5 Book Series I Gave 5/5 Bananas

So I mentioned in my last post that I very rarely give books 5 bananas. Now, since I rarely give books 5*, imagine how much rarer it is for me to give an entire series 5*- in fact I’ve had a look through my goodreads and there are only 5 complete series I’ve given this too. Often I’ll like one book in a series more than others, sometimes the series will go downhill and from time to time I’ll end up loving a series I didn’t initially enjoy. Even though there are loads of series I’ve absolutely adored, very few series have actually made it onto this list. (I’m beginning to think I’m just a tad too strict about giving out bananas- maybe it’s the covetous monkey in me- I don’t know) Shockingly there are just *5* series on this list- and here they are:

Red Rising Pierce Browns

Red Rising– Okay, so this is the most recent one. You can read all about my insane love for this series here, here and here. (this is me trying- unsuccessfully- not to ram it down your throats anymore than I already have :p )

Invisible

Invisible

daughter of smoke and bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone– I read this wayyy back in 2014- and it is the last time I rated an entire series 5*. And boy was it deserving of that. Not only was it phenomenally well written, but it was so damn clever! I loved the world she created and all the characters in it. All those books were pure poetry and I am delighted to include it on this list- or any list!

Invisible

wind singer

Wind Singer– I feel like I’m going back in time by mentioning this series. It is so long since I read it, that I can only remember the emotions it provoked in me and just snippets of the plot. But what a riot of emotions I remember getting from this- it moved me to tears and got me reading at a pace akin to Usaine Bolt running the 100m. I recommend this to everyone- including me- note to self: this is due a reread!

Invisible

sabriel

Sabriel– I’m cheating with this one, cos I thought I did give all the books 5*, but when I checked my goodreads apparently I didn’t give the second one 5*. I don’t agree with that rating at all- this series is so legendary and I have such fond memories of the Abhorsen trilogy as a whole that I *had to* include it in this list.

Invisible

northern lights

Northern Lights– gosh- here’s another one that makes me ridiculously nostalgic. I’ve reread this series so many times- and it never ceases to amaze me. It is exquisitely written, so beautifully drawn, and the world building is beyond compare- if you haven’t read it then you *need* to check it out. I give it all the bananas!!

Invisible

all of the bananas

And that’s it for now! I’m holding out hope that more book series will join this list soon (V E Schwab- I’m counting on you!!) and I would be happy for your suggestions! What book series have you given all 5* to? Let me know in the comments!

39 thoughts on “5 Book Series I Gave 5/5 Bananas

  1. Kathy Lauren says:

    I finished the Red Rising series a couple of weeks ago and was just as blown away as you have been. If you don’t already know, he’s got a sequel coming: Iron Gold! Also, the Red Rising series is being made into a movie, of course!
    Thanks for the tip on the 5 banana books…I’ve been searching with no luck for another great read. (I’m reading the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, (which was not bad) A Court of Mists and Fury, ugh…so far. This may be one of several DNF books I’ve read. Disappointed!

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      ahh that’s a shame- but everyone has different taste 🙂 what didn’t you like about it out of interest? Ooh I’m excited about that!!
      Awesome- hope you enjoy checking some of these out 🙂 ahh I read A Court of Thorns and Roses recently but wasn’t really very impressed with it either- even though I like the Throne of Glass series. Not sure I’m gonna continue with the series- especially after what you just said :/

      Like

  2. Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

    Northern Lights definitely deserves 5*s. I read it years back but remember loving it so much I tried to get everyone to read it haha. My sister has been telling me to read Sabriel for the longest time, so I’m going to push that one up my reading list by a few places 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yay- so glad you agree with that!! haha tell me about it- I did the same! Brilliant series! Ah I hope you enjoy it. I remember trying to get my sister to read it, but failed cos it’s a little dark (it’s all about necromancy)- but it is literally one of the best dark fantasy series I’ve ever read! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Captain's Quarters says:

    I adore Garth Nix and agree that the Sabriel series is one of the best I have ever read. Though technically it’s four books now cause Clariel is out. My first Broadside blog dedicated to him. I always want to tell people to read his stuff 🙂
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bambiquim says:

    I’m rather surprised that you have so many series for which you consider each book in the series to deserve such a high rating. Off the top of my head, I cannot think of any series I rate so highly. But then, I tend not to read series, because the quality tends to go down as the series continues, and a lot of storylines are dragged out longer than necessary (likely for the sake of more money). Authors who consistently produce work that I enjoy and will read again and again, on the other hand, I can do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ah well I read a lot of series- so I was actually surprised by how low the number is- but that’s fair if you’re not into them. I do agree with your point about series dragging- that’s one of the main reasons I don’t have many series I’ve given all 5*- because I find most series peter out and get worse (it’s very rare for a series to keep the same level or to get better as they go along)

      Like

  5. Michelle says:

    I really need to read The Red Rising Trilogy. I have only hear great things! Besides the obvious Harry Potter Series, I gave 5 stars to all the books in The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lola @ Hit or Miss Books says:

    Northern Lights… is it the Dark Elements or something series? If yes, I read it and adored even though it was crazy slow, If no. I’m excited to read it :D! Sadly, I didn’t like Red Rising, and I know I’m in the minority, but it didn’t go in the way I expected it to, and the death at the beginning made me so sad. Anyways, lovely post filled with bannanas!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Close- it’s the His Dark Materials series- amd I’m so glad you adored it!! It’s one of my all time favourites!! Ahh that’s a shame, but everyone has different tastes, so it’s all good 🙂 Ahh thanks so much!! 😀

      Like

  7. Kiersten says:

    I seriously love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you build this site yourself? Please reply back
    as I’m looking to create my own personal website and want to find out
    where you got this from or what the theme is named. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

