloggers.
  2. Part AAnswer each of the fruit questions (each fruit corresponds to a book!) & add pictures plus why you thought that particular book deserves that particular fruit if possible.
  3. Part B:Choose your favourite fruit (even if it is one of the fruits in part A). Come up with a question that we didn’t ask and answer it.
  4. Part C:Create your own smoothie from the fruits in Part A (imagine a Lemon-Tomato-Apple smoothie ~ yuck), and find a book that would correlate to your smoothie!
  5. Nominate as many and anyone that you think are deserving of this award but it would be nice if you nominated a minimum of 5!
  6. Notify your nominees of the nomination.
  7. The most important rules? Have fun and of course, keep it fresh!

Part A: Fruit Questions

PerfectStrawberry1. Strawberries – Name the sweetest book you’ve read. (e.g. sweet in terms of the characters or if the story takes place in a sweet world… etc.)

isla and the happily ever afterIsla and the Happily Ever After– it’s sappy but it’s cute!

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

Coconut isolated on white background.2. Coconut – What is a book that you would bring on vacation with you to a tropical destination? (Or if you’re just relaxing at the beach…)

mortEasy- I tend to bring a Terry Pratchett book with me or a Tamora Pierce. They’re just super relaxing and I don’t have to think when I read them. Plus Pratchett is hilarious.

Invisible

Invisible

pineapple3. Pineapple – What is a book that you didn’t think you would like by judging its cover/summary/the first few pages but started to grow on you?

aimee and the heartthrobAimee and the Heartthrob- because that title is the dumbest title ever. But it was actually really sweet and an enjoyable read- what can you do? (Incidentally, I didn’t pick this up intending to read it- cos I thought I’d just hate it- so I downloaded a sample, and, unusually for when I get a sample, I was hooked pretty fast.

Invisible

orange4. Orange – What’s the juiciest book you’ve read? (e.g. A book with tons of action, romance… etc.)

sonsandloversI’m going with Sons and Lovers by D.H.Lawrence. And yup I have read Fifty Shades of Grey. And nope, I’m not picking it, cos I didn’t think it was especially juicy- unless you count grocery shopping as juicy. C’mon people- you can get better erotica for free on the internet!

Invisible

Invisible

watermelon5. Watermelon – A watery book (e.g. There wasn’t tons of substance to the book/the details were just too watery…etc. Don’t get us wrong though, we love watermelons!)

finding skyI’m not sure about this one. I suppose Finding Sky is a good choice, because it hasn’t got a lot of substance? I’m not sure about the question though.

Invisible

Invisible

dragonfruit6. Dragonfruit – What’s the most unique book you’ve read? (e.g. Unique in writing style, characters, plot… etc.)
american-gods-book-cover-imageOkay, I was going to go with my standard answer (Poison by Chris Wooding), but I think it’s time I gave another book a shout. How about American Gods by Neil Gaiman? It’s got some unusual scenes and I love the way Neil Gaiman weaves different myths together. And the overall narrative is pretty epic!

Invisible

 

Lemon37. Lemons – Name a book that made you feel sour. (e.g. The emotions were just sour, you just felt sour reading the book, or the book includes sour characters… etc.)

50ShadesofGreyCoverArtOk I’ve already mentioned this in this post, but I may as well go ahead and mention it again: Fifty Shades of Gray. I mean, not trying to insult people that liked this or anything, but c’mon people! This book was trash. And I don’t mean that in the “this was too sordid for me” kind of way- I mean it in the “god this is the worst writing I’ve ever seen” kind of way. Everything about it made me feel very, very bitter. Bitter about the stupid stalkery male lead, bitter about the lame heroine and bitter over the non-existent plot. Overall, it was an entirely sour experience.

tomato8. Tomato – What is a wonderful book that you think should be more widely known? Or a fantastic author whom you think deserves more recognition? (Since some may not know that tomatoes are actually fruits!)

I_Coriander_coverI, Coriander. I did an underrated books list recently and this was pretty high up on the list- I literally couldn’t believe people hadn’t read it. It’s a fantastic historical fantasy- and I won’t say anymore, cos I might ruin it otherwise.

Invisible

Invisible

apple9. Apple – Name a really stereotypical book of a certain genre just like apples which are typical fruits. In the end was that book good or not? (e.g. A very typical contemporary/fantasy book… etc.)

shadow of what was lostShadow of What Was Lost. This book is super typical of the genre- and it is brilliant (if I wanted to be negative I could have chosen Eye of the World- that book is a walking cliché.)

Invisible

Invisible

blueberry10. Blueberries – Name a book that made you feel blue. (Any sad, depressing books that you’ve read?)

tessThe most obvious choice for this has to be Jude the Obscure. It’s a fantastic book- but boy does it leave you with book-hangover for days.

Invisible

Invisible

grapefruit11. Grapefruit – Any bitter books? (e.g. a book that was blue but MORE… do you have any bitter resentments towards characters from a book? Any sour turned bitter emotions? Any uber hateful villains?)

selectionYes! I *hated* America from the Selection series SO MUCH! I mean, she is everything I hate in dumb heroines. She’s special snowflake that toys with two perfectly decent guys at once- grr.

Invisible

Invisible

Jackfruit12. Jackfruit – Name the most physically heavy book that you’ve ever read. (Because jackfruits are pretty heavy fruits!)

count of monte cristoHmm I think it was either Middlemarch or Count of Monte Cristo. I tend to think Middlemarch might have been longer because the plot dragged a bit, whereas Count of Monte Cristo was just jam-packed epic awesomeness. (On a side note- I did not know what a jackfruit was before I did this post!)

Invisible

limes13. Limes – Name a funny book that you’ve read because limes add flavour and so does humour with every book.

anansi boysAnansi Boys– I love how Neil Gaiman adds humour to his work and this one is definitely the funniest. (Beginning to think the strapline of this post could be “I love Neil Gaiman; I hate Fifty Shades of Grey”- I might do a post on that separately :p )

Invisible

Part B: Favourite Fruit

passionfruitChoose your favourite fruit and then choose a book that would correspond the best and if your fruit is already taken on our list, make up your own question and answer it.

daughter of smoke and bonePassionfruit used to be my favourite, so I guess that works. And for that I want a book full of passion, which is Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Invisible

Invisible

Part C: Fruit Smoothies

Banana21Finally, choose a book that was a mix of some of these fruits to make your own smoothie. (e.g. A strawberry blueberry lemon smoothie would correlate to a sweet and sad but sour book.)
peter pan and wendyCocoa bean (yeah… that’s a fruit) and banana smoothie aka chocolate and banana milkshake aka all the best things. And duh- I’m an orangutan- this post had to include bananas in some way :p And for that I’m going to pick one of my favourite books of all time: Peter Pan

Invisible

That’s it!!

I tag:

Zezee

Embuhleeliest

Analee @ Booksnacks

Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks

Claire @ Art and Soul

Quirky Book Nerd

JBookish

And anyone else!

If you’ve done it already, you don’t have to do it again, but do feel free to drop a link to your post 🙂

34 thoughts on “Keep It Fresh Award

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I couldn’t read 50 Shades. I read about 2 pages I saw published elsewhere and the writing was so bad I knew it would drive me crazy to read a whole book of it.
    You can never, ever, go wrong with a book by the great Sir Pratchett 🙂
    Thanks for tagging me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Exactly- it doesn’t make any sense. And I couldn’t understand why they thought it was feminist either- cos it isn’t. If anything, it’s bordering on abusive. And not because it’s BDSM, but because she’s pressured into doing it, which makes it sexual coercion, and a grey area for whether it’s even consensual.

      Like

Leave a Reply

