Top 5 Most Anticipated Books of 2016

Okay, so I missed the Top Ten Tuesday train *and* I didn’t make it to ten. Although that’s just cos I wanted to share the ones I am most excited about, even though I’ve seen loads of other books on various blogs today that I’ve added to my tbr (oh my goodness- that thing is like a monster that’s growing out of control- soon it’ll overtake all the books I’ve ever read in my life). It’s also a little weird to me that I’m looking forward to 2016 before I’ve properly wrapped up 2015- I still finalise my choices for my top ten so I can post it!

Alright, enough digression, here’s my most anticipated releases of 2016:

anticipated reads.png

  1. Throne of Glass 5

I don’t need to explain this, do I?

  1. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I loved her other fairy tale retellings- need I say more?

  1. A Gathering of Shadows

Ahh I’m in  love with this series- can’t wait to see where it goes

  1. Lady Midnight

Let’s face it, at this stage, if it has Shadowhunters, I’m sold.

  1. Winds of Winter

Okay, this one’s fairly optimistic- cos no one knows if the date will be pushed back again. But if it does come out you can bet I will be freaking out!!

Alright, that was a fairly quick update- I doubt I really needed to explain any of these- hope you enjoyed my two cents anyway 🙂

19 thoughts on “Top 5 Most Anticipated Books of 2016

  1. rainandcheese says:

    Heartless and A Gathering Shadows look like interesting reads 😀 After reading Alice, I’m pumped for more fairytale retellings. I haven’t heard A Gathering Shadows before though, but the cover is really pretty and a bit ominous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Galaxial Word says:

    Oh my God I am so sorry but I have sinned against you because I FUCKING HATE CASSIE CLAIRE. ARGH. I finished City of Bones and vowed never ever to read another one of her books. Two reviews from Goodreads that basically say everything I need to say:

    One
    Two

    I’m so sorry-not-sorry. So not looking forward to her new book.

    But on a positive note, AHHHHHH can’t wait for Heartless and TOG #5, despite me slagging #1 in my review XD. Also, did you change your review a bit? I really like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Oh no how can you say that!!?! Just kidding! I don’t care- it’s not like I wrote it :p Haha that’s absolutely fine! Let it all out! :p I’m not gonna pretend they’re great books, (I usually rate them 3-4*) but they do hit the spot every time for me- a bit like watching rom coms- you know you shouldn’t enjoy them but you do.
      Haha those reviews are entertaining- I don’t agree with a lot of them- but they were entertaining nonetheless. Mostly, while I can see that Clare got her inspiration from various places- so her books may seem like they’re cobbled together ideas- it’s from so many places that it feels quite unique. I mean, in the review they mentioned Harry Potter, Star Wars, X Men, Twilight and Buffy- those are quite different things to take ideas from and combining them would create an entirely new beast- which I feel like Clare did. I don’t have such a huge problem with things not being totally original anyway- I guess I got that from studying (too much) Medieval literature. Besides, it’s not like any books are original- J K Rowling herself took inspiration from so many places- Harry Potter is basically the story of Christ meets boarding school- with references to loads of other works (granted, it’s quite a bit more impressive than Clare and she uses more substantial source material, but the point still stands). And let’s not get started on how Shakespeare stole everything he ever wrote (not that I’m comparing her to Shakespeare- chrissake- I’m not insane!). My only issue is that Clare is sticking to this one trick pony and regurgitating more of the same every time. Which is fine- I’m all for authors sticking to what they know- but it would be good if she could expand on the universe a bit.
      Okay, that was perfectly long and rambling, sorry about that :/
      Haha me too!! I think TOG #5 is undoubtedly the one I’m most excited about! Not that I recall- thanks very much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Galaxial Word says:

        I actually didn’t have too much of a problem with Cassie stealing material from other books/movies, and didn’t actually realise she was until it was pointed out on Goodreads. I’m so badly read 😕 But I really hated her writing style, and the various grammatical errors I found throughout this book (noise instead of nose, overused descriptive adjectives, etc) and the way the main character (I actually have forgotten her name, she bored me so much) was a flat, cardboard cutout. Not to mention a crazy ass one who goes round slapping everybody who touches her. I mean:

        Person: “I saved your life.”
        Her: But you could have killed me
        Person: But I didn’t. I SAVED your life. If I left you, I WOULD have killed you.
        Her: But there was a ten percent chance you could have killed me.
        Person: But… But… I didn’t…
        Her: I HATE YOU *slap*

        Like. ARGH. So frustrating and annoying.

        Anyways, yes, very much looking forward to reading the new TOG books! I just got book number two 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

