Siblinghood (Sisterhood) of the World Blog Award!

Yay another tag time! (Yes, I know, it’s always tag in an impromptu tag week) Thanks to A FrolicThrough Fiction, Book Adventures and most recently Quirky Book Nerd for this one! This is gonna be a pretty long post- so I better get on with it pronto!

sisterhood of the world award

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their blog
  • Put the award logo on your blog
  • Answer the 10 questions sent to you
  • Make up 10 new questions for your nominees to answer
  • Nominate 10 blogs

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Frolic Through Fictions’ Questions…

  1. Is there a fictional character you wouldn’t want to meet? Who?

bellatrix-lestrange-4Quite a few- I don’t reckon I’d enjoy meeting Voldemort for one thing. But, sticking with the Harry Potter theme, I think I’d like to meet Bellatrix Lestrange even less! (I’d actually like to meet Doloros Umbridge, if only to punch her)

  1. Do you own any bookish merchandise? (Badges, jewelry, posters etc)

game of thrones posterSort of- I have a collection of bookish/fairytale jewellery- but none of it is what you’d call “official” merchandise. Oh and I have a Game of Thrones poster that I don’t use. Does that count?

invisible

Invisible

  1. Is there a book/ series you think is overrated?

Atonement_(novel)Loads! I have a whole post about it. I’m gonna say something that’s not on the list (to make it interesting). How about Atonement by Ian McEwan- I enjoyed the film, but hated the book. This is gonna be an unpopular opinion, but I think McEwan is overrated in general. I think he’s very accomplished at structuring books, but his characters always leave a lot to be desired.

Invisible

  1. If you could travel back in time to any time period, which would you go to?

gatsbyWithout a shadow of a doubt, I’d head to the 1920s to meet Fitzgerald and go to a Gatsby-style party.

  1. Are there any fictional character names you really love?

Loads- I could have chosen so many for this, but I think some of the best names in literature are probably in Dickens. I mean, he has characters like Mr Bumble, Gradgrind and Tulkinghorn, to name a few!

  1. Are you setting yourself a Goodreads reading challenge for next year? If so, how many books do you hope to read?

Well- it’s already the next year and I haven’t done that- so I guess not.

  1. Favourite bookshop?

Any! I love Waterstones, but I also like more random ones you just stumble across.

  1. If you could have any character’s clothing style, which character would you choose?throneofglass series

Ermm I don’t know- Celaena Sardothien I guess, because she has her assassin outfits, but she also knows how to dress up- which I love.

  1. When you review books, do you write notes while you read it or just think back when writing the review?

I usually jot down a few notes. But not always.

  1. How did you get into reading?

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_CoverWell, I can always remember reading, but like so many people I started really reading when my friend recommended Harry Potter to me way back when I was 7. I started reading the first three in quick succession- I was hooked from then on!

Invisible

Invisible

Book Adventures’ Questions…

  1. Favourite book of 2015?

There are so many- it’s so hard to choose! I hardly managed to narrow it down to 10 in my Top 10 of 2015, how can I manage to narrow it down to just one? It’s between Memoirs of a Geisha, Man’s Search For Meaning and Carry On- three very different, but very brilliant books.

  1. Best movie you’ve seen in 2015?

I really don’t know- I’ve not seen that many new movies in 2015 and can’t think of anything- which is a shame, cos I love movies :/v

  1. Are you going to participate in any reading challenges in 2016?

I really don’t know- gosh these questions are going well- aren’t they!Invisible

  1. How many books are currently on your TBR?

I’m just gonna use Goodreads for this- cos if I combine it with my amazon one, it’ll just be embarassing. Let me just look… 184…. Yeah, that’s still embarrassing.

  1. How many books do you want to read next year?

Well, I’ve not set myself any goals, but as I said in my Bookish Resolutions post, I’d rather read fewer books this year than last year, but read more good quality books. I think I’d be happy with a modest 60- but don’t quote me on that!

  1. If you could have one fictional animal as your pet, what would it be?

Dragon. I don’t care if it’s practical- I just love dragons (and I’m thinking more mother of dragons, than Hagrid getting his beard singed)

mother of dragons

  1. What was the last book you read? Would you recommend it? Why, why not?

the martianAt the time of writing this, it’s The Martian. I would definitely recommend it! I’m gonna do a review for this shortly, but to summarise, because it’s awesome!

Invisible

Invisible

  1. If you could date a fictional character, who would you date and why?

Poison-Study-new-UKI’m gonna go with Valek from Poison Study

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

  1. If you could pick any three books to have right now, what would they be?

I’m assuming this isn’t books I don’t already have. And they would be these ones, because I’ve been meaning to get them forever, but they’re harder to get hold of for some reason

  1. What bookish gift would you like to receive this Christmas? (that’s not a book)

Boy did I miss the boat with this one… I don’t actually do Christmas, but the bookish gifts I like that are non-books are necklaces from Etsy.

Quirky Book Nerds’ Questions…

  1. What are some new releases you are most looking forward to in 2016?

heartlessThere are quite a few- I’m gonna go with Heartless cos I’ve already mentioned others enough times- plus the cover was recently released- isn’t it pretty?

Invisible

Invisible

  1. What is your favourite under-hyped book?

hitler's canariesI did a whole post about this, so it’s really hard to pick just one. I’m gonna go with Hitler’s Canaries because it’s an absolutely incredible book about hope in WW2- and somehow it’s only got 692 ratings on goodreads.

Invisible

Invisible

  1. What is one thing (activity, song, movie, etc…) that always makes you happy no matter what?

Well there are quite a few answers to this- I’m gonna go with dancing (not in a coordinated fashion of course), LOTR always makes me happy and I’m gonna choose

 

  1. Do you prefer series or standalone novels?

Ahh impossible question- I’m gonna go with standalones just cos I don’t have to wait between books for a resolution

  1. Do you play video games? If so, what are your favorite games to play?

Nope- I think the most I’ve ever done is play Sims or Rollercoaster Tycoon. Oh and this indie one called Kudos. But all that was years ago

  1. What is your favourite song of all time?

What an impossible question! I don’t have an answer- this has been in my head since last week though:

  1. If you could have any fictional animal as a pet, what would you choose?

I’ve said dragon before to this- but it’s still a dragon. They’re my favourite mythical creature and that’s never gonna change.

  1. What 2016 movies are you most looking forward to seeing?

BFG!

  1. What book or series would you recommend to someone who says they don’t like to read, and why would you choose that book or series?

I don’t know what I’d recommend to someone that didn’t like to read. Maybe something like Picture of Dorian Gray cos it’s short *and* brilliant.

  1. What is your absolute favourite quote?

I’m not much for quotes, but I like this one:

“’Beauty is truth, truth beauty,’ – that is all ye know on earth, and all ye need to know.”

My Nominations:

bookarino

LyfWithEm

yourdaughtersbookshelf

Embuhlee

pickle books

dreamy addictions

books and bakes

art and soul

mugglebooks

bitches with books

My Questions:

  1. Jump around like a jackrabbit cos I just nominated you- how does that feel? Was anyone watching?
  2. School, uni or work?
  3. What’s your favourite TV show at the moment?
  4. Do you like to travel? If so, what’s your favourite place you’ve been to?
  5. What book reminds you most of sisterhood?
  6. Share a blogger (who you’re not nominating) but want to give a shout out to!
  7. What’s your favourite post you’ve ever written- share the link if you can!
  8. Did you have a favourite toy growing up? What was it called?
  9. What villain (from any book, movie or show) would you actually quite like to hang out with?
  10. What’s your favourite fairytale?

Okay, that’s it for now, see you tomorrow!

32 thoughts on “Siblinghood (Sisterhood) of the World Blog Award!

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    Congratulations of your award!
    I tried three times to like Ian McEwan. I kept thinking it must be me. But having given him three chances to win me over, I have abandoned his books forever.
    Dragons are amazing 🙂
    Thank you for nominating me! I’ve already done this award, but I’m saving this nomination because I like your questions and could probably do with the exercise of jumping around 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yeah, I’ve read so many of his books because people told me they were good. I just can’t anymore.
      Yes they are!
      You’re very welcome, take your time and do it whenever you like (that’s what I do) 🙂 haha just make sure you do it with an audience 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Codie says:

    Congratulations! I can’t believe you didn’t like Atonement…I JUST bought that book. Now, I’m thinking I should’ve gotten a library copy, but dragons are awesome 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      • Codie says:

        But characters are what draw me to books…a book with bad characters are just words 😦 Hopefully I enjoy it, though. Haha that picture of Daenerys is great too.

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          yeah, that’s true- hey I’m not likely to keep defending a book I don’t like- I just think most of his characters are flat and when you examine them they don’t make much sense (not to mention they’re horrible) yeah hopefully- a lot of people do- and that one is the best one. I read that one after I watched the film and liked it a lot more cos I really liked the film. haha thank!

          Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Haha I know- I can often say that when people ask me- and it’s not like the 30s were great- if I lived through the 20s, I’d probably have to go through that too. And this is how I always manage to talk myself out of time travel… :p It is a brilliant book and I can’t recommend it highly enough!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. TheQuirkyBookNerd says:

    Ahh I can’t wait for Heartless to come out! 😀 I’m going to have to check out Hitler’s Canaries sometime. Haha dancing is the best, especially when it’s uncoordinated! Love that song. The Proclaimers are fantastic ❤ I agree, I tend to prefer standalones. It's really nice to be able to read a complete story all the way through in one go…also I'm too impatient to wait for sequels…Haha 😀 I used to play Rollercoaster Tycoon all the time when I was younger, and I still constantly play the Sims! Dragons would be the best pets. I think we all need a dragon 🙂 Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

