Ringing in the New Year Book Tag!

Yes- here’s another New Year tag- two in one day! Basically cos I need to get these done now. Thank you to Dreamy Addictions for the tag!

Rules:

  1. Link to the original post (Dreamy Addictions )
  2. Answer the questions below
  3. Tag 3-5 friends!

 

Questions:

Best book/series that you’ve read in 2015 

Easily the Throne of Glass series. I read all the books that are currently out and they just kept getting better and better. They’re amazing.

throne-of-glass-series.png

Authors that you’ve recently found and would like to read more of in the new year

V. E. Schwab. I absolutely loved what I read by her last year and I cannot wait to read more.  Luckily for me, she has two new books coming out in the new year, and loads of YA stuff I haven’t had the chance to look at yet. A Gathering of Shadows has to be one of my top anticipated releases of 2016.

 

Most anticipated book turned movie?

Hmm I know it’s a TV show, but I feel like I’ve been waiting forever for Shadowhunters- I’m really looking forward to seeing how it turns out- regardless of whether I love it or hate it.

shadowhunters

Name a character that you wouldn’t mind sharing a kiss with at midnight (if there is one)

Well, since it’s at midnight, it ought to be Valek from Poison Study– cos I reckon that’s a good time for him to go out “sneaking”.

What’s on your TBR for 2016? (Top 5 will suffice if it’s an extremely long list!) 

Where do I start? Ok, I’m just going to list some of the ones I’ve recently acquired:

 

tbr 2016.png

How many books do you hope to read in 2016?

Ermm, I honestly haven’t been able to gauge that- I don’t expect to read as many books in 2016 as I read in 2015, cos I had an unusually good year for reading and I don’t think I’ll be able to do it again. So I’m not setting any goals, I’m just gonna wait and see.

Will you participate in the Goodreads Reading Challenge (or any others)?

I keep wondering about that…

Any New Year’s Resolutions? (bookish and otherwise)

Nah- I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions- I do mid-year resolutions.

The Nominees: 

Kat Impossible @ Life and Other Disasters

flowlessbooks

Your Daughter’s Bookshelf

Books and Bakes

Claire @ Art and Soul

Okey dokey, that was fun, is it too late to say Happy New Year? Probably- ah well, I’ll say it anyway- Happy New Year, see you again soon 🙂

27 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year Book Tag!

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I’ve read 3 of the books you feature from your 2016 TBR and they’re all excellent 🙂
    Completely agree about ADSOM! I have A Gathering of Shadows on pre-order and it won’t be long now…
    I’d have a hard time choosing between the Throne of Glass series and the Lunar Chronicles as my favourite series of 2015. They’re so different. ToG is more bloody and dramatic, whereas the Lunar Chronicles are more fun and fuzzy.
    Thank you for nominating me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ooh exciting- which ones?
      Ahh I can hardly wait!!
      The Lunar Chronicles were great- but I only read one of those this year, otherwise it might have usurped others in my top ten. They are really different- but they’re both great 🙂 I’d say ToG has the edge, but then I just think of Thorne and Cress and I melt all over again!
      You’re very welcome 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Claire | Art and Soul says:

        The Martian is fantastic. I had to skim-read a couple of the very hard science bits, but that didn’t matter because it was so brilliant.
        Catch 22 is a classic and wonderfully funny, absurd and sad all at once.
        The Raven Boys is very entertaining and I’m looking forward to continuing with the series as soon as my library gets the next installment in. I want to see if I can catch up before the last one is published in the spring.
        Looking forward to hearing what you make of The Queen of the Tearling because I’ve heard good things 🙂
        Love Thorne. Wasn’t too fond of Rowan and previously loved Chaol. So when Maas sidelined Chaol and turned him into a bit of an idiot, she wounded me! 😉 I’m hoping for a bit of a “come back” for him in the final two books.

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Awesome!! Glad to hear all that- they’re all at the very top of my reading list for 2016 🙂
          Ahh I never liked Chaol, so the progression of his character made total sense to me. That said, I don’t mind him if he doesn’t try to be with Celaena again- I just felt like he never really understood her- and that was cemented in the last few books

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicola Alter says:

    So many books on your list are either ones I’ve read or ones I want to read! I loved The Martian and Throne of Glass (funny to put those two in the same sentence because they are such vastly different books). I’m determined to read something by V.E. Schwab this year (I think I’ll start with Vicious…) and I’ve had A Poison Study on my TBR list for a while now. Queen of the Tearling is also one that had me intrigued (I admit to being wooed by the pretty cover 🙂 ), will be curious to see what you think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha yeah I know- but I completely agree- I just finished the Martian the other day and it was fab 🙂 You won’t regret reading V E Schwab. Although Poison Study is incredible, I’m not sure I’d recommend reading the rest of the series, cos it’s not as good- but the first one’s still worth reading- and in fairness, I did keep reading because of the character Valek. I’m also wooed by the cover 🙂 I have it right at the top of my tbr 🙂 thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

