Burn Rewrite Reread

 

burn rewrite reread.png

Happy Sunday! So I’ve been having a super lazy day (mainly cos I’m ill in bed) and thought it might be fun to play a game while I lounge about. I was tagged by three absolutely awesome bloggers: The Bookish Underdog, Rose Read Blog, Carrianne’s Cuppa ‘n Critiques. Ever since I first saw this one I’ve been in equal measure excited and nervous to do it- so let’s get started before I chicken out…

Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf- or you can just make my mistake, waste time writing loads of titles on bits of paper and pick them at random).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or 9 in my case, cos I didn’t read the rules before starting).

Round 1

bronze horseman accident season i capture the castle.png

burn

The Bronze HorsemanGosh I hate this book and would happily burn it- if you wanna know why, you can read my review here.

rewrite

The Accident SeasonI wasn’t totally impressed with this and definitely thought there was room for improvement.

Reread

I Capture the CastleI *love* this book- I’d happily reread it any day!

So far so good…

Round 2

wise mans fear ps i still love jude

burn

Wise Man’s Fear- it’s no secret that I hated the direction this series took- it felt so self-indulgent and boring.

rewrite

PS I Still Love You– I really like this duology, but the sequel was a bit of a letdown and could’ve been better. I would definitely like to change who she ends up with in this for starters.

Reread

Jude– let’s be honest, I have no desire to reread this book- but that’s because it’s so good that once was enough.

Round 3

girl of fire and thorns thirteen reasons shadow of wind

burn

Girl of Fire and Thorns– I don’t actually think this book deserves to be burned, but I can’t see enough good in it to warrant a rewrite.

rewrite

13 Reasons Why– personally, I actually think this is a worse book than Girl of Fire and Thorns, but the idea is good and could be redeemed in a rewrite.

Reread

Shadow of the Wind– gosh- I love this book!!

This is going too well….

Round 4

eye of the world throne of glass as I lay dying.png

burn

As I Lay Dying– die you mother-effer!

rewrite

Eye of the World. Let’s face it, I’d happily burn this one too. Still I’ll settle for rewriting it- although it already feels like a bad rewrite of Tolkein.

Reread

Throne of Glass. Reread! No questions asked!

Round 5

we were liars emma tfios.png

burn

The Fault in Our Stars. It’s no secret that I didn’t like this book- and since there’s no way I could burn the other two books in this selection….

rewrite

We Were Liars. Oh no!! I don’t want to do this at all- cos one of the best things about this is the way it’s written- but then let’s face it, the one I’m gonna reread is…

Reread

Emma. Because even though I reread this recently, I could happily reread this again. And again. And again.

Round 6

divergent captain corelli snow like ashes.png

burn

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. This book totally deserves it #SorryNotSorry

rewrite

Divergent. Yeah- this should be rewritten before to resemble a better YA dystopia (like the Hunger Games) or a better way of characterising teens into groups (like Harry Potter)- oh wait, it’s already been done before- my bad.

Reread

Snow Like Ashes. I don’t especially want to reread this, but I suppose it wouldn’t be much of a chore and maybe I’ll like it better the second time round?

Round 7

red queen vicious bone season.png

burn

Bone Season. I don’t know why this was called “the next Harry Potter” (I feel like every time I’ve heard that description it’s only ever been for books that definitely *will not* be the next Harry Potter). It’s awfully confused, boring and just plain weird. Basically it’s only good for kindling.

rewrite

Red Queen. This book was good, but by no means perfect- there’s definitely room for improvement.

Reread

Vicious. I would happily reread this- it’s been a pretty easy round 🙂

Round 8

statistical probability fifty shades steelheart.png

Gah- I don’t like any of these!

burn

Fifty Shades. I could easily burn this and feel no remorse.

rewrite

Statistical Probability- to be honest there’s not much to save in this book.

Reread

Steelheart– I put this in the mix with the full intention of it being a rewrite and now I’m stuck rereading it. 

Round 9

harry potter carry on young elites

Nooooo! This is literally a nightmare!!

burn

The Young Elites– ughh I really don’t want to do this but I have no choice… *sobs*

rewrite

Harry Potter? Ok before the lynch mob comes after me- I’d only rewrite the bit in number 5 when Sirius dies- cos it didn’t actually specify which Harry Potter… (god the lynch mob is coming for me in the comments aren’t they?)

Reread

Carry On- I love this book- there’s no way I could hurt it in any way! Although it wouldn’t actually exist without Harry Potter- ah I wanna change my answer and reread Harry Potter too- this is just the worst!

Okay, this has gotten way out of hand- time to stop!

I tag:

Embuhlee

Zezee

Codie

Cat

Marie

Brigitte

Ok, I’m sure plenty of you have a lot to say after that- I dread to say this- but what did you think of my choices? Do you want to shoot me for some of them? Let me know in the comments below!

35 thoughts on “Burn Rewrite Reread

  1. samfalston says:

    The Wise Man’s Fear – agreed! Either a burn or a rewrite. Kvothe annoys me to no end in that book and the romance just drags on and on.
    Divergent and Red Queen – agreed. So much potential with the concepts, just poor execution and lacklustre world building.
    I loved Throne of Glass as well. I think the only thing I disagree with you about is Carry On, I really couldn’t get into it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yeah definitely! I loved that character after the first book, but did a complete uturn after all the weird romance and super macho “I’m so good at everything” plot- I didn’t like it at all :/ yeah exactly!
      Ahh well, that book is like the love of my life, so I really couldn’t bear to do it any harm! I know a lot of people won’t agree with me on that one- which is fair enough!

      Like

  2. alilovesbooks says:

    I’m scared to admit this but I actually quite liked Captain Corelli. There were big chunks I skimmed but other bits I loved. Was very interested in round 7 as I’ve been trying to decide which of the three to read. I’m thinking Vicious might be the way to go 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha why would you be scared to tell me that? that’s fine by me! You’re free to like whatever you want 🙂 I wasn’t a fan cos it bored me and I didn’t like De Berniere’s style- but if if it did it for you, then that’s great! Vicious is definitely the way to go!

      Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I didn’t even acknowledge people might be annoyed by that one cos in a brief moment I forgot how popular it is- whoops! Yeah definitely! I thought in the end the twist was executed well, but too much of it was repetitive and unoriginal like you said :/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. hiraethforthepages says:

    Many books to add to TBR now *wink wink* I agree with the Bronze Horseman (guess who is going to read a review of it after this comment 😉 ), I was SO EXCITED to read it and then I was reading it and I got sad and so I didn’t finish it. And ALSO agree with rereading Throne of Glass because that book is so great AND EMPIRE OF STORMS IS COMING – CONFETTI ITS A PARADE.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haaha thanks! I look forward to seeing what you think! I know right- I loved the idea and the title and I couldn’t wait to read something set in that era- and then when I finally got to it, it just fell flat. Ahhhh I know!!!! I am literally so excited!!! (*basks in confetti parade*)

      Like

Leave a Reply

