Soundtrack To My Life Book Tag

Well hello again! Thought I’d continue with the music theme by doing the Soundtrack to my Life Tag (I wish I knew who came up with that title- cos it’s awesome). I was tagged by lovely The Book and the Bone for this,  so thanks very much for that.

OPENING CREDITS: Favourite childhood book

doggerI absolutely loved Dogger! It’s a story about losing your favourite childhood toy and it broke my heart. I was obsessed with it.]

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

WAKING UP: A book that got you out of a reading slump

Throne_of_Glass_UKHonestly, I think one of the first books I read after uni, when I was in a terrible reading slump, was Throne of Glass- that series was like a kickstart to my reading again cos I pretty much devoured the first three books in three days (and would’ve devoured the fourth if it had been out!)

Invisible

Invisible

SCHOOL: A book you had to read for school that you ended up loving

to kill a mockingbirdThere were so many! My go to answer for this is To Kill A Mockingbird, cos it was one of the first books I remember really loving from school. But there were loads of others that followed.

Invisible

Invisible

FALLING IN LOVE: An author you love so much you want to read all of their books

viciousI think that’s got to be V E Schwab at the moment. But there are so many others (admittedly, I used to be quite good at reading loads by an author I loved, so I did just that)

Invisible

Invisible

FIGHT: Book with the best action sequences

hunger gamesI’m not sure, maybe Hunger Games off the top of my head.

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

BREAK UP: A book or series you didn’t finish and do not intend to finish

wickedWell I’ve been currently “reading” Wicked for months- I just don’t like it and I don’t think I’ll finish it

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

HANGING WITH FRIENDS: Book you think everyone else should read

carry onAt the moment I can’t stop telling people to read Carry On. Here’s my 10 reasons why you should read it.

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

BREAKDOWN:Book that seriously affected you/had you crying your eyes out

second chance summerProbably the one that had me balling my eyes out most recently was Second Chance Summer– it’s totally cliché and everything, but it pressed all the right buttons for me.

Invisible

Invisible

ROADTRIP: You favourite series (more than 3 books)

Heir-of-Fire-UKWell, this is a weird one for me to answer, cos probably at the moment it’s the Throne of Glass series- but that’s just cos I’m *incredibly* fickle when it comes to favourite series. Favourite books tend to stay the same- but series not so much. If you’d asked me a few years ago, it would have been Game of Thrones and before that it would’ve been something else, going all the way back to my original favourite Harry Potter. (also my answer would’ve been totally different if trilogies were allowed)

FLASHBACK: Your favorite book from 5 years ago

judePff that’s surprisingly easy- when I was 18 my favourite book was Jude the Obscure– cos I still counted as a brooding teenager back then :p And now I’ve grown into a brooding adult :p

Invisible

Invisible

GETTING BACK TOGETHER: What book can you not stop rereading

Hobbit_coverThere are loads- most notably the Hobbit– because I quite literally used to reread that every spring on the anniversary of when I first read it

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

WEDDING: A book that is really special to you

daniel derondaYou mean, apart from The Hobbit (I mean, I have an anniversary for that book!) Well not wanting to be repetitive, I’m gonna go with Daniel Deronda- cos that book spoke to me.

Invisible

Invisible

MOMENT OF TRIUMPH: Longest book you’ve ever read

count of monte cristoGood question- I think it was Count of Monte Cristo but it could’ve been Middlemarch- I don’t have them in front of me to check I’m afraid.

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

DEATH SCENE: Book or series you wish had ended differently

shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024To be honest, I wish Shadow and Bone hadn’t been so predictable- I’d have liked it if the Darkling hadn’t turned out to be so obviously evil and if Mal could’ve fallen into the Fold at the start of the book…

Invisible

Invisible

FUNERAL: Book with the best or worst epilogue

  • Best epilogue

shades childrenEasily Shade’s Children because, without any spoilers, it’s really clever how it works as a flash forward to give you a perfect, golden glimpse of the future. If you have read it, you’ll know what I mean, and if you haven’t read it, it’s a wonderful standalone that I can’t recommend enough!

Invisible

Invisible

  • Worst epilogue

CLOCKWORKPRINCESSCOVERSPECIAL2-265x400Okay, deep breath, cos this is gonna upset some people: I did not like the epilogue in Infernal Devices cos (*spoiler warning*) I did not want her to end up with Jem *at all*. In fact, I was revelling in her ending up with Will- and then Clare did that to me. I. Was. Not. Pleased.

Invisible

Invisible

END CREDITS: Who do you tag?

Flowless

Kiwi reads

Embuhlee

Abbie Lu

Books and messy buns

The Book Knight

Nut free nerd

Cinderzena Blogs

A reading writer

Chocolate waffles blog

32 thoughts on “Soundtrack To My Life Book Tag

  1. Read Diverse Books says:

    Wow, so many books!! I’ve only read four of the ones you listed.
    I liked the Throne of Glass, but didn’t feel immediately compelled to read the second. I know your opinion on this may be a little biased, judging by your excitement from the series, but do the books get better, worse, or stay the same in quality as the story progresses?

    I have bought the sequel, but it’s been sitting in my shelf for months!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna says:

    There’s nothing wrong with brooding adults 😀
    Thank you so much for tagging me! 🙂 my internet connection has been severed when my new neighbor gave the wrong apartment number to the company but I’ll do it as soon as I get it back!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

