Empire of Storms Was A Tempestuous Read

*Spoiler free for this book- though may be spoilery for series as a whole!*

empire of stormsHello all! In case you don’t already know, I am a *massive* Throne of Glass fan. Naturally I had to read this as soon as possible- and naturally this is going to be a ridiculously gushy post (look away now if you’re not a fan of the series!) So let’s get to the review, shall we?

As I’ve come to expect from Maas, this book was a complete rollercoaster ride. It made me breathless with excitement. Part of that was from the pure thrill of the wickedly woven, complex plot; part of that was from how it made my emotions squirm and scrambled my brain with its sheer awesomeness. But like always, the thing that got to me the most was how much the characters have developed.

I already adore the characters- but every book I just get more and more invested in them. Manon’s story just keeps getting better and better. My beautiful Dorian’s gone a little dark- and I like it. And even Lorcan has become one of my favourites! (Seriously- Maas knows how to work her magic to make me like just about anyone!) A small bonus for me (although a lot of people won’t like me for saying it) was that my least favourite character- Chaol- was not in it. The only downside to that was that there had to be a character criticising Aelin- and for some reason that task had to fall to the adorable Aedion. This was a little annoying, to be honest, because I could see why Maas felt like she needed someone to fill that role, but it felt a little out of character for Aedion, who hero-worshipped Aelin in the last two books, to be the one to do it.

In terms of plot, this one felt a bit like an extended subplot to the main finale. Not that that’s a bad thing- stories advance slowly in all epics and sometimes the subplot can be the most entertaining bit. But one thing I did see coming was the massive cliff-hanger. My friend and I have a theory that all the Throne of Glass books go in pairs- which means there’s a cliff-hanger between books 1 & 2, 3 & 4 and now 5 & 6. And boy was I right- because I am massively stressed out by how it ended.  Honestly- I don’t know how I’m going to make it a year before the last one comes out- what am I gonna do?!?

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana half banana

Alright I think it’s safe to say I am going to have a massive book hangover…. So tell me in the comments how am I going to last a year waiting for the last one to come out? Any tips? (Aside from curling up in a ball and crying)

And are any of you a fan of this series or have read this one? Commiserate with me in the comments!

20 thoughts on “Empire of Storms Was A Tempestuous Read

  1. Nicola Alter says:

    Thanks for making this spoiler free! I haven’t read this one yet (want to finish the Red Rising series first!) but I’m really looking forward to it – especially after reading your review 🙂 Not looking forward to being left at a massive cliffhanger though… but I guess I’ll just have to deal with it and distract myself with all the other series I haven’t finished yet (e.g. The Lunar Chronicles!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh yes, good decision- the red rising series needs to be binged in one go!! I’m glad- I enjoyed this one- although the cliff hanger is killing me!! Haha yes I’m planning to do the same!! I have a few series I can finish in the next year to take my mind off how desperately I want to know how this ends!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket says:

    I haven’t touched this series because two people I trust gave me completely opposite reviews. I have throne of glass but i’m too nervous! Glad you enjoyed this though. All the gushing makes me curiouser and curiouser.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      That’s totally fair- a lot of people whose opinion I trust don’t like this, but it really hits me on an emotional level and I love the characters, so I don’t care. It’s a bit like how I feel about mortal instruments- it may not be a “great” book, but I love it all the same! Hopefully you’ll like it when you give it a go- although i have to say I wasn’t hugely fond of the first one, though i enjoyed it- it’s one of those series that gets better as it goes along!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Codie says:

    Can’t read it because I’m only on book 2, but I’m sure it’s good h 🙂 Book 1 was okay, not great, not terrible, but I’m excited to complete the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Donna says:

    I’m reading the series slowly enough to avoid having to wait too long 😀 Except for Aelin, it’s entertaining enough for me to keep going back, but no Chaol? I see you’re on Dorian’s side! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

