Coincidentally, I Read Blue Lily, Lily Blue

blue-lily-lily-blueHiya! So this will be a relatively short post cos I’ve been a bit under the weather the last couple of days. BUT since I’ve been meaning to post this review for a while, I figured I could drag myself out of bed for five minutes… (Okay- let’s be honest- this blogging thing is a dangerous addiction!)

Now I don’t suppose it was such a coincidence that I enjoyed this, all things considered. I mean, it’s no secret that I’m into this slightly creepy paranormal series. And as the third book in the series, the plot has been building quite nicely. Yet, unfortunately, given how much I loved the last one (feel free to read my gushy review here), I have to admit that I wasn’t quite as blown away as with the last one.

There were some flaws that (like many books in the middle of the series) it did at times feel a little bit like filler. And, while Piper made a good villain, Greenmantle was just not especially scary.

That said, I really liked how this one develops Blue’s powers. And I adored watching Adam and Ronan team up. And like the rest of the series it had a good ominous feel and the plot twists and turns were really clever!

So while it wasn’t as good as the last one, I reckon it deserves a solid:

4/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

So I have to end with a question to everyone that’s read this: was “coincidence” really a thing in this series? Because it totally flew over my head, but my sister insists they were always saying it. So can you settle this dispute? Let me know in the comments who is right!!

41 thoughts on “Coincidentally, I Read Blue Lily, Lily Blue

  1. confabler says:

    Unfortunately I haven’t read the series yet, so I have nothing useful to say in that regard.
    But I dropped in to say, get well soon. And don’t forget to drink lots of water. It cures everything.

    Like

  2. Donna says:

    Feel better soon! Eat bananas and hide under warm covers! 😘 I was so disappointed with The Dream Thieves that it would be difficult for Lily Blue to do worse, haha! I’m hoping to read it in November *fingers crossed*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Codie says:

    I hope you feel better soon! I’ve never read this series, or anything by Maggie Stiefvater (…me hoping I spelled that right), but I haven’t read any good paranormal fiction in a while, so maybe I’ll check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anne says:

    What a coincidence that we were both feeling under the weather 😉 (*slaps thigh*). 5 minutes to write this post, though? Girl, this would’ve taken me 40 minutes, at LEAST! xD Bravo!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LizScanlon says:

    This series…. I still don’t know whether to read this or not… I’ve read good and bad reviews for the past … pfff… while!… and I just can’t make up my mind! 😀 Guess I better just try and see where it goes! 😀
    Hope you’re feeling better!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

