Raven Boys, Hyperactive Bunnies and Psychics That Are A Little Too Predictable

Okay, so I’ve been busy, I’ve not been well and this is the longest I’ve been without blogging in ages! So, how are you all? What have you all been upto?? Tell me everything!! (Okay, now I’m starting to sound like a hyperactive bunny)

raven boysAlrighhht… Now I’ve got that out of my system, on with the review!

First off, I really enjoyed this book. It’s a bit of a slow burner, which is not necessarily something I usually like, but in this case it worked. Mostly, this is because it’s unusually well-written for a YA (or any book for that matter). It’s got a lovely, delicate, eerie flavour to the writing that makes it really compelling. The characters in particular really shone and had a brilliant edge to them. I especially liked the well-rounded nature of the villains- and how other characters have been set up to take on the mantle of villainy later on the series.

The one downside to this book is that the psychics are a little too good at what they do, which makes the plot a little too predictable at times. And since the characters are well drawn, I really don’t see any room for twists and turns in that area either. Then there’s the foreshadowing for the books later in the series- which makes me wonder whether it’s going to continue this way for the rest of the series and if that will eventually bore me. Of course, this is super finickity of me, given that I’m basically criticising Stiefvater for being too good at what she does.

Undoubtedly this is a well-written, entertaining book and that’s a clear sign that this series is going to be great- and I don’t need a crystal ball to tell you that I’ll definitely be back for more! The only issue is, it just didn’t have the oomph factor for anything more than…

Rating: 4 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

Okay, so that’s that. Anyone else read this book? What did you think about it? Let me know in the comments below!

29 thoughts on “Raven Boys, Hyperactive Bunnies and Psychics That Are A Little Too Predictable

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yeah, I didn’t mind it too much, it was mostly just being really picky. The silly thing about that complaint is I would have been really ticked off if they’d been rubbish psychics. Or one of those people that can predict the future, but somehow don’t see certain things coming- it seems like the author’s really thought this out well, which I’m pleased about 🙂 I only docked half a banana for the predictability anyway (the other half was just cos I needed a bit more feels to give it more)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Annette says:

    I thought Shiver was too slow, but it also had a wonderful eerie flavour to it. I’ve heard better things about this series though, so I was hoping to give it a shot. Your review gives me some pause, but I may just battle on anyways in the hopes that I will be pleasantly surprised!

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yeah, I read Shiver, but this is miles better. I really think she’s matured as a writer. Honestly, I’m being pretty harsh, cos I did really enjoy it and would recommend it. I feel like it’s probably gonna be one of those series that I fall in love with around the 2nd or 3rd book (a bit like Throne of Glass). Which is a good thing, cos I’d rather take longer getting into it and love it much more later on, than fall in love with it and be disappointed

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kat says:

      I accidentally hit reply before typing it out—apologies. What I was MEANT to say was: I’m glad someone else has agreed this book was a slow-burner, but unfortunately I didn’t stick it out and abandoned the book after a few chapters. Yet I’ve seen so much hype around the series, including yours and others peoples reviews, that I’m tempted to give it another try!

      Liked by 1 person

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Haha we’ve all been there before! Oh that’s a shame, cos it was enjoyable anyway. But I do see why you gave up- cos I wouldn’t have continued if it hadn’t been well written. Also, I’m holding out hope that it’s one of those series that gets better as it goes along (a bit like throne of glass)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie says:

    I liked the first book, but hated Blue’s mother. She annoyed me to death. IMO it got better and better as it went. I’m looking forward to reading the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Prima says:

    I totally agree with everything in your review. The book is amazing but not something that just blew my mind amazing. I’m excited to read the rest of the series though. Really great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

