Book Sacrifice Tag

I must love courting controversy or something- cos I am pretty excited to do this tag- even though it’ll probably get me into trouble…. Ah well, c’est la vie! Anyway, I’ve always loved this tag, so thank you so much to A Novel Glimpse for tagging me to do it! Alrighty then- let’s get to it!

  1. An Over-Hyped Book:

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

Okay, okay- this is going to come as a shock to some people, but I didn’t like the Fault In Our Stars. Just be appeased by my casual reference to the book and *look away now*- cos damn that is a dumb reference. What? You’re not supposed to be reading this! Fine, if you’re still reading this, and haven’t turned away in disgust, then here are my reasons for not liking Fault In Our Stars:

  1. It’s obvious- I guessed what was gonna happen when they introduced Augustus as “in remission”- I mean, I’ve read other books about cancer before- heck I’ve read other books before period- it may as well have been a big neon sign HE’S GONNA DIE!
  2. Even if it wasn’t obvious, I didn’t connect with the characters enough to care. Because they all spoke in the most stilted unnatural way and were so far from actually being humans, I couldn’t relate- at all.
  3. In fact, the whole thing slaps you round the face with pretentious “metaphors”- and if that wasn’t bad the characters themselves described their own actions as metaphors- ughh get the sick bucket quick!
  4. The kiss in the Anne Frank house was distasteful. I don’t know what kind of weird wish fulfilment was going on here- but why on earth did Green think it should be applauded? Having cancer does not give you the excuse to be disrespectful about holocaust victims. I don’t have the faintest idea why Green drew parallels here- but it was so inappropriate.

I could go on, but I think I may have pissed off TFIOS fans enough for one day….

  1. A Sequel:

Situation: torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Breaking_Dawn_cover

I know I’ve used this before too, but I have to pick any Twilight sequel. Surprising as this might be I didn’t totally hate the first one- and if it had ended at that my ire for the series wouldn’t have grown into fully fledged disgust. Cos that series got progressively more dumb. I mean this is how the rest of the series goes:

Sequel 1: “Oh no Edward broke up with me!! Let’s do reckless things and talk to myself so he’ll come back to me- no I’m not crazy. I’m just so in loooovvee- whine whine whine. Ooh evil vampire council has basically decreed we must be together for eternity- that’s convenient.”

Sequel 2: “Ahh the dastardly vampire council might attack us! And the murder rate is up in Seattle. But never mind all that- I don’t want to get married to the man I love- I just want him to turn me into a vampire- wah! And also I kind of sort of like Jacob enough to string him along- and that’s fine cos he won’t take no for an answer anyway.”

Sequel 3: “Yay I’m married. Oh and now I’m preggars- whoops. Oh, the babies just ripped itself out of me- how lovely. And now I’m a vampire. Oh my former beau Jacob is in love with my baby- wait what??!!!?!? Never mind that- the evil vampire council are coming… oh wait, forget it, they left again. Let’s not worry about the creepy pedophilia shall we…”

Ok on second thoughts, my final choice is Breaking Dawn cos- eww.

(and yes I totally got carried away with that)

  1. A Classic:

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

as-i-lay-dying

I would love to throw As I Lay Dying at my English Professor. In fact I would also like to see it drown and set fire to it! Words cannot express how much I hate this book- which is probably appropriate since it’s partly about how words can’t express things. Why did Faulkner write a book if he hated words so much? Why didn’t he just paint a picture? Or bake a cake? Anything other than write this stupid pretentious drivel.

  1. A Least Favorite Book:

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

50ShadesofGreyCoverArt

Fifty Shades of Grey- is any explanation really needed?

Right, so I probably made that more controversial than it needed to be… whoops. 

At this stage, I’m not sure who’s done this already, so feel free to ignore, but I tag:

A Bibliophile’s Obsession

Codie

Rose Read

yourdaughter’sbookshelf

hashtaglovebooks

Marie

Kat

Embuhlee

booksandbakes

Art and Soul

Musings of a girl

The Book Finch

Eve Messenger

The Book and the Bone

The Paper Dragon

Quirky Book Nerd

And anyone that hasn’t done this and wants to!

82 thoughts on “Book Sacrifice Tag

  1. Maddie A. says:

    TFIOS really IS an over-hyped book and I wouldn’t mind if you started chucking it at zombies 😀
    All my friends really liked it and since I didn’t, I thought maybe I read it wrong or something. Glad to know that someone else feels the same way 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yes!! I know right! Gosh I’m glad I’m not the only one!
      I only know two people in real life who read it- and only one of them liked it- and even they didn’t think it was brilliant. But on the internet… it’s a whole different kettle of fish! Like you said, glad I’m not the only one! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nickvreys says:

    Thanks for tagging me!

    I L.O.V.E. your answers. If you’re throwing TFIOS, can I throw every other John Green book along with it? Cause they are so… bland. They are like sad Nicholas Sparks novels or something like that. Also, every reason to sacrifice Breaking Dawn is a good one. Heck, if there wasn’t a reason, I’d do something to that book and I’m still waiting for a wiccan rite or something like that to help me forget ever reading that thing-that-dares-to-call-itself-a-book..

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      You’re welcome 😀
      Thanks so much- oh yes- the entire John Green shelf can go towards the cause!! Yes- exactly! Everyone dies and everyone’s pretentious- so not my thing.
      hahaha oh my goodness- that’s amazing- personally, I’d love if there was a wiccan rite to erase breaking dawn from memory! I’d just love to go back to a world before werewolves lusting after babies and sparkly vampire politics- is that too much to ask???

      Like

  3. peculiarb says:

    I’ve done this tag before actually but thanks so much for tagging me! While I loved TFiOS back when I read it, in retrospect Hazel and Gus are definitely unrealistic in how they talk (I’m think if I reread it now I’d be groaning my way through it) and Gus being in remission was definitely a red flag even though I thought Hazel was the dead one.
    Here’s my tag, if you want to check it out 🙂
    https://thebookandthebone.wordpress.com/2016/02/05/the-book-sacrifice-tag/

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      No worries, it’s an old tag, so I didn’t know who had and who hadn’t done it- I’ll definitely check out your post 🙂
      Yeah- that was one of my main problems- the way they spoke really irritated me. I can only think of one person on the planet that speaks like that- and it’s John Green in his videos. I’ve read another one of his books now and had the same problem- all his characters are just John Green mini-mes. Yeah it was. I think I would’ve enjoyed it more if it hadn’t been overhyped and if I’d been much, much younger (about 12). Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Nicole.Ilene says:

    Oh my gosh, I absolutely loved this! I’ve never read TFIOS and I don’t think I ever really wanted to. I feel the same way about all the Twilight sequels – I agree that I think it would have been totally fine if she just ended it after the first one. I almost read As I Lay Dying in high school, but never got around to it (and maybe now I won’t? haha) and YES to your choice of a book burning!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! Ah don’t bother :/ (although many other people will tell you otherwise :p ) Yeah exactly- I felt like it would have been a great ending if she’d just turned into a vampire- I remember reading it for the first time and just being like “whaaattt?!” That one I will tell you unequivocally to avoid!!!! It’s terrible!! The worst book I’ve ever read! haha glad you agree about the book that shall not be named.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Codie says:

    I LOVE this!! Just imagine me jumping up and down and screaming (literally screaming) with joy over this post. Your breakdown of Twilight is spot on – especially the tidbit about Jacob’s pedophilia – the saga was terrible and just became super chaotic after book one (probably including book one). Paper Towns was a disaster, so I’m not overly optimistic about TFIOS and your words are ringing in my ear – come on Green we all knew Hazel wasn’t gonna die but it’s a cancer book, someone has to die. I’ve read some of 50 Shades and talk about trash! Your simple explanation, of no explanation fits this book perfectly. This was the best thing I’ve seen all day – thanks so much for tagging me!

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha!! I’m imagining that and it’s amazing!!! haah so glad you liked it! Yes it really did- it’s funny to say this about a book about vampires, but it lost all logic after book 1 (not that the sparkliness was logical, but that it was a lot less silly and overcomplicated). haha yeah book 1 wasn’t great by any stretch of the imagination, but I (and I’m semi-ashamed to admit this) enjoyed it enough as a trashy romance. But as it went on I just thought “no, just no”. Yeah I’m done with John Green after just two books (supposedly his best two). Exactly- it was completely obvious. On top of that Green relied on the shock value to deliver the emotional punch- and considering it didn’t shock me, I just felt *nothing*. Yeah- that is the *worst* book I’ve ever read from a quality point of view (as in there was none). Yeah- it needs no explanation- it’s just godawful. Aww thank you so much!!! I’m so glad you liked it!! You’re welcome 😀 Can’t wait to see your post 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Codie says:

        Haha, it is amazing that a teenage vampire romance novel lost logic but it’s hazardously true. There’s nothing wrong with trashy romance novels – I read them on occasion – but it should make some sense!

        Haha, John Green isn’t good but I’m gonna try TFIOS first. Wasn’t it! I was like oh he’s gonna die. There was no shock and I was just left disappointed. Well Fifty Shades is supposed to be fanfiction, I think, of Twilight – so it’s only fitting that it’s terrible. You’re welcome! I cannot wait to do it 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Exactly!! Even ones with vampires and werewolves! And I shouldn’t want to kill the main characters with a sledgehammer :/ In fact, I shouldn’t want the love interests to kill each other and then themselves.
          That’s definitely a fair point. Exactly!! Yeah it is- I mean fanfic is usually a bad version of the original- so a fanfic of a terrible book is just destined for disaster! 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          • Codie says:

            Haha, that wonderful logic. Terrible Book(Fanfic) = disaster haha. Of course this function could not be used in an actual math problem, but it’s a fun explanation 😀 I think Twilight (the series) should have ended that way or Bella should have woken up to figure out it was all a dream, at least that would turn the illogical plot and conclusion that is twilight into….something less stupid.

            Liked by 1 person

            • theorangutanlibrarian says:

              haha sounds exactly right to me!!! That’s the kind of equation they should actually put in maths exams- cos it’s such an important life lesson and shows logic if you figure it out :p hahahaha I *hate* books where it all turns out to have been a dream- so what does it say about Twilight that it would’ve been better if it had all been a dream :p Seriously- I totally agree- she should’ve woken up and said “I had the most ridiculous dream about sparkly vampires and stalky paedo werewolves- thank goodness I’m awake now!!” The end.

              Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh yes- my English professor for American literature was the same :/ personally, I thought he was nuts- and I’m pretty certain that was the case, since he said that sometimes he liked to sit in his room saying his name over and over “until it lost all lexical and linguistic meaning”- or maybe he was just a ponce :/

      Like

  6. mudandstars says:

    Hahah this post made me laugh, especially your Twilight commentary! I liked TFIOS, but there were things that annoyed me about it so I can definitely see where you’re coming from, especially the pretentious cigarette metaphor thing… VOM.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thanks so much!! I got really carried away with that and had so much fun doing it! Yeah my sister was the same about TFIOS- she liked it, but she had similar feelings about some of the things I said (like the way they talked and the Anne Frank bit). Oh yeah I really did not like that bit!

      Liked by 1 person

      • mudandstars says:

        Yeah the Anne Frank part was pretty disrespectful and unnecessary. As they both have cancer, they could just have easily had the same kind of romantic, we’ve-got-to-cling-onto-life-in-the-face-of-death moment somewhere else, and we’d have understood the symbolism just fine.

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Yeah exactly :/ It really wound me up cos it felt like he was trying too hard to make it all deep and meaningful. And I was just like “jeez cancer is bad enough- why are you drawing links to the Holocaust?? These things are not comparable!!”

          Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yes it really was- I don’t know why Green thought that was appropriate- it was a really cheap thing of him to write in- I feel like he was trying to say something profound there, but it was kind of lost in how distasteful it was. And I don’t know why he had that weird wish fulfilment where everyone applauded. Exactly!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. genesisthe1st says:

    Your answers are the best… I forgot how horrible those books were until I’ve read your commentaries.

    I have to agree that this tag would somehow draw the attention of the fans of those books and may stir a lil debate; have you tweeted/hashtagged about this post? 😻😻😻

    Liked by 1 person

  8. moosha23 says:

    Ah, this is way too contraversial! 😀
    I agree with most of your choices (I haven’t read As I Lay Dying, and TFIOS while it may not have been worth the hype, was pretty good imo). Twilight and Fifty Shades are cut from the same cloth, and so yes…burn/drown all of them. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha thanks! It wasn’t the worst book ever written, but there was too much I didn’t like and I always felt like I would have enjoyed it more if it hadn’t been so hyped. Ahh avoid As I Lay Dying as if your life depends on it! (or other lives- cos I certainly got murderous after reading it- fortunately Faulkner was saved from my wrath by virtue of the fact that he is already dead :p ) Yes- they certainly deserve it!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Paul @ The Galaxial Word says:

    ASDFGHLLASF your answers are so perfect.

    The Fault in our Stars – I could not agree more. The whole book felt like one huge suffocating platter of stinking cheese.
    Twilight – Do not even. This is my go-to book when I want to make myself feel better about my shitty writing skills.
    As I Lay Dying – Haven’t read this one. Don’t intend to anymore.
    Fifty Shades of Grey – My shopping lists are more riveting than this book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahahaha now that is the *perfect* description! The only issue is I like stinky cheese far more than I could ever like that book!
      haahaahaha ooh that’s a good technique *stores for later*
      Don’t do it to yourself!!!! Worst book ever written! (it probably wasn’t so sensible to mention it here though cos the mere mention of it sends in into an insane rage!)
      hahaha yes they are- especially since this book includes her actually going grocery shopping!
      Thanks so much for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Book Sacrfice Tag

Leave a Reply

