Not Your Average Book Haul Post

As I said a couple of posts ago, *I have no impulse control*. So even though I’m on a book buying ban, this happened…

DSCN2481

Yeah- I bought a ton of books. Now, while I could turn this into a book haul post, I actually like I’m having a bit of a crisis of conscience for buying so many books just now when I have enough to be getting on with already. So instead, I want to discuss what it is about book bloggers and vloggers that makes us buy so many books. I short, why do we do it?!?

Honestly, I’m beginning to think there is something wrong with the way I buy books so often and how I justify it. Obviously there are the semi sensible reasons to buy books- like worrying I might not have the *right* book to read at the right time- I want to have as many options to hand as is humanly possible. Or even because they’re just *so pretty* (I mean just look at that beautiful pile of books! Even the used ones!). But too often, I’m too lazy for even that level of justification.

Most of the time, I just think to myself: “but they’re books- what could be wrong with buying a few books?” Even though I may have made a decision to stop buying books, because clearly I already have enough to read, I somehow still see it okay to buy more, because it’s books (seriously- that’s practically the extent of it). In fairness, a part of it is because I want to support the book industry- therefore I see it as almost a “noble cause” to buy books. But the other side to it is that it’s just ingrained in me that books = good so buying books = good. It really is as simple as that.

All (mostly) valid reasons- but I’m not really convinced that it fully explains or excuses why I have a habit of breaking book buying bans, flouting rules I have about reading my own books and generally never being satisfied with the number of books I physically have to read.

So I want to know what *you* think. Do you think those are good reasons to splurge on books? And are you like me? Do you also have a book buying problem? If you do, why do you think you do it? Wanna help me out???

56 thoughts on “Not Your Average Book Haul Post

  1. Emily | RoseRead says:

    I am like you! I once wrote a post (really long time ago now) about how I buy books way faster than I can read them because I love having all the possibility on my shelves. I have a little quote on my bookshelf that says “Having a huge number of books is not exactly about reading them all – it’s about having the possibility of reading them.” So true! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. deborahkehoe says:

    I don’t buy nearly as many as I used to, that’s because I discovered Overdrive, which is a Library app. However, my list on that app is HUGE, and my kindle is still full of about 50 unread books. Then, I always buy Kristen Ashley’s new book, and I just signed up for Uppercasebox.com. Ok, yes, I guess I do have a problem! I do like to have a large pile to choose from. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rachael says:

    I think it is hard not to buy books. But I rely heavily on libraries to keep me from buying books. I tell myself, if I can get it from the library, I don’t need to buy it. If the book isn’t available through either library system I use then I ask them to order it. If they can’t or won’t for some odd reason then I put it on my birthday/Christmas list. I also feel like it takes practice and staying away from bookstores and Amazon. Easier said than done, obviously. But I get a gold star sticker on my calendar if I don’t spend money.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Alice | Rapture in Books says:

    Yup, as a fellow book hoarder I fully support your decision to flout the book ban rules.

    I can’t ban myself from buying books it’d be like cutting off a hand. I bought 10 this weekend (and copious amounts of shoes) even though I’ve far too many and would never have the time to read them all.

    My co-worker claims I need to invent immortality to read everything I’ve got pending.

    Books are a healthy (not for the purse) obsession.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    I have serious shelf control issues. I will buy any book that’s on Kindle for $3.99 or less. It’s like a sickness. Of course, I also feel the need to buy books everyone is raving over to see if they’re worth all the hype. Kindle is a wonderful invention. But it’s also led to a ton of books that are left untouched because I forget about them. I’m estimating around 50. There’s about 50 more I still want to buy. 🙈 I’m so bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh I had to make it £2 or less- but I have the same issue!! I know right!!! Yup- I’m the same- I can’t even count the number of books I own that I have to read now (ok that’s an exaggeration, but it’s still a lot!)

      Like

  6. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Ohh great haul! I recently got Me Before You and I’m excited to read it. LOVED The Angel’s Game, hope you will, too! I get it, it’s SO hard to stop buying books, I wanted to stop but the other day I couldn’t resist and got AGOS at a cheap price…. haha, it’s so hard, it’s like they’re calling out to us!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Diana says:

    The Girl on the Train and Me Before,awesome buys:-) I am like you although I justify my purchases since I normally buy second-hand books and hence always get good deals. I know its not a good excuse though 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you! I’m really excited to read them 🙂 Ah yes, as you can see by the slightly battered state of a lot of the books here, they’re mostly second hand (except girl on a train and me before you funnily enough- although they were on sale on book depository) haha I know right! I reckon that cos I can get 5 books for a tenner, I’m somehow justified 😉

      Like

  8. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I have this problem, but thankfully I have it with trips to the library rather than book shop! If it weren’t for the library, I think I’d be broke by now and have no spare space in my house because everything would be covered in books 🙂
    Excellent haul, by the way. Anything by Diana Wynn Jones is fantastic. I really like the Rivers of London series and, of course, you can’t go wrong with Terry Pratchett 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ah yes, I do that too- but it doesn’t stop me!! That way I just have more and more piles of unread books! haha thanks I know right!! I love Pratchett and diana wynn jones and my friend’s been recommending me rivers of london for ages! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Mystery Date with a Book says:

    Oh I can totally relate to your “addiction”. I’ve been trying to control myself recently, because I don’t have a job atm so I REALLY shouldn’t be buying any more books… 😦
    I have one of those books (Unseen Academicals) sitting on my shelf for over a year and I still haven’t read it! Haha! But I will, soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I know the feeling! I have a job atm- so that’s how I justify it lol!
      Ah I’m excited to read it- although I have to admit I get most of my supply of pratchett books from my friend- so I have to admit buying this was basically to do with how *pretty* this edition looks (and my it does look pretty) haha so will I! (hopefully lol)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Holly says:

    Usually when I go to a bookstore I limit myself to one book. By doing this, I force myself to be really picky and only buy a book that I’ve been dying to read or that I think I’ll really love. It works most of the time haha 🙂 Hope this helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha yeah, that’s what I usually do in shops, but then I go online…. 😉 it’s not so much about the money- shockingly all of this was just £24- which if you’re not from the UK is a bargain! (see look at me justifying it again lol) It’s the lack of self control!!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. bookscapeblog says:

    Oh I so wish I had some insight to offer but I do exactly what you described, it’s a book, it contains knowledge (occasionally debatable), knowledge is priceless, I should buy it. If you think of it that way then no matter what the actual price, it’s got to be a bargain 😛
    Also I really want to read Rivers of London, please review when you finish it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Zezee says:

    I used to think it doesn’t hurt to buy books because they are things I can benefit from but they do hurt my pocket when I’m trying to save. I have a book buying problem as well that started when I really got into blogging and started watching book videos on YouTube. I don’t know why but seeing others talk about books make me so excited to get them and to get ones with pretty covers. But now I have so many books I haven’t yet read that I’m not too enthused to go to the bookstore anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I know right- I reckon it’s fine cos it broadens the mind too 😉 haha I feel like I should start a book buying anonymous club! Yeah, I know what you mean booktube and book blogging did that to me too. It completely has the effect on me too! But I also think it was just the more disposable income I had, the more books I bought! Ah I do know that feeling too :/

      Like

  13. kimmiegg says:

    I love buying books, but it always becomes so stressful for me when I have a large amount of unread books on my shelf. Like, I should be reading these right now, why do I need to go to work? I feel like the fact that books are knowledge is definitely my excuse. I normally stand there and think, books = knowledge, knowledge = power, it’s fine if I buy another one 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Codie says:

    When I was younger my mom was so happy I read that she’d buy me books and check-out books nonstop. In consequence, this habit sorta followed me to adult life….but just as you’ve justified it, so do I 😀 I’ll be in the store and go, “Well, I’ve wanted that book forever, so I should just get it,” or “Hmm, I haven’t bought any books in the last five hours so why not.” or ,the infamous, “It’s educational!” haha. Buying books are fun – you’ve got a very nice haul there.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Donna says:

    I am supposed to be on a ban. Results: 11 new books and 2 requested. Ooops! Often, when I feel guilt creeping in, I tell myself (and others!) “better be books than drugs!” It works. Plus, as you said, you must find the right books for the right moods! And there is always gonna be more books to be discovered. I am all for giving them love. It’s actually quite selfless to welcome a book in your home. You shelter it, you cuddle it, you give him your love, your laughs, your tears. There is NOTHING WRONG WITH BUYING BOOKS.

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha I know right!!! books are better than drugs lol! And who needs money when you can have books! Exactly- that’s the crucial issue- and it’s why I need my own personal library- otherwise what would I do when the library is closed or doesn’t have what I want? 😉 hahahaha I COMPLETELY AGREE!! We are being selfless and generous and basically good people for buying books- this is very life affirming- I’m glad I made this post lol!! Next time I feel guilty about book buying I’ll know where to go!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Escape Between The Covers says:

    For starters I just want to say that book haul is amazing!! I cannot blame you for breaking your book ban. I know how difficult it is to keep from buying. Before getting my job I could support my addiction. Now, I have over 220 books with about 10 more arriving this week. And my TBR list is a mile long!!! I don’t have were to even place them.
    I do TRY to go long periods without buying but never last. Instead I try to find them for a bargain and stay away from B&N. To me it can always be justified. Most of the time its like you said you enjoy have options. It feels amazing being able to sort through and choose what your next read will be.

    Like

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Aww thanks! I know right- it’s such an impossibility to keep a lid on it! I’m actually impressed with the number of books you manage to get though!! haha yeah- that’s the one thing that stops me bingeing as much- lack of space!!
      Haha I know the feeling right!! Ah yes- I think every book lover just dreams of having their own personal library- right? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Escape Between The Covers says:

        I just managed to male more space, I blink and POOF! No more space. I’m well on my way to having a library. I find plenty online for a bargain and there is this used book store I found found near me just last week.
        I see a huge dilemma for me in the future. Then again I feel all book lovers suffer the same issues.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

