Brideshead (re)Visited

brideshead revisitedSo this is my first time in the quaintly English town of Brideshead- and I really enjoyed it!

This was a wonderful character based book, littered with a shiny cast of eclectic personalities. Best of all of them, without a doubt, was Sebastian. What a glorious specimen of a character! I mean, we’re introduced to him with his teddy bear called Aloysius- how could I not fall in love with him? He is the perfect symbol of doomed innocence and the hints of him being gay only made him more exquisitely tragic (admittedly, I committed the cardinal reading sin of assuming he was gay- even though that’s very much a disputed point- and by all accounts if I was holding myself to my regular standards I’d have to say he’s “probably” gay)

It was a reflective, reminiscent work centred around memory and lapses of time producing huge landslides of change. For the most part, it was just about people, with very little action- but with elements of family drama thrown in to create the perfect storm of tranquillity and tension beneath the surface. That tightly wound Englishness about their relationships with each other captures an aspect of restraint that still permeates English culture and, by identifying this, Waugh successfully brings the reader face to face with the past.

Overall, it was a perfect summer read and I would happily revisit this book in the future!

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana  half banana

That’s all for now- because this is what it looks like outside right now:

DSCN2497

Let me know in the comments- have you read this book? What did you think of it?

16 thoughts on “Brideshead (re)Visited

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaa I’m blissfully happy that it’s sunny lol! (We’ve had this convo before, but I can tell you our situations will be reversed when winter hits!) Ahh well it’s lovely- it was on my tbr and I found it on one of my mum’s bookshelves and decided to give it a go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. ljtreads says:

    I wouldn’t have said summer reading on this one, but now that you’ve mentioned it, it sort of does fit. Especially the scenes around Oxford, where Sebastian and Charles are just sort of lazing around and getting to know each other. Those were my favorite parts of the novel, too; Waugh creates a wonderful Eden before he inevitably drags it down.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Read Diverse Books says:

    I started reading you most recent post and then saw that you made the “cardinal sin” haha, so I had to check this one out. I actually have never even heard of this book x) But I think I’d do the same..I’d assume Sebastian was gay as well. As a gay man, I want more characters in literature to be gay, so if it’s even hinted at, I will make it headcannon. I don’t care if people think I’m assuming too much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Well.. saying that I committed the cardinal sin was a little misleading- cos it is a very popular theory that he’s gay- especially considering the fact that the author was. It’s more like I’m guilty of supreme laziness cos I couldn’t be bothered to put in any quotes to back that up! (even though the book and even the internet is awash with stuff I could have used) but shh don’t tell anyone 😉 but yeah- in general I can totally partake in a bit of making things headcannon- cos why not? 😉

      Like

  3. Codie says:

    It’s crazy that I’ve never heard of this before! Your review doesn’t give anything away, but is super intriguing – now I wanna read it 🙂 To be honest, it sounds like a ABC Family miniseries haha, should be great. Now added to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

