The Olympics Book Tag

olympics book tag.png

Okay- so I have been really off the boil lately- I blame the hot weather. I mean, how can anyone do anything when it’s so lovely and warm outside? All it makes me want to do every day is just lounge around and read! Seriously, if being lazy was a competition I’d win a gold medal. And in the spirit of my disorganisation, I have totally missed the boat on this one and the Olympics have come to an end… whoops. But instead of waiting four years to do this tag, I figured I’d just celebrate my complete failure and do it anyway! (*Woohoo fails!*)

Thanks so much to the fabulous Quirky Book Nerd for tagging me to do this one!

100m | A book you have raced through.

Wizards_first_rule

I’m gonna go with Wizard’s First Rule, which I read last week. Despite being an 800 page novel, I whizzed right through this one.

Michael Phelps | The best book you’ve ever read.

heart of darkness

Not gonna lie- I don’t follow the Olympics (yes, I’m choosing this moment to tell you that) so this reference is totally lost on me. And speaking of things I have no idea about… I haven’t a clue how to answer this question! Possibly Heart of Darkness– okay, I’m gonna go with Heart of Darkness. Final answer.

final answer.png

(Extra cool points if you got this reference!)

Synchronized Diving | A perfect couple.

carry on

Divert your eyes if you haven’t read Carry On: but I’ve got to go with Baz and Simon. They put the aww back in awesome (oh gosh- that pun made even me wince- I sincerely apologise)

Simone Biles | A short and sweet book.

to all the boys

No explanation needed!

Rugby 7s | A tough book you struggled to finish.

one hundred years of solitude

Easily 100 Years of Solitude- man that was a painful read- you can read why I thought so here.

Golf | A new genre outside of your comfort zone.

the martian

Ooh this is a fun one to answer- I’m recently interested in reading Sci fi- all thanks to the Martian by Andy Weir

Heptathlon | The best series.

northern lights

I’m gonna have to go with Northern Lights cos just thinking about it makes me tear up- but an honorary mention has to go to Harry Potter (as you may have guessed from my recent posts I’m feeling really nostalgic right now- actually, considering how subversive those posts are, I doubt I’ve given that impression…)

Gymnastics | A book with a lot of plot twists.

gone-girl-PB

Gonna have to steal the Quirky Book Nerd’s answer for this one- because it’s gotta be Gone Girl– could there be any other answer??

Swimming | A book that made you sob.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Order_of_the_Phoenix

Pretty easy feat (see my Heptathlon answer)- gonna be unoriginal and give Harry another mention, cos it’s got to be Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix– you know why!!! (or at least you should!)

Trampoline | A childhood favorite.

Hobbit_cover

Can I ever get through a tag without mentioning this at least once?

I tag- everybody! Let’s face it- it’s sunny and I’m lazy about tagging anyone in particular and I’m not sure how many people want to do this now the Olympics are over…

31 thoughts on “The Olympics Book Tag

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Haha I agree with you, that hot weather is making me want to stay outside all day long reading as well! 🙂 I really liked reading your answers, and I can’t remember if I told you so, but I had to read that Marquez book for my uni degree, and it was so, so hard to get through, really. I love that you picked To All The Boys I loved before, what a cute read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne says:

    I don’t give two shits about the Olympics either, but this tag is so cool, even though I don’t what half of it really means ;). Wizard’s First Rule…I flew through that one as well! Did ya like it?! I love it so much, I immediately bought about 14 other books in the series. And never read a single one of them yet :3.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Read Diverse Books says:

    The Olympics are finally over! How long did they last? It felt like an eternity, but it sure was fun following…some of the sports. 😛

    Anyway, you have so many good books on here! Heart of Darkness and I have a very complicated history, but mostly I love it. Reading and dissecting it was one of the highlights of my senior year of high school.
    Loved Gone Girl. Can’t wait to read Carry On!! And I would have gone with The Hobbit as well for a childhood favorite. Or maybe Narnia…or maybe a Wrinkle in Time. Aaghh. Actually, I don’t know which one I’d choose. 😦 I love them all equally.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahah I know right! I only like the tennis, so most of it held no interest for me!
      Well it’s just such a complicated book and there’s so much depth there, that it’s got to be technically the best book I’ve ever read. As you said, dissecting it is fun!
      Ahh Carry On just makes me sooo happy! You’ll love it (I hope!) hahaha I know- it’s hard right!

      Like

  4. Codie says:

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix….my eyes are tearing up right now. And yes, The Martian, imo, is a great transition book for people getting into sci-fi. It’s fun and adventurous without being too……. extreme (I like Philip K. Dick but his books are a bit much for a new comer), it’s also not too futuristic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

