The Serpent King Had Real Bite

(Yes, all my puns are hiss-terically bad)

serpent kingI just knew I was gonna love this one- and I was right! This book had me charmed from the get go. So thanks *a million* to Anne @ Inked Brownies for hosting her giveaway! (YES I WON THIS BOOK!!!)

This book was a masterful story, lyrically written and with just the right amount tugs at the heartstrings. As a narrative it was perfectly formed- and if anyone ever asks needs a definition of the word catharsis I will point to this book and say *read this*. Because, my goodness, this book released the perfect blend of emotions.

Centred on three characters, this is the story of growing up. When I look at it in retrospect, I realise that while they are all interconnected, each character tells a distinct coming-of-age narrative.

Dill’s is the conflict between hope and despair. His edgy side to the story tells of conquering your inner (and external) demons and living up to your potential. As a musician, he provided the rhythm for the book and creates the intense emotional tempo for the story.

Lydia’s narrative is about realising that what you are looking for is there all along. I think, more than any of the other characters, Lydia grew on me as the story progressed. I really didn’t think I would like Lydia. There was something about her that was a little entitled and she had this blogging persona that made me recoil a little. Initially she seems to want nothing but to escape and leave her friends behind. But… despite my initial hesitation, her heart was in the right place and I ended up loving her. In the end, my conflicted feelings about her made me like her all the more because she just felt so real.

Travis’s tale was about accepting the world for what it is- and then remaking it into something you prefer. At the start he is too big for the real world, but he begins to move into a world of his own making. I adored this character because he is larger than life and the biggest sweetie on the planet- I defy you not to fall in love with him too! His geekiness and obsession with fantasy makes him someone us bookworms can definitely relate to.

So if you like sensational, intense, character-driven stories then this is the story for you! It definitely ticked all the boxes for me.

Rating: 5/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

So- have you read this book? Do you plan to read it? And what was the last book that blew you away? Let me know in the comments! 

43 thoughts on “The Serpent King Had Real Bite

  1. Codie says:

    I love characters that my initial hatred (or strong dislike) blossoms into a deep affection and understanding. Never heard of this book (I don’t think), I’m looking forward to checking it out now. Super review 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Read Diverse Books says:

    Jeff Zentner is going to be at a book festival I’m going to this weekend!! I have heard fantastic things about this book and your review has convinced me to finally add The Serpent King to my TBR. If money allows, I may get a copy of it and have him sign it. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Anne says:

    I’m always willing to receive more brownies 😉 Instead of eating that chocolate cake yourself! *peers*
    So glad you liked the book though! 🙂 It’s seriously one of my favourites now as well. Fabulousssss review!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

