Exploring Endless Worlds

endless-worldsHi all! So moving away from Italy- let’s take a trip into space and talk about the awesome collection of sci fi stories I read while I was away! As you may (or may not) know I’ve been trying to read a bit more sci fi lately- and this was an excellent place to start. I came across this collection through Matthew Wright, a blogging star, who wrote one of the stories! (you should check him out!!!)

Now in the interest of fairness, I think it’s best to rate the individual stories- so without further ado:

The Trees – E. R. Robin Dover

What a fabulous place to start!! It was super sinister and intriguing. It was full of cultish creeps and was tinged with philosophical discussions. It was oddly (and unsettlingly) easy to see parallels with reality.

Side note: I’m guessing the author really hates pecans.

4.5/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana half banana

The Unconnected – S. J. Bryant

I wasn’t sure about the second one at first, but when it got going my heart was racing. Loved the idea and the layers of reality, playing with the idea of “is this even real”? Very cool!

4/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

Carbon to Carbon – James Peters

I liked how this one was about finding humanity and recovering parts of yourself you might have thought were lost. There was a lot of good world-building here for such a short piece, but the plot was a little obvious and it didn’t get me as excited as some of the others.

3.5/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf banana half banana

Missionary – Matthew Wright

Missionary was a technically very well written, had a great story and a compelling main character. The best thing about it was the mystery behind it. I won’t spoil the ending- but I will say that it made me break my “no aliens” rule – because the use of extra-terrestrial activity gave rise to some brilliant questions about humanity.

4/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

Ravens Nest – Ken Mann

Okay, so here’s a heads up: calling something cliché doesn’t mean it’s not a cliché anymore.  And this one was as clichéd as they come. That said, it kept me entertained for all the graphic gory descriptions- perhaps because of them. (I’m guessing this is why people like the Saw movies?)

3/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf banana

The Awakening – K. C. May

So I really liked this one… until the end. The plot started off interestingly enough with a patient being treated for amnesia. It was going swimmingly well until they cured him of his schizophrenia (*watch out I’m gonna get ranty/spoilery*) which then made him kill himself. Now the idea that someone suffering from a mental illness is so defined by their condition that they wouldn’t be able to live with a cure was frustrating enough- without the doctor saying “If [he] wanted to keep his imaginary friend, who would it have harmed to let him keep it?” *Facepalm*- do I need to answer that? I know the author means well, but it just shows a phenomenal amount of naivety and a fundamental misunderstanding of mental illness. I bloody hate this kind of misguided moralising.

2/5 bananas

half bananahalf banana

Dusted Dreams – Peter Koevari

This last one was truly a rollercoaster ride! Again, I had to break my “no aliens” rule for this one- because Dusted Dreams was out of this world! I loved the main character and his voice was especially compelling- it was just a shame about the cliffhanger!

4/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

Overall I highly recommend this collection for sci fi lovers and people who are just dipping into the genre (boldly going where loads of other readers have gone before!!)

So will you be giving this a go? And what are your thoughts on sci fi in general?

8 thoughts on “Exploring Endless Worlds

  1. Nicola Alter says:

    I also love sci-fi and have been trying to read more of it! I’m usually not a fan of short stories though so I don’t tend to read anthologies… not sure why, as there are plenty of great short stories out there. I guess I just like longer novel and series-length immersion… but maybe I should give short stories a go again at some point and maybe I’ll change my mind!

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh I understand- I very rarely read short stories, but I’m glad I did, cos it was a really good taster!! I think it’s made me want to read short stories even more than sci fi (bit that might be because I just read a sci fi book I hated)

      Like

Leave a Reply

