Real Neat Blog Award

mrs doubtfire hello

Yeah, I’m in a funny mood :p And sadly, no, this post has nothing to do with Mrs Doubtfire. I am just excited to do this tag! Thanks so much to Betwixt These Pages and Eve Messenger for nominating me for this award- they’re both awesome so you should definitely check them out?

real-neat-blog-award.jpg

RULES:

1. Thank and link the blogger that nominated you.

2. Answer the 7 questions that the nomination has provided you.

3. Create 7 questions for your nominees.

4. Nominate 7 other bloggers.

QUESTIONS:

1. Sometimes a book grows on us long after we’re done reading it, and we realize it was actually much better than when we first rated it. Has this happened to you, and which book was it?
Ooh that’s an excellent question- I often change my ratings on goodreads. Often I can be more generous to books, and then end up lowering my rating. But I also increase ratings from time to time. I think sappy romances tend to get a generic three star rating, but I’ll increase it later if I actually enjoyed it, like I did with Second Chance Summer.

second chance summer

2. What’s the scariest novel you’ve ever read?

Well I’m a bit of a scaredy cat, so I found Breathe (a children’s book) terrifying.

breathe

3. What is the most boring book you ever had to read for school?

Ooh that’s a great question- I’m not a big reader of non-fiction and I had to read some incredibly dry ones for University. The dumbest thing I ever read was Saussure- not a fan.

4. Do you speak more than language? If so, which ones?

Nope- sadly not. I’ve tried to brush up on my French after doing it for GCSE, but I don’t have enough patience.

5. Have you ever had a dream in which a book character appeared?

Yeah loads- funniest dream I ever had was when Saruman convinced me that he was not really the bad guy. Later, after Saruman had killed loads of people and was still running round with orcs, Aragorn said to me “how could you?”- and it was only at that point I realised I might have made a mistake- whoops! All this took place in my old primary school. Yeah, sometimes my dreams get weird…

6. What are the next three books on your TBR list?
Ahh my tbr is such a long list- I’m probably gonna write a whole post on it- but for now it includes Shadow of the Wind, followed by any one of the gazillion books I own but haven’t read yet (haha I know I didn’t make it to three, but can only give 20 on a list or none at all)

shadow of the wind

 

7. When you think of your favourite books, what are the first two to come to mind?

This:

peter pan and wendy

And this:

Hobbit_cover

MY QUESTIONS:

  1. What’s your favourite Robin Williams movie? (ah look at me making this relevant to my random tangent!)
  2. In keeping with the weird theme, what’s your favourite story/book/movie where someone does a Mrs Doubtfire and dresses up as someone they’re not?
  3. I’m running out of questions related to Mrs Doubtfire…  Turn your itunes on shuffle- and “Jump Around” (the song at the beginning of the movie) to whatever song comes on- report results!
  4. Okay, now for a change of topic- who’s your favourite comedian?
  5. Barring Shakespeare and the Bible- which book would you say was most important to save in the event of the apocalypse?
  6. For Harry Potter fans: what do you think the boggart would turn into if you encountered it? For everyone else: what’s your biggest fear?
  7. Voldemort has just confessed his love for you, saying you are the only person that has ever managed to convince him that love exists- what do you say back to him?

I NOMINATE:

Trust in the Words

Sorry I Am Booked

Calliope the Book Goddess

Napoleon Split

Words and Lyrics

Happy Alex

The Book and the Bone

 

39 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Demmi Writist says:

    Thank you so much for nominating me! I loved all your answers and the questions you gave us! Especially the last two. I’m an undenianly obsessed Potterhead so it will be very interesting to answer those.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicole.Ilene says:

    Thanks for the nomination! I absolutely love Shadow of the Wind!! I’m really excited that I’m seeing it around blogs more; can’t wait to see what you think of it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paul @ The Galaxial Word says:

    You know that your TBR is going out of control when your desk is bowing under the weight of all your books and you are seriously considering dedicating two whole blog posts to part one and part two of your TBR… SAVE ME * flips table *
    (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Codie says:

    Congratulations on award! The Hobbit was a wonderful book, and the Mrs. Doubtfire picture just really(!) makes me want to watch it 🙂 Your question #7 is hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Codie says:

        It really is! It’s so homey and familiar – books like this and Jane Eyre have that effect on me. I know I love that movie! It’s so funny, but really sweet too. He did all that for his kids. Haha, oh my gosh hmmm…Avada Kedavra?? or maybe hop on my broom and high tell it the hell outta there…I’m not into serial killers…well that serial killer…which just sounds weird.

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Exactly! Ah I love Jane Eyre too- it’s one of those rare perfect books. Yes it is! And it has so much depth too and so much emotional punch. hahahaha really? I’m surprised :p don’t worry, I see where you’re coming from- that snake nose is really unattractive :p

          Liked by 1 person

          • Codie says:

            It is a rare perfect book – not too much, not too little with a perfect balance of emotion to conflict and discovery…I guess like The Hobbit. It really was, but the end always feel sad when I watch the end for some reason. It really is! And that fish-like skin *shivers* I don’t wanna be shallow (again) buuuut that a little too out of my comfort zone haha.

            Liked by 1 person

            • theorangutanlibrarian says:

              Gosh yes- couldn’t agree more!! I agree the ending’s kind of bittersweet. That moment when Jane finds out about his wife kills me every time as well :/ haha yeah- we’re both so shallow to not be interested in the crazy psycho with the snake nose :p

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

