A Gathering of Shadows…

A Gathering of Shadows FinalSo let’s talk about London while it still exists. Because obviously it looks like it is about to be engulfed by darkness… Oh I probably should have clarified that I mean Red London in the world of V E Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic. Obviously I’m not talking about my dear old hometown! This has nothing to do with the referendum! I just write book reviews 😉 (Too soon to make jokes I wonder?)

Personally, I love V E Schwab. She can practically do no wrong as far as I’m concerned. Her books are a uniquely colourful and dark blend- I didn’t hesitate to give the two books I’ve read of hers (Vicious and A Darker Shade of Magic) 5*. So clearly, I am already heavily invested in this series.

This time, however, I felt the build-up was much slower than I would have liked. Don’t get me wrong- I really, really enjoyed this book. But I didn’t feel like a recap of the last book and an overlong reintroduction into the world she’d already beautifully illustrated was entirely necessary.

Other than that it was business as usual for Schwab. I appreciated the depth she added to the villains, the world and the characters. I especially liked the introduction of a new-old love interest for one of the lead heroes (don’t worry, no spoilers). And when the plot finally did pick up, it went at full speed ahead, slamming straight into an iceberg- which I admit sounds like a bad thing, but was actually thoroughly entertaining, if somewhat totally nerve-wracking and left my heart ringing in my chest as the shock hit. Then when it ended- abruptly and without warning- I’ll admit I was a bit shaken up. I felt like I’d been left out in the cold, just hoping the lifeboats (Schwab) will show up and take us all (Kell) to safety. In short, it went swimmingly. And no- I am still not talking about Brexit!

Overall I am optimistic for a satisfactorily grand finale for this series!

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana  half banana

Okey dokey- right now I’ve got to love you and leave you (that’s not a subliminal message I swear!) So if you still like and want to visit the UK, feel free to check out my last post and you can visit Britain in spirit (if not in reality 😉 ) And do let me know what you think in the comments!

31 thoughts on “A Gathering of Shadows…

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    I still need to read a Schwab book. I bought A Darker Shade of Magic and it’s sitting on my iPad. It’s on the to-do list. You made me laugh with the referendum joke. There’s that British humor I love. I can only imagine what it’s been like in London over the past few days. Nice review! I think I better crack open ADSOM. I keep buying new books. 🙈 I have a problem! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh they’re amazing!! I really hope you enjoy it cos I think it’s amazing!! haha thanks!! I always figure the only thing to do in every given situation is to laugh about it 😉 In all seriousness though, it’s actually remarkably quiet- I know the media likes to paint a picture of severe unrest (aka crazy nationalists rampaging about pro-remainers protesting) but it’s actually pretty quiet. Honestly, the media coverage is pretty skewed about it- but all’s quiet on the western front I can assure you! 😉 I’ve actually lived in Scotland during their independence referendum and I can’t tell you how different this is though- I suppose it’s cos the natural English response when things happen is to tut 😉 Thank you!! Ahh tell me about it!! I’m the exact same!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • rantandraveaboutbooks says:

        Thank you! I hope I do, too. I’ve been trying out a bunch of new authors, and she seems to be on everyone’s must read list. I’m the same way. I always laugh about tough situations, especially when that’s all you can do. That’s interesting. I’ve been following the news coverage for a while, and I was wondering since they didn’t show much. If that happened in the US, I’m pretty sure they’d end up burning the place down or killing each other. They’ve done worse things over sporting events so I can only imagine. Things are already getting out of hand here with the upcoming presidential election. To be honest, I’m a little worried about what’s going to happen here come November.

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          You’re welcome! She’s really worth trying out!
          Yeah- well, that’s cos not much is happening on the ground. The most active people have actually been the liberals signing petitions to reverse the democratic process (which in my opinion doesn’t make them very liberal, but whatever). I think the impression they’re trying to give is of a bunch racist fascists rampaging across the country- but the reason they can’t show any evidence of that is because that’s just not what’s happening. It bothers me that people are trying to paint that picture to be honest, because it is an attempt to delegitimise the very real debate people are trying to have about democracy and sovereignty :/ Oh really? As I said, the most Brits usually do is sit around and tut over a cup of tea. People do get into fights over sport though. Yeah- American politics is quite a bit more extreme- although Donald Trump made me laugh rocking up in Scotland to talk about how the Brits can take back their country now (the Scots are largely against it- so it was fairly comical) But then, he’s only funny to me cos he’s not a candidate to be in charge of my country- if I lived there, I’d probably be tearing my hair out (sorry if you’re a Trump supporter)

          Liked by 1 person

          • rantandraveaboutbooks says:

            It’s funny you mention Donald Trump. I was literally just complaining about him and his comment about the referendum. I can’t stand him. If he becomes our next president, I’m moving. I was hoping to move to England or Canada if that happened but now who knows. Donald Trump is like the Howard Stern of politics. The sad thing is he’s pulling all the narrowed-minded people out of the woodwork and giving them a voice. There’s a lot of hate going on over here with the upcoming election. It’s only going to get worse.

            Liked by 1 person

            • theorangutanlibrarian says:

              haha yeah- that comment just perplexed a lot of people and made the rest laugh. I don’t think even his supporters like him! (I like to think they’re just trying to be contrary by voting for him) I don’t know who Howard Stern is, but he’s such a unique nutcase, I’d say Donald Trump is the Donald Trump of politics- thank goodness there’s no one else like him and pity that he’s there at all! That sounds really bad :/

              Like

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! Well, I’d say it’s more of a complicated day, with complicated decisions. Hopefully it will all turn out for the best (or we’ll have sparked the apocalypse 😉 ) (sorry- I always make inappropriate jokes!)
      Ah yes, I liked reading more about Lila too! Me too!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Hahahaha, I loved your joke, made me laugh. The real world’s kind of sad right now, really :/
    Great review! I heard a bit about the slow beginning, but I am impatient anyways to get to this book, I just bought it -because I have no self-control whatsoever – and I can’t wait!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thanks!! I’m glad! Well it’s a complicated place. As I’ve been saying to a few people, hopefully it will all turn out for the best…. or we’ll have triggered the end of the world… 😉 (I’m sorry- I always turn everything into a joke!)
      Thank you so much! Oh I’m glad I’m not the only one that thought that cos all the reviews I saw were wholly positive. That said, it really was an incredible book- like all of Schwab’s work!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anne says:

    :’) Loved the puns. And the review as well of course ;). Aaand the banana rating! Is it just me, though, or does that last half of a banana look particularly excited? ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Donna says:

    Some good old British humor and a great review, what else could I ask for? (a UK visa to stay there forever if you really insist.) I keep reading great things about Schwab’s books so I better get moving and buy them!

    Like

  5. Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

    Brilliant review! I need to read all of V.E Schwab’s books now! Your jokes are sadly correct (if only they were just jokes) but humorous nonetheless 🙂 Good one!

    Like

  6. Kat Impossible says:

    I agree on everything you said! I loved the character development and their layering, also Schwab created a glorious world, but it was super slow in parts and I wish that those bits hadn’t bored me at times …

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Codie says:

    Ooomp! I just realized I already read and liked this! Awesome review. I’ve actually read other reviews about this books that’s similar to yours about the build-up, still can’t wait to read it but I’ll be mindful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

