Dream Thieves Stole My Heart…

dream thieves.jpgAnd by that I mean Ronan did. Because I am nothing if not predictable- and I will always, always fall for this kind of character. (Trying not to spoil anything, but failing, so minor spoiler warning– I have a thing for the tragic, gay characters- don’t know what it is, but they make my heart melt).

But aside from how much I adored Ronan, there were plenty of other things to admire here. The concept was seriously cool. I mean, it’s about people that steal things from dreams for crying out loud! I mentioned this to a friend of mine who doesn’t read YA and even they had to admit it sounded awesome. And that’s because it is. I rarely praise anything for being original- but I have to give Stiefvater kudos here- anyone that can come up with something new about dreamlore (yes, that’s a random thing I’m a fan of) has my vote. This concept created an edgy vibe that worked so well alongside discovering Ronan’s character.

But there were many other major pluses to this book- and I felt it was a definite improvement on the first one! I definitely preferred the antagonists- particularly the ominously named Grey Man- in this one. Unlike the first book, I got into this one straight away and flew through it. I also felt like I connected more with other characters and want to get to know them more. The twists and turns of the plot were ultimately so satisfying that I was left sated- and yet with a healthy appetite for more!

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana half banana

Right-y ho! Hope you all enjoyed that! Have you read this book? Did you enjoy it? Let me know in the comments!

23 thoughts on “Dream Thieves Stole My Heart…

  1. daleydowning says:

    Maggie Stiefvater has a very interesting writing style. All her characters and plots seem unique in some way, even if they belong to a trope. The Scorpio Races haunted me for a few days after finishing it. And I really enjoyed the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, especially Shiver. The Raven Boys hasn’t really caught me yet, but I have a feeling I’ll soon feel like trying that trilogy again. There’s just something about the concept (yeah, it is a thing!) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anushka H. says:

    Dream Thieves was definitely a huge improvement from The Raven Boys, in fact this book is so many people’s favorite book of the series. I too loved the concept of stealing things from dreams – it’s so cool and unlike anything else I’ve read. Also,Ronan was my favorite character too!! I think his characterization was by far the best in the series. And if you like the idea of him being gay, then you’re gonna LOVE certain things of Book 4😂 (sorry for the spoiler) But I totally screamed out in delight when those things happened in book 4 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Agreed- it was really a big step up! It really was an awesome concept! Ahh yes- *high five*- cos he’s the best character! ahhh so excited- I’m not gonna ask cos I don’t want any spoilers (don’t worry you didn’t give anything away- but there are things I hope for!) but I am so excited!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. enchantedreaders says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this book. I read it a few weeks ago and I really enjoyed it. What you said about Ronan is so true. I love him, and this book made us fall in love with him even more. The dream thing was fantastic… that idea was pretty unique and I enjoyed it so much. The Gray Man was an incredible character, and I cannot wait to read more about him. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kat Impossible says:

    YAY! I loved this one too and I totally get your fascination with Ronan, I am the same. But, I also have to say this, no one ever talks about Noah and he is my little buttercup and that one scene with Blue when they were alone, because Gansey and Adam were in DC and Ronan was off doing other stuff – priceless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

