6 Book Recommendations From 6 Months of Reading Non-Stop!

Happy Friday!!! (Anyone else feel like doing a happy dance now that the weekend is here?) After my Mid-Year Book Tag post last week, I realised there are a fair number of books I’ve enjoyed this year that I haven’t reviewed or mentioned on my blog yet. Now, some of those I still plan to review (*hides face with shame at how disorganised I am*) but for those I know I won’t go into depth about, I feel like it would be unfair to the books if I don’t give them a proper mention. Especially since I gave all of these books 4* or more. So here are 6 book recommendations for the 6 months of the year that have now been and gone!

'Me_Before_You'1- Me Before You– I finished this wittily written, tightly wound wonder of a book really recently. This book hits you right in the gut and is sure to either make you cry or wondering what is wrong with your tearducts if you don’t. I really recommend giving it a go.

 

Rating: 4/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

feet of clay2- Feet of Clay– let’s be honest, I don’t review or mention Terry Pratchett books often enough- and that is a terrible shame on me! But rest assured- I still love Pratchett and I’m looking to rectify that huge fault of mine by mentioning it right now. And just for the record- this one was up there as one of the best Pratchett books I’ve ever read! (so far!)

 

Rating 4½/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana  half banana

black maria3- Black Maria– here’s another author that I don’t mention off enough. I *adore* Diana Wynn Jones and I feel like I don’t mention often enough. I love the Chrestomanci series and so I’ve been reading more of that, but I particularly enjoyed this standalone!

 

Rating: 4/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

witch's daughter4- The Witch’s Daughter– I thoroughly enjoyed this fantastical take on historical fiction- and that’s coming from someone that doesn’t often like historical fiction. I can’t say it’s an especially challenging or trying read, but it was fun, quick and worth picking up. I’m definitely gonna continue with this series.

 

Rating: 4/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

five people you meet in heaven5- The Five People You Meet In Heaven– here’s another one I can happily recommend. Surprisingly for the subject matter, this is a very light read and didn’t give me too much trouble in the emotional department. That being said, it was well written and managed to be highly enjoyable and life affirming. Give it a try and let me know what you think- I’d be interested to see your reaction to it!

 

Rating: 4/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

darkest part of the forest6- The Darkest Part of the Forest– I’m going to finish off with this rather splendid standalone. This is an exquisitely woven, dark take on modern fairy tales! It is only the second book I’ve read by Holly Black, but I have to say, I’ve come away satisfied every time. I love her unique storytelling style and I find I really connect with her characters. After this one, I’m very keen to read more of her work.

 

Rating: 4/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

And that’s everything for now- have you read these books? Did you enjoy them? Do you fancy picking any of them up? Let me know in the comments!

33 thoughts on “6 Book Recommendations From 6 Months of Reading Non-Stop!

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    So true about Holly Black. She’s a strong storyteller with an intelligent writing style. Many reviewers seem to have expressed disappointment over The Darkest Part of the Forest, but I gave it 4/5 stars (bananas?) too. 🙂 After reading your recommendation I HAD to add The Five People You Meet in Heaven to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. daleydowning says:

    Holly Black and I have a love-hate relationship… I read Tithe several years ago, and really enjoyed it, but the rest of that series fell very flat for me… I tried Darkest Part…and just couldn’t get into it, which was a shame, because her particular storytelling flair is in fine form in that one.

    I’ve read nearly every single Discworld book (and every moment of that devotion was TOTALLY well spent!!!)… Been a while since Feet of Clay, though… Need to start re-reading Discworld (again – forever…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Well I have actually read a fair number of 5* books this year, but I’ve either reviewed them or will review them at some point (hopefully!)- if it was good enough to warrant 5* it deserves more than a quick mention! 😉

      Like

  3. Paul @ The Galaxial Word says:

    I really do have to get around to reading Me Before You before I go to see the movie (if I do go at all). My librarian has been trying to get the whole school to read The Five People You Meet In Heaven for such a long time – sounds really good 🙂 !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hiraethforthepages says:

    BOOKS ARE GOING ON MY TBR. I’ve only read two books out of this list and those two books I loved! Me Before You left me WRECKED and the Darkesf Part of the Forest was such a pleasant surprise! I can’t wait to check out all those other books!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Marian says:

    I read The Five People You Meet Heaven a while back and really enjoyed it too. It definitely one of those thinker books. Have you read Tuesday’s with Morrie by any chance? A different sort of book by him but still good nonetheless. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

