Morning Star is a Prime Example of a Great Book

So I’m gonna do something unconventional today and just say straight off the bat:

Rating: 5/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

morning starBecause it’s kind of a foregone conclusion at this point. If you’ve been following my reviews lately, you’ll already know how much I love this series, how I worship the characters and how I am head over heels for the world building. That’s why I’m sure many of you will have seen this coming.

But in all honesty, it wasn’t actually as straightforward as that. In reality, I very rarely give books 5* ratings. Even if I enjoy them, there are lots of reasons why I might stay my hand, and why I might hesitate about giving a book that one extra banana. Heck- I’ve gushed like crazy over books and then given them 4.5 bananas on here before. Why? Because of books like this. Because books like this *prove* why I need to distinguish between the fantastic books and the books that are blow my socks off brilliant.

At this stage, I’ve probably said everything that needs to be said about this series, but I’ll say these few things one more time, just in case I haven’t drummed home the message enough.

This book is one of the best I’ve read in a *really* long time (well since the Golden Son and Red Rising). The plot is insane- even if you guess half the twists, you’ll be stunned by the other half. You will be swept up in the drama and completely *destroyed* by it. I guarantee that this book will drive you crazy- in the best possible way. Because everything in it is *perfectly* drawn. And as you gallop towards the end of this book, your life will come to a standstill and you will most definitely miss a train or two (I just missed one this time). It is such as completely soul destroying and gut-wrenchingly beautiful work of literature. YOU NEED THIS BOOK IN YOUR LIFE!!!

And now that I am done with the series, I am bereft! What am I supposed to do with my time now? How am I gonna live without Darrow and his motley crew of space warriors? I don’t even know how I’m gonna go on….

Arghhh!! That is the trouble with brilliant books- they give me the worst book hangovers ever.

What was the worst bookhanger you’ve had lately? And if you have read this series- what did you think of the last instalment? Are you- like me- praying for more??

20 thoughts on “Morning Star is a Prime Example of a Great Book

      • sarahylockwood says:

        Literally everyone except for Darrow, Mustang, and Servo were in the drawing. I guess Brown had an amazing story arc for Pax with his father becoming Darrow’s Sponsor instead of the ArchGovernor. Alas, his name was drawn and we will never know!

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          OH MY GOODNESS- that would have been mental!!! I cannot believe even he did not know the way his story would go but that makes sense given the twists and turns- that’s actually a genius way to write it cos it leaves something up to chance- which is a great element to have in a book like this!

          Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh thank you!! I know what you mean- there are some books that are so hyped for no reason and you can’t tell where the hype was started and if it’s even real. But this, thankfully, wasn’t one of those cases- it’s just a great series 😀

      Like

  1. Donna says:

    Here’s a hug and a banana to help with the hungover 😘 But I still blame you and your enthusiasm for me wanting to read this! I don’t have tiiiiiimeeeee, damn it *throws a tantrum* I hate adulting!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alilovesbooks says:

    Despite not being too sure of Red Rising (I thought it was a rip off of The Hunger Games and Harry Potter….sorry) I did really love Morning Star. I went to see Pierce Brown at an event and I think listening to him talk about it really helped me buy into the whole series. I started to love all of the little nods to other books, shows and films. Morning Star definitely surprised me with some of the twists. The only thing that knocked it down a little from a five star for me was the ending and that final reveal.

    He is writing a new trilogy set a few years later so there’s still that to look forward to and I think Sony has the rights to the film. I think the film will be awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh well, I can see the similarities to Hunger Games, so that’s fair and you’re entitled to your opinion 🙂 Also, as you said, it’s less that it’s a rip off and more like it gives a nod to other works. The influence of the Hunger Games is really apparent, but so too is the Iliad and Roman Culture. I think part of the reason I loved it so much was all those nods to other cultures. I’m not the kind of person that has a thing about originality (I could easily write a whole post about that and probably will) because I firmly believe there are no new stories. Ah that final reveal killed me- cos I didn’t see it at all and yet I thought it made sense in retrospect- it was hinted at throughout but never gave anything away (a bit like Bad Wolf in Doctor Who- it was a twist that was waiting to happen the whole time but you’d have never guessed it without knowing what to look for). Ahh I cannot wait!! And I am very excited about the film- as you said, it’ll be epic!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mylibrarycardworeout says:

    Wow, this review really makes me want to check this book out now!
    I had similar feelings of what to do when reading the Nalini Singh romance series (but it’s sooooo much more than romance). It’s still being written which is a nice thing but when you finish a book you want more like then and there and you have to wait two years for the next book to come out. Almost every series I read that I have in any way enjoyed I am left confused and not sure what to do. That series became your life…and now you’re just left floating in a void with no direction or purpose anymore. It sucks big time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh I know the feeling- one of things I was really glad about was that all the books in this series had already come out- otherwise I would’ve died between book 2 and 3! But like you said- waiting between books is a killer and now this is done I don’t know what to do! Ahh I really have to check out Singh’s series now that I know it provoked that reaction in you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

