Blogger Recognition Award

blogger-recognition-award-debbie-in-shape.jpg

So I was nominated for this very exciting award ages ago! (which is pretty much the case with most of my tags now- I’ll get to them all eventually- I promise!) Thank you so much to La Book Dreamer for nominating me 🙂 Shall we get on with it? I think we should get on with it…

rules

  1. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  2. Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
  3. Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  4. Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  5. Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

how my blog....png

So I wanted to do a blog on books *forever*- because (duh) it combines the two things I love most: reading and writing. But while I was at uni, I was writing about books all the time, so I didn’t really feel like doing a blog on top of that. I still really wanted to blog, so I tried a different tact. At my friend’s suggestion, I started two other blogs (both of which I closed down after a week). First, I tried one about myself- but I quickly realised how little I liked sharing stories about myself on the internet. So that was a bust. Then I started another more political blog- but I closed that down too because I found it made my blood boil too much (*and* the level of research you have to do for that is a pain! *And* you have to work super quickly to still be relevant- which is fine if you don’t have actual uni deadlines to keep up with. Trying to do that blog made it really obvious to me why being a political journalist is hard work and a full time commitment!)

After those blips, I gave up on the idea of blogging altogether for ages. But then when my brother suggested blogging about books again last year, I felt like *yes!* this is exactly what I want to do. But I was still at uni, so I just jotted down some ideas and didn’t bother with it. The tipping point that finally made me set this up was when I read Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. If you haven’t read the post I did on that, then you won’t really understand my hatred for that book. I. Just. Had. To. Vent.

Then it all kind of spiralled! I just discovered I really loved it! So I kept at it, started posting more regularly (barring when I went on holiday for a month and a half) and started doing tags (which is so much fun!) I got really into reading other people’s posts too and discovering the book blogging community- which is incredible! I love reading all the recommendations and opinions out there! I also found a *really, really, really* old exercise book of mine where I used to review books. Occasionally, I have used it as my starting point for some reviews (but most drafts I’ve found are so patchy I haven’t posted them yet- I’ll probably have to reread the books to actually finish those reviews). I also came up with some more ideas of things I would like to do on here- some of which I’ve started doing. But there are still so many more things I would like to do!

So that’s the very-exciting-and-possibly-long-winded story of my blog. Hope you enjoyed it!

advice to

Ooh I don’t know if I’m qualified to give advice- I’m kind of still new to blogging myself! My advice is to just enjoy it! Because if you don’t, I’ve learnt from experience it’s nigh on impossible to motivate yourself to continue. Also, I know it’s cheesy, but do it for yourself- don’t worry about likes/follows- cos then you’ll enjoy it so much more. And never be afraid to speak your mind! Ok, just proceeded to give a lot of advice after saying I wasn’t going to give any- standard :/

Hope you enjoyed that. I nominate:

Words of the Roses

Codie

JBookish

libroliv

22 Is Still Young Adult

your daughter’s bookshelf

Book Adventures

poetry and chocolate and books

books and messy buns

daniela’s bookshelf

book worm maniac

Drizzle and Hurricane Books

bookbubblebee

Catia

My Midnight Musing

No pressure if you’ve already done it!

23 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Codie says:

    Thanks so much for the nomination! And loved your response to these questions, especially the advice to new bloggers. You’re blog is awesome 😀 (Like the song in LEGO Movie)

    Like

  2. Kristen says:

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your
    blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyways, excellent site!

    Like

  3. Bill says:

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys
    to our blogroll.

    Like

Leave a Reply

