Royally Pleased With The Raven King

*Warning! There be spoilers afoot!*

raven-kingWell Halloween must be approaching cos I feel like a bit of a horror show. I swear my head feels like it’s been microwaved and I’m a phlegm monster! (now if that image is not scary I don’t know what is) So if I sound a bit lacklustre or addled in this post, don’t blame the book– as the title suggests I was pretty darn happy with how it ended!

Now I was incredible impatient for this one- so naturally I read this back to back with Blue Lily, Lily Blue! Because of that it definitely felt like one long book. In many ways, that was a good thing, as it allowed me to settle the mystery of where this story was going once and for all! And *spoiler alert*– it had a happy ending!!! My months of stressing over what would become of Gansey and the whole crew were finally put to rest! I definitely felt a gasp of relief for it to just be finished.

But on the flipside of that, I did feel like the story dragged a little. Some of the story and, dare I say it, felt a bit like filler. And the writing, which has always been a little longwinded, was a little sluggish. At the same time, however, it felt like Stiefvater had saved up a lot of the plot for the finale. The book simultaneously managed to make me feel impatient for it to end and like a huge amount of the plot was crammed into the last book.

For all my whinging- I was really pleased with how it ended. And how could I not be? It gave me everything I ultimately wanted. MOST IMPORTANTLY it gave me the Ronan and Adam moment I had been waiting for!! (eek!!!) Let’s just all bask in how wonderful that is for a moment!

celebration gif.gif

Okay, now we are done basking (for the time being) let’s talk about what else I enjoyed about this book. Namely that this was Gansey’s story. I have adored his character from the beginning and have truly felt invested in his quest for the Raven King. I was delighted to witness the culmination of his work (regardless how satisfied he was with that) and the discovery of his own inner kingliness.

It was also great to see their feelings take centre stage for this one- it really felt like the perfect ending for what is effectively a coming of age story. And there was also Stiefvater’s usual ingeniousness in the *big reveal* that Cabeswater was all a dream! Even the villains were taken to a whole other level. While Piper was already scarily crazy, I have to say she was even freakier attached to a demon.

But one there was one last thing in the book that I didn’t like- and that was the cut to the end. Aka one minute we’re trying to figure out if Gansey’s gonna come back, then Blue says “Wake up” and… the next chapter starts with a scene between Adam and his father. Way to leave us hanging! Because let’s be honest no one would like it if-

Rating 4/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

So what did you think of the finale to the Raven Cycle? Satisfied? Dissatisfied? Let me know in the comments section!

And big shout out goes to the incredible Jill @rantsandravesaboutbooks – I won amazon vouchers from her a while ago and this book was part of what I bought with it 🙂

21 thoughts on “Royally Pleased With The Raven King

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Thanks for the lovely shoutout! ❤️ I’m so glad you bought a book. Yay! Drew bought a video game. Haha! 🙂 Wonderful review! I still haven’t finished The Raven Boys. 😂 I tried about 4 times and I couldn’t connect at all. Maybe someday I’ll find time to try it out again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

