Anonymous Bookaholics Tag

Okay *deep breath*- I am the Orangutan Librarian and… I’m a bookaholic. Ah that felt so good to get that off my chest! But let’s be honest- who didn’t know that? If you’ve seen my last post with my ridiculous haul or seen any other splurges I’ve done in the past, you’ll know how ridiculous I am about collecting new books. Now you’d think with all those lovely new books I wouldn’t be eyeing up new ones- but unfortunately you would be wrong! That’s why I really need this tag!! (maybe it will guilt-trip me into changing my ways!)

Thank you so much to Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books for tagging me to do this- if you haven’t checked out her blog it really is a *must read* for all bookaholics- it’s filled with amazing rants and discussions all about books.

Arighty then- let’s get to it:

What do you like about buying new books?

EVERYTHING!! Having something new to read, the thrill of starting a new story, how pretty the cover is, the new-book smell (don’t tell me you’ve never smelt a book!), just the feel of it in general… (Boy this isn’t helping me with my attempt to keep my book buying habits under wraps!)

How often do you buy new books?

So I have a few rules to try and keep my *crazy habits* under control. Usually this involves setting a spending limit for the month. But I will always buy kindle books if they are £1.99 or less. (Sometimes I stretch that to £2.99) (Okay a lot of the time)

Bookstore or online book shopping – Which do you prefer?

Both! I like to look for deals- especially in independent places or in second hand book shops. But mostly I get a lot of my books second hand online. Or in the kindle store. Or discounted on Book Depository. Or anywhere really!

Do you have a favourite bookshop?

ALL OF THEM!!! If it’s a shop that sells books then it’s automatically my favourite place to be (apart from the library or my bed)

Do you pre-order books?

Sometimes- but not often- they tend to be more expensive that way.

Do you have a monthly book buying limit?

I try to! (How successful I am at keeping to it is another matter)

Book buying bans – Are they something for you?

Well that depends if you mean are they something I should be doing or something that works? Because I definitely try to do them, but they definitely don’t work!

How big is your wishlist?

Huge!!!

Which three books from your wishlist do you wish to own NOW?

Well… since you asked, I’m itching to get these:

 

bookaholics

(yes even with a massive haul I’m capable of looking at other books- I’m so unfaithful!)

Okay- so the trend here seems to be that I’m not so good at keeping my spending habits under wraps! Arghh- I’m gonna need to tag some people to share the guilt I’m feeling right now! I tag:

Codie

Zezee

My Library Card Wore Out

La Book Dreamer

A Universe For Books

Angies Book Blog

Rebecca @ Books and messy buns

Bitches with books

Pages Unbound

Anne @ Inked Brownies

Eve messenger

River Moose Reads

And anyone else that wants to share their deepest, darkest book buying secrets! Right now I really need you to commiserate with me in the comments. What are your most shameful book buying habits?

26 thoughts on “Anonymous Bookaholics Tag

  1. Zezee says:

    Haha! Good you’re able to keep your spending habits under wraps. I always go overboard.
    Btw, I also love the scent of books and am glad that my room now smells like a bookstore, which could also mean I have too many books (but let’s not focus on that).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna says:

    I love how you LOVE everything and everywhere as long as there are books 😀 So much love in this tag!! Like you, I can’t turn down a 1,99 deal, but I don’t go over $3 for a kindle, I prefer to wait for the paperback if I have to pay more than that.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Thanks for the lovely shoutout! 🙂 My pingbacks still aren’t working when linked to my about page, so I’m a little behind. 😂 Love your answers! Bookstores- you like all of them. Lol I always say I’m going to stop buying books for one month and that never happens. Bookworm problems, right? 😂🙈📚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

