Q&A – Everything You Could Possibly Want To Know And Some Things You Didn’t

So this is super long overdue- but here is my Q&A post, as promised! Thank you all once again for helping me reach 400 followers!! You’re the best!!

How are you today? Also, what color are your favorite socks? (you never said the questions had to be relevant, haha!). Last one: are you a hug person? Donna @ Chocolate Waffles

I’m wonderful! My favourite socks are my Halloween ones, which are white and orange. And I am a hug person!! *hugs all round*

How do you handle being so awesome? Maria @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books

Thank you, thank you *takes a bow*

HOW DO YOU EDIT, I am lost and I am crazy, hahaha and you are the EDITING QUEEN? Maria @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books

This could be a whole post on its own! I don’t know about being the editing Queen- but I am a weirdo who loves editing. This is my basic process, although every book is different so may do it slightly differently depending on the book:

Step 1: I usually iron out any structural changes first- making notes as I go and changing them when necessary. I know a lot of people are against editing as you go, but if you don’t do this and you leave something that should’ve been changed right away, you will regret it!

Step 2: Proof read. Then you can look out for more of those pesky changes you need to make in the structure. Also, this is a good time to look for grammatical errors- cos I am a grammar nazi and can’t cope with grammatical errors. And finally- the bit everyone hates- killing your babies- which basically means deleting all the unnecessary poncey bits that don’t work (though I don’t do this nearly as much as other people- cos I’m actually a fan of purple prose- sorry!) The best way to do this is to use Track Changes (which I learnt as a proof reader- I swear it has changed my life!)

Step 3: Lather, rinse, repeat- literally keep going over the manuscript until it feels right. It’s a good idea to leave it to rest between edits.

Other tips are: reading it aloud and printing it all out to basically deface it (although, as I said, I prefer defacing it on track changes)

What’s the city/place in the world you’d like to go to, the moooost? Maria @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books

Well my answer to this is usually Egypt- but right now I actually feel like going somewhere more European that I’ve never been to before, like Florence. I mean, doesn’t that look magical…

florence20150803.jpg

If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go and why? ViviHeartBooks

Okay, now I’m just gonna say Egypt, cos I’ve always been obsessed with ancient Egyptian culture!

What are your favourite holiday destinations of the ones you’ve been to? Nicole @ Thoughts on Fantasy

Two- just two? Well I’ll go with the two I went on this year: Barcelona and Prague- cos they were amazing!!

What do you usually prefer to watch: TV shows or movies? Nicole @ Thoughts on Fantasy

That literally changes depending on what’s on TV and how many movies I have that I haven’t seen. Sometimes I go months without watching a single movie, and sometimes I go months without watching any TV. At the moment I’m obsessed with Homeland and Game of Thrones!

homeland

What was the last dream you had? Porter Girl

I always dream. Last night was particularly weird. I had a dream about a parrot and chocolate raisins. Basically, the parrot was trying to break in through the window cos my mum said it was angry about being kept as a pet. It was using a golf club to break the glass- which was odd cos it could’ve used its beak. And then the parrot disappeared and my mum gave us chocolate raisins. I could’ve stopped at the parrot and chocolate raisins- it wasn’t gonna get more normal… Moving on…

What do you daydream about? Brown Books and Green Tea

Hot guys :p

I’m curious about metaphysical quandaries? KathyLauren @ A View to Book

So am I! The basic answer to all metaphysical quandaries is 42.

42

Speaking of metaphysical quandaries…

The answer to every big question (for example, ‘What is life’s purpose?’) is ‘violet cheese’. But why? Sarina @ Cookie Break

Because it is purple and pungent. Speaking of smells…

What’s your favourite smell? Kat @ Life and Other Disasters

Spring.

If you could invent any life-changing gadget instantly today, what would you invent and why? Sara @ Cookie Break

Honestly? A real flying broomstick- cos wouldn’t that be awesome!

Silly questions: are you a real orangutan? Are you a real librarian? Emily @ Rose Read

Of course- to both questions :p What are you insinuating? :p

Serious question: what’s the first book you would read to your child? Emily @ Rose Read

The first book I would read my theoretical child is probably the Tiger Who Came To Tea- I loved that as a little-un

Where do you see yourself in 5 years time? Imagalaxygirl

Hehe this feels like a job interview. Honestly I don’t know- I can’t seem to see 5 days down the line let alone 5 years!

Do you plan on stopping blogging after a certain time period? Imagalaxygirl

Nope.

What inspired your name? Imagalaxygirl

Terry Pratchett’s Ook!

Do you like orangutans? Imagalaxygirl

Of course!

If you could go back to any time in history, which time would that be? Demmi Writist

The roaring 20s!

gatsby

What’s your go-to book recommendation(s)? Joralene @ Page Chronicles

Picture of Dorian Gray and the Yellow Wallpaper

picture of dorian gray and yellow wallpaper

What are your blogging tips for newbies? Joralene @ Page Chronicles

Enjoy yourself! And get stuck into it! the more you put in the more you get out!

What did you want to be when you were a kid? Joralene @ Page Chronicles

An inventor! (I wanted to invent that real-life broomstick I mentioned earlier- I was obviously a very practical child)

harrypotter_nimbus2000_49

What is the weirdest desire you’ve ever had? Keira @ Signing On

To eat a whole sachet of ketchup on its own- I achieved this goal and I am very proud of myself :p

Top 5 fave Discworld, (Or Terry Pratchett in general), characters? Combustible Reviews

These are all gonna be Discworld related and very unoriginal. In no particular order: Death, Captain Vimes, Vetinari, Carrot and Ook!! (That was so hard to narrow down!!)

If you could time travel who would you want to meet? The Daily AM

Well, after the last question, I’m gonna have to go with Terry Pratchett

Terry-Pratchett-assisted--007

And also which cartoon/anime character would you like to bring to life? The Daily AM

Dimitri from Anastasia cos I had a crush on him as a child and want to know if I’d like him in real life

If you could be any character from any book, which one would you wanna be? A Bibliophile’s Obsession

Smaug

smaug

Which one book character would you bring to life to be your best friend? Ashleigh @ A Frolic Through Fiction

Probably also Smaug- cos I’m in a very Smaug-like mood- and because he’d offer the best protection as a best friend- nothing beats fire breathing dragon as an ally (I learnt that from Shrek).

Who’s your fictional crush?❤ I Adore Paper

Ok, don’t worry- I’m not gonna go with Smaug for this one! Even though he’s gay, it’s got to be Baz from Carry On

If you could make moderate to significant changes (plot, characters, setting, whatever) to a popular YA novel that ended up seriously disappointing you, which book would you choose, and how would you change it? Hey Ashers

thirteen reasons why

That is such a hard question! I think the one that springs to mind is Thirteen Reasons Why, because I actually liked the idea behind that one, but felt like the author didn’t do it justice. I did a post about it here where I go into a lot more depth about what was wrong with it (which would be all the things I’d change).

What was the biggest bookish plot twist you have ever read? hashtaglovebooks

Ooh hard!! The one in Jude- that I’m not going to mention cos it’s too spoilery- but you’ll know what I mean if you’ve read it- that was scarring!!

What was the strangest movie or book you liked as a child? Jess’ Reading Nook

Fantasia and Bambi were my two favourite movies as a child- I used to sit and cry when I watched Bambi and then spin frantically round the room while watching Fantasia- I was an odd child.

fantasia and bambi.png

If you could erase one embarrassing moment, which would it be? Being a Book Nerd

When I ranted about quorn for half an hour before someone told me that’s what was for dinner

Do you prefer a fork or a spoon? (I know some people who eat everything with spoons.) Zezee

I’m a monkey, I use my hands.

And what is your favourite colour and how would you react if you woke up one morning and can only see that colour? Zezee

That literally changes every day- but let’s go with orange, cos I’d find it funny if I woke up and everything was orange.

If you instantly won the lottery, what would be the first thing you would spend it on? Samer T

I’m  torn between the totally sensible and the totally bizarre for this one- so I’m gonna try and combine the two. A dilapidated house – cos it’s always been my dream to restore an ancient property- I’ve watched way too much Grand Designs (and yes I have browsed the National Trust database cos I’m just that cool).

Ooh, and any blogging tips you could send my way! Samer T

I’ve already said have fun, so I’d suggest connecting with loads of other bloggers cos it makes the experience loads more fun!

What would your Thank You card say to Voldemort if he somehow made you look permanently identical to him? Sublime Reads

voldemort

Hey Voldy….. Look up! 

And then I’d punch him in the face. (Obviously I’d have to deliver it by hand for this to work)

And that’s a wrap! Hope you all enjoyed that as much as I did! I had a lot of fun answering all of your interesting, wacky and frankly absurd questions!

57 thoughts on “Q&A – Everything You Could Possibly Want To Know And Some Things You Didn’t

  1. Read Diverse Books says:

    I’m not the biggest fan of Dorian Grey, but The Yellow Wallpaper a perfect story. It’s definitely the perfect reading recommendation as well.

    I agree with your blogging tips. If it’s clear you’re having fun and being genuine, people will notice and respond better to your blog. Also, if you put in real effort into all your posts, others really appreciate that and leave some kind works on your blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eve Messenger says:

    Holy novel-length post, Orangutan, you weren’t kidding when you said this would be a long one. I was laughing as the questions went on an on. Fortunately, your answers were super fun to read, and it was awesome to get to now so much more about you. You are an interesting and funny person. I totally agree with your editing approach, and yep, daydreaming about hot guys is pretty awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha I know right!! it’s why it took me so long to post! Thanks very much!! I had to summarise a little and cut out all my addendums that said things like “for x type of book…” because I really think that books are like people- every one is different and has to be approached slightly differently. Yes it is!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Ashers! says:

    It’d be neat if you did write a more in-depth post about your editing process. You covered the basics succinctly, but I’m always a sucker for writing/editing-process-related posts. You’d definitely have an audience if the spirit moved you to write about it some more. =)

    Oh man, I’d kill to visit Barcelona and Prague. How awesome, that you got to go!

    The Yellow Wallpaper is glorious. Excellent recommendation. *Two thumbs up.* I’ve been meaning to read The Picture of Dorian Gray for, uh, ever. One day. One day.

    Your post about Thirteen Reasons Why: glorious. Answers my question beyond perfectly. Thanks for linking to that post! Clearly I now need to spend a few (many?) hours obsessively reading your entire blog to catch up on everything else I’ve missed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! I do have more to say, cos I edit differently for different books and there are huge differences between a light edit and a complete overhaul. That said I do think that, just as editing every book is different, every author is different and has different processes. So I’m never confident giving writing advice cos there are so many ways of doing things and everyone’s different. I always err on the side of caution when giving writing advice- which is super rare! But that’s definitely good to know- cos I do want to debunk some of the myths about “things you shouldn’t do” in writing one of these days…
      Oh you should- they are such incredible places!! It really was awesome to go there!!
      Thanks so much!! I love that book- and I think it’s one of those rare books that literally anyone can read an enjoy 🙂 The same goes for Picture of Dorian Gray- but more so cos that book has literally *everything* in it 😀 I highly recommend it 😀 It’s a nice short-ish one too!
      Thank you so much!! I’m so glad you liked it! haha thanks so much!!! Your comments have really made my day 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. transhaan says:

    Hahaha I love this post !! 😀 its funny how we see the editing process is different from one person to another ! Itll be a great bookish discussion and that Smaug answer LOL With that said,LOVE YOUR POSTS ! 🙌🙌

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Demmi Writist says:

    Wow great post! I loved all your answers! I agree the 20s would be great! And also I’ve been to Florence and it was quite magical. Although I’m in love with Venice as far as Italian cities go.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Keira says:

    That is a very strange desire! I personally detest Ketchup 😀 Prague is absolutely incredible, I love it there even though I’ve only been once: I really want to go again!!! I read another book my Charlotte Perkins Gilman that I loved but I haven’t read The Yellow Wallpaper. Do you think I’d like it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha well you did ask for the strangest desire :p I know right!!! It’s such a phenomenal place- totally unique!!! Ahh yes I really do- especially if you already like Gilman’s writing- it’s super short as well (about 6000 words) so it won’t take long 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you and you’re welcome!! Well- if you’re worried about making it worse, I’d always err on the side of caution- also that’s why track changes is so good- cos if you change something you’re not sure about, you can go back to it later and change it back- you just go through it again and accept or reject the change- it’s a very satisfying way to do it and means you have to think about every edit more than once 🙂 Also major errors that need changing will be glaringly obvious. If you’re doing more of an overhaul, it’s trickier to tell, cos you don’t want to lose the soul of the story to all the edits. With that kind of thing you have to be more certain you want to actually do the complete overhaul- because it will involve butchering the story and putting it back together. If it’s all basically in the place you want it, don’t over edit it! Err on the side of caution for a general edit and go wild with an overhaul. (but as I said, this is all subjective to the book) I hope that helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Donna says:

    A hugger AND a grammar nazi? We were meant to be!!! xD (please, don’t punish me for my bad grammar, I am still learning, pretty pretty pretty please!!!) I did the same sachet thing when I was in junior high school, but it was a sachet full of salt , and I am still proud of myself!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nicola Alter says:

    Great answers! I also love Homeland and I can’t wait for the next season of Game of Thrones (though I think on the whole I’m more of a movie person… I like the fact you can get the whole experience in one sitting, and having a ‘movie night’ or going to the cinema feels somehow more satisfying to me). Haven’t been to either Barcelona or Prague but am planning to change that soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! ahh that is an excellent point and I totally agree- though now you mention it, it reminds me why I like tv so much- I love long drawn out stories you can really sink your teeth into. But I agree with you how satisfying a movie can be. Ahh you definitely should- they’re incredible places!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

