The Miniaturist Was A Little Entertaining… But Not Much

miniaturist-978144725089001Well this is gonna be a mini review, because as I mentioned in my last post, I’m currently away.

Now let’s start with what I did like: the cover is exquisite, the writing is quite nice, and the setting is lovely. That’s a good list, but it’s rather short I’m afraid. Because I wasn’t overly impressed with this one.

It wasn’t a bad book, but all the main storylines didn’t involve the main character directly, so it felt like looking in from the outside, which detached the reader from the action. The story… was pretty much non-existent.

On top of that the characterisation is really poor. Characters are constantly having people tell the main character what she is- but there is no evidence to back that up by her actions. It’s a classic case of “show don’t tell”- except the people doing the telling are other characters. While this is slightly different, it has the same effect- and it’s no better.

I really didn’t get where all the hype came from (I suspect it was cos the cover was pretty)

Rating: 2½/5 bananas

half bananahalf banana half banana

Sorry for my teeny weeny scattering of puns- couldn’t come up with a bigger ones! 😉

29 thoughts on “The Miniaturist Was A Little Entertaining… But Not Much

  1. Captain's Quarters says:

    I agree with yer review matey. I thought the story started out promising, the miniatures were interesting, and the setting was lovely. I also liked the writing overall. But the mystery resolution was odd. The subplots involving Marin were unusual too. Altogether not what I was expecting and I could have done without.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne says:

    The setting (Dutch, d’oh) sounded like this was a book I wanted to read. And the freaking cover <3. But then I read the reviews and decided to pass on it. Which seems like a good idea if I read your review here now 😉

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

