Wise Man’s Fear is a Geek’s Wet Dream

The_Wise_Man's_Fear_UK_coverOkey dokey, so I’ve not read a book worthy of reviewing in a while, so I thought I’d talk (*ahem, rant*) about a book I read way back in the summer that gave me *plenty* of things to say. And as you might be able to tell from the title- not much of it will be good.

Let me start out by saying that I *loved* The Name of the Wind. It was one of my favourite books of 2014 and I rated it 5*. So after picking up the sequel, I couldn’t have been more disappointed by how this one turned out.

Seriously, this book read like a geeky teenage boy’s wet dream. After the adventures of the first book, Kvothe has matured into the perfect adolescent. He’s just perfect: he’s intelligent, talented, desirable, powerful and, by the end of the book, a brilliant swordsman too. Seriously- it begs the question: is there anything he can’t do? Honestly, given that I liked him so much in the first book for his imperfections, I felt like the author was missing a trick by ironing out all his faults and leaving him as this bland, generic hero.

On top of that, whereas I found the first one long and lyrical, this one just dragged. There’s this weird part in the middle where he literally goes off  with this random sex-goddess (I’m not going to pretend like she’s in any way magical- she’s really just there for Kvothe to screw- which would be fine, if it wasn’t so boring and didn’t feel like the whole section was just designed to prove his sexual prowess). The “oh I’m so good at everything” shtick gets old really fast. And if that wasn’t enough there’s the cliché fantasy sword-fight-training montage- which totally drags- regardless of what excuse Rothfuss gives for it being slow.  And when the plot finally picks up, the action is over *really* quickly and that’s that. Which felt *phenomenally* anti-climactic.

Another problem in terms of plotting is that this whole book felt completely unnecessary. Firstly, after the first book, I felt like the story with the Chandrian was building nicely- so while I wouldn’t have expected answers in book 2, I did expect *something*. But aside from the odd throwaway mention, Rothfuss gave away nothing, which was very frustrating. Also, the whole book felt like it covered too much old ground aka Kvothe is poor, Kvothe does things to make some money, Kvothe is able to pay for University. Given that this was a lot of the plot in the first one, it felt like it didn’t need to be the story here too. It really felt like this book suffered from “middle book” syndrome (the phenomenon where the second book in a trilogy is just filler). After the first one, I’m still invested in the series to carry on and see what happens- but god help me if Rothfuss disappoints me again- I don’t think I can take another book like this. With any luck, this was just be a minor hiccup in the trilogy, and the third one will return to form.

Rating: 2 bananas

half bananahalf banana

So has anyone else read the Wise Man’s Fear? Agree or disagree with anything I’ve said? Let me know in the comments below!

Also, just as an aside, I was just refreshing my memory on goodreads and this review came up and I *had to* share it: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/298657913?book_show_action=true&from_review_page=1

 

17 thoughts on “Wise Man’s Fear is a Geek’s Wet Dream

  1. Collheesi says:

    Great review! I loved “The name of the wind” and have been working up to starting this one. Lab has me quite busy at the moment so a nearly 1000 page commitment just isn’t possible for at least another month. I look forward to it though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Windie @ Geek Apprentice says:

    Ahahaha. This is a terrific review. And thank you for sharing the one on goodreads.
    I haven’t read the wise man’s fear. I read the name of the wind last year and although it’s greatly written I cannot quite connect with Kvothe and tbh 1000+ pages is too much an investment for a book if one cannot connect with the MC. I might still end up reading it though.
    Also you mentioning the sex with random goddess reminds me of this: http://www.tor.com/2013/02/15/brandon-sanderson-and-patrick-rothfuss-duel-through-book-signatures/

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thanks so much!! yeah that’s definitely fair- I wouldn’t have continued if I hadn’t liked him in the first book- but the issue with this one was all the issues with the first one were just exacerbated :/ So even though I hadn’t found certain parts of Kvothe’s character irritating in the first one, it really irked me here.
      hahahaa that is literally the most amazing thing ever- thanks so much for sharing that!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Annette says:

    It could be a hiccup, but it sounds like the MC is good and polished now. 😦 A sex goddess?! Really?! Definitely sounds like a groundworks books and an exercise in ‘I love my MC, lets be nice to him’. BORING.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. CorrosiveMind says:

    Ironically I loved Wise Man’s Fear. I loved the lazy pace for the first half of the book; the beauty of the writing style, the poetry, the love. What’s not to like? Rothfuss has this thing about him, he doesn’t always write to further a plot and all that. He simply writes and sees where it takes him and I love him for it. I have read filler books and they piss off. Wise Man’s Fear was unique. And yeah, Kvothe is gifted. He also has a temper and he can be downright stupid making certain decisions. Current Kvothe is mess and I want to know why. Makes for interesting reading. These two books are one of the few books I read every year to keep my memory fresh. I will tag you in to the reviews of filler books. I got a number of those.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ironically- those were all the reasons that I loved Name of the Wind- I enjoyed the slow pace in that one and relished every second of it. In fact, I really enjoyed how he took his sweet time developing the plot- I really enjoyed the slow reveal. Unfortunately, even though it was really similar, I didn’t feel the same way about Wise Man’s Fear. That was partly due to the fact that the plot was nothing new- it was literally the same as a huge part of the first one. And I didn’t like how self-indulgent Rothfuss became by making Kvothe good at everything. I just found that boring after a while. I think that also he toned down his temper and stupid decision making- so it lost the edginess of the first book. I wouldn’t have minded him being so good at everything if Rothfuss had been balanced in his portrayal, but it didn’t feel like that. Also, the two main sequences where Rothfuss was showing us how incredible Kvothe was (with the sex-fairy and learning to sword fight) went on wayyy too long :/ I do still want to know why current Kvothe is a mess- based on how much I loved him in the first one. But I don’t want to read more about how incredible he is at everything. Absolutely! I’d love to read them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • CorrosiveMind says:

        Hahaha. I guess you do have a point. I believe Book 3 won’t dilly dally. It’s been long in coming. I believe he was elevated so that he could have a chance battling those Chandrian or something. Perhaps he lost himself?
        Have you read The Slow Regard of Silent Things? I especially love that little whatever-you-call-it

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          yeah- that’s what I think! We’ll finally get some answers too hopefully 🙂 Yeah- I’m so interested to see what happens! I haven’t, but I do intend to at some point- hopefully soon- I’m glad you think it’s good- thanks for the recommendation 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Captain's Quarters says:

    Me first mate and I were just talking about this book yesterday and then I read this! I completely agree with you on this one. I adored the first novel and positively disliked the second. The sex goddess section felt interminable. Me first mate laughs every time I grumble about this because he said it was really only a handful of pages. All there was a lot of wandering in the woods for no reason. It was so bad I don’t want to read the next one but likely will anyway. Thanks for this review.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you so much! Gosh I thought I was one of the only people that felt this way (lols about you chatting about this with your “first mate”) Gosh- it was terrible, wasn’t it? What was that about?? Had Rothfuss just always had odd elfish fantasies he wanted to play out? And personally I felt like that bit went on for ages! Exactly- the whole book literally felt like it went round in circles :/ I will probably read the next one, just cos I’m hoping it will be like the first one again- but I totally hear you! Thanks so much for your comment!! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

