“Life or Art” doesn’t mean anything

*We interrupt this impromptu tag week for a random advice post*

Okay, I’m not one to produce advice posts, so forgive me if I’m doing something a little out of the ordinary here. Maybe it was giving advice in my Blogger Recognition Award. I dunno- I probably won’t be getting into the habit of this anyway. But I have something that needs to be said, so I’m going to cut to the chase.

I think it’s tragic when people let real relationships slide for the sake of art.

Too many people think they have to sacrifice their happiness in order to be successful. They think they have to make sacrifices, give up things and generally neglect areas of their life so that they can be *someone*. But I’m telling you, it doesn’t have to be that way.

Because who says there’s not enough time in the day to do what makes you happy and to strive to make others happy. Who says you can’t do all the things you want and make time for other people too? Ever heard of the philosophy “work hard, play hard”? I always associated that with my sister’s old piano teacher- she was Russian, and boy do Russians know how to get that right.

And what is this success all these people are fighting for anyway? What is it they’re striving for? Some distant dream of getting it right *in the future*, of being able to provide for their family *in the future*, of being able to devote themselves to their loved ones *in the future*. But what’s the point of that? When it’s all said and done, there is only now. And all your family, your friends, your loved ones want is *you* right now- not promises, not money, and not royalty cheques when you’re gone. None of that means anything.

No one’s saying to give up on your dreams. I’ll be the first person to say *Go For It!* I’ve always been very driven and I’m also very passionate about other people striving for what they want in life. But I’ve been there, made this mistake and got the t-shirt. Personally, I was an impressionable 16 year old when I first heard the phrase “life or art” and took it very literally. And of course I made myself unnecessarily unhappy just at the thought of making that choice. Luckily, I never did anything detrimental because of it and I grew out of it when realised that you can have both- in fact you should have both.

Because art needs that injection of happiness to work. In fact, there is an author called Macpherson that I *hate* who wrote a poem called City of Dreadful Night. It is a plodding poem, a gloomy vision and one of the worst things I have ever read. One of the main reasons why it does not work is because there is no light in it- only darkness. So don’t shy away from the light- it will only make your art more beautiful.

I’ll leave you with this hopeful little quote from Lord of the Rings:

lotr quote.png

7 thoughts on ““Life or Art” doesn’t mean anything

  1. moosha23 says:

    Thanks for this – it’s awesome. And you’re right, real relationships are so, so important. People speak of muses sometimes, and I’m like look around. Sometimes whenever I feel a bit uninspired with life and down in the dumps and all it takes a while for this simple truth to hit home. And I guess it’s not even just with art…whenever you try to commit yourself to something you perceive to be bigger than yourself for the most part your loved ones are the ones who suffer as you take time from them.
    Also advice posts in non-advice blogs is soooo underrated! I love them so much, and I wish I was wise enough to do so!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yeah exactly- I just feel a little sad that quite a few people decide that their work or ambition is more important than their loved ones.
      Thanks very much! I don’t feel very wise, I just had a thought and shared it- you can definitely do the same 🙂
      So glad you appreciated my post!! That means a lot to me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

