Spring Cleaning My Bookshelves!

It’s that time of year again! When you whip out the cleaning products and start manically clearing out your room. Time to do some Spring Cleaning and get rid of all those pesky books you don’t want!! Yay… Or you know… Not…. Cos let’s face it- when it comes to getting rid of books we can all be a bit like this:

gollum

Paradoxically for this post, I am a *massive* hoarder and hate getting rid of books- if I like a book or it has sentimental value then THAT’S IT- the book is in my life to stay. Despite that, I also like to declutter and am always trying to get rid of things I don’t want anymore. So in honour of that (probably more sensible) side to me, welcome to my first ever “unhaul” post!

hex hallHex Hall– I actually gave away this series a while ago. Not because it wasn’t good- they were pretty enjoyable- but because I thought my friend would enjoy it and I just couldn’t see myself rereading it.

Invisible

Invisible

Seraphina_book_cover_(US_addition)Seraphina– The only reason I was holding onto this one for so long was cos the cover is pretty. I mean- just look at it!! It’s gotta go now though!

Invisible

Invisible

Invisible

statistical probability of loveProbability of Love at First Sight– Time to take this one to the charity shop! I have to say though the statistical probability of someone picking this up and falling in love with the cover is high- but the probability that lust will dissipate as that person reads the book are even higher.

Invisible

Invisible

paris winterThe Paris Winter– Another one with a lovely cover- but an empty premise- as I said in my review, this one left me cold. Maybe it can find a new owner to keep it warm at night.

Invisible

Invisible

macbethMacbeth and Othello– Hold your horses- I’m not saying I don’t love these plays- I just don’t love these editions. And I happen to have a Shakespeare compendium, so I have no need for these.

Invisible

Invisible

i am malalaI Am Malala– This is the only one I’m hesitant about. Because I’ve heard so many good things and I’m sure it’s great- I just really struggle to read biographies (and anything non-fiction to be honest)

Invisible

Invisible

how to write dissertationsHow to write Essays and Dissertations– Speaking of non-fiction, I bought this book in a complete panic about my dissertation (my uni wasn’t exactly good at preparing us). Needless to say this book was a total con and- guess what?– it didn’t help. It was just regurgitated info about how to do something I’d already been doing for 4 years. Figures.

Invisible

wickedAnd finally… Wicked– Which I’m not planning to get rid of just yet- cos I haven’t finished it- but considering I’ve had this damn book on my Goodreads “currently reading” shelf since November and haven’t had any desire to pick it up again- I figure I’m gonna have to give up on it sometime in the near future. “Fly my pretty fly”- off to the charity shop where I never have to see you again!

Invisible

fly my pretties.png

And that’s all for now! Have you got rid of any books lately? Or do you hold onto *all* your books no matter what?

43 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning My Bookshelves!

  1. Bookenstein says:

    I am SUCH a hoarder. I think I’ve given away books like… once on purpose. I just love them all so much. So, I definitely applaud you for this one. Maybe one day, I’ll stop keeping all of the things. Also, same for Seraphina.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bookwraiths says:

    Totally understand you having a book on your Goodreads “currently reading” shelf for months. I have a couple I have to get back to, especially since I refuse to acknowledge I must not be that interested in getting back to them. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    I love the pic of Gollum. 🙂 You’re hoarding books like the One Ring. Haha! I love it! I saw Wicked the musical years ago and I loved it, but I had no idea there was a book of the same name. Does it follow the same storyline as the musical?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michelle says:

    Oh that’s a shame that you didn’t like Wicked. My sister read and loved it. Then saw the musical in L A. And then took my mom and I to see the show. We all loved the show and bought the book & audio soon after that. It’s now been oh 5 years later and they’re collecting dust.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      It’s a good thing to do! Exactly- I actually have no space for books- I only have a couple of shelves for my books and the rest are all in boxes, either in my cupboard or storage- I just don’t feel like I can justify keeping the ones I don’t like anymore

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ayunda says:

    I Am Malala is excellent, it’s too bad you’re giving it away 😢 But I totally agree about Hex Hall, I read it years ago and enjoyed it but never got the urge to continue the series and now that I think about it, I don’t think I actually liked the first book 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I might try one last time to read it first- but I’ll probably still give it away after cos I can’t imagine that, even if I manage to read it once, I’ll read it again. I do want to read it cos I’ve read the opening and it was well written- but it’s just not my thing so I struggle to pick it up :/ Yeah I thought it was decent at the time but when I thought about it I couldn’t think of a single thing I particularly liked :/

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nicola Alter says:

    I know what you mean about autobiographies and non-fiction, I struggle to make myself read them. However, there were two biographies that a friend gave me and highly recommended, and once I finally managed to read them they were actually very good: Going Solo by Roald Dahl, and Wild Swans by Jung Chang (which I’m reading now). I still don’t think I’ll be picking up any biographies in the future in a hurry though, because I’m convinced these are stand-out examples and others will not be so interesting. Of course, I have no basis for this conviction, given I pretty much never read biographies! But I can’t seem to shake my reluctance. Maybe I’ve tried to read a lot of boring non-fiction so that contributes to my hesitance…

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Oh yes to both of those- I read one of Roald Dahl’s biographies when I was younger and loved it. I haven’t read Wild Swans but it’s been on my tbr for ages cos it’s supposed to be very similar to another biography I read once. I definitely agree that there are exceptions to every rule- cos like you said there are stand out examples. But I totally agree- I’m so reluctant about it usually. Exactly- I know I have!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Donna says:

    I just can’t bring myself to get rid of books, even the bad ones. Even just thinking about it breaks my heart. It might be because I don’t own many at the moment, I haven’t been able to buy as much as I wished. We’ll have this conversation again next year when my bookcase if crammed and books are taking over the apartment!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I understand- I used to be like that too. But now I a) have no space and b) have no space and c) found a book I hated enough to give away- then it became easier to differentiate between the books I actually wanted and the books I didn’t. Especially cos most of my books are in storage and I just want to get them out again!!! I mean, it’s been forever since I reread harry potter or hobbit/lotr- I want them back!! haha yes- let’s have this convo in a year and I will have my books back (and I won’t be able to move for books!) That’s the dream!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. sarinalangerwriter says:

    I’m like you, I don’t like getting rid of old books. Not unless I really, *really* disliked them which is quite rare. I mentioned the other day that I need to give my bookshelf a spring clean, and my SO said ‘Are you sure you can throw them out?’ NO! I can’t, I’d rather give them away to someone who can give them a good home than throw them away. But I can still sort them out and make some room! The promise of new books helps 😉
    Unfortunately a lot of my favourite books are rather long series, and take up quite a bit of room. I might have to sort them out just because of that :/
    I don’t know, it makes me sad to think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Oh gosh I’ve *NEVER* thrown a book out- I always give them to a friend or a charity shop- I couldn’t put a book in the bin!!! That would be sacrilege!! But like you said, it’s good to sort them out and make room. haha the promise of new books does help!
      I know what you mean- even if I just have one book in a series that I liked I’ll keep it on the offchance I get the rest of the series one day- which makes no sense cos they take up so much room!

      Like

  9. Krysta says:

    I like the idea of an unhaul post! I have limited space, so I try to clear my shelves regularly. If I know I won’t reread a book, I’m not going to hang onto it. I usually donate them to a library or a school so other people who might have limited access to books can use them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you! Oh me too :/ Exactly- I tend to just give them to a charity shop, cos I’m lazy that way, but there are some places I can think of where people have more limited access to books that I want to donate to at some point- I’m actually waiting to get hold of some ones I quite liked in my storage, cos I’d feel mean giving them all the ones I hate

      Like

      • Krysta says:

        That’s hilarious! I always feel awkward donating books I hated, but I console myself with the thought that someone else might not hate it.

        Sometimes I buy books from the library book sale, read them, dislike them, and then donate them back to the library book sale…. I keep telling myself the volunteers don’t know, but I feel weird about it. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          I know, that’s usually what I think- and if someone’s gonna buy a book they hate in a charity shop, they’ll be fine about it cos it was for charity.
          Oh yeah definitely- I do that with second hand books and charity shop books all the time- that’s why I think it’s ok to keep giving them my cast offs :p

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

