Why do I continue series I hate?

Okay, so the Halloween spirit is definitely starting to get to me, because I just realised something today that terrified me: it’s already the end of October!!!

say-what

Wanna know something else that scares me? The way I keep going back to series I already hate. It’s like I’m possessed or something.

soldier-julie-kagawaRecently I’ve been eyeing Soldier (the third in the Talon series)- feeling like it’s calling out to me saying “buy me, buy me!”– despite the fact that I’ve never liked this series! I have held firm… so far. But there are so many series I have continued even though I despised the direction they took/didn’t like them from the start. I figure there must be some reason why I keep doing this to myself. I’ll have to dig deep and take this on a case by case basis:

Addiction- pure and simple!

selection

Okay, okay, I’ll admit that the Selection series had one good thing going for it- and that was how addictive it was!!

Misplaced loyalty

 

Poison-Study-new-UK

So Snyder is one of those authors I refuse to give up on. I adored Poison Study… but it’s been downhill from there. Even if I’ve never enjoyed another of her books (and I’ve read 7)

The bundle buy

essense

Once I’ve bought a book, I *have to* read it. So when I buybooks in a bundle I feel duty bound to read the whole series- regardless of whether I enjoyed them. Even if they were a stereotypically dumb purchase like the Essence series was the perfect example of a dumb purchase- which I literally bought cos they were pretty and cheap!! So I blame booksellers! Which leads me to…

It’s other people’s fault!

matched

Yup- sometimes it’s just not my fault at all. Like I said before, sometimes the book sellers. And sometimes- dare I say it– it’s the fault of the friend that recommended it. I’m just trying to give said friend the benefit of the doubt by reading all of them… (I still have no idea why Matched was recommended to me though)

And sometimes there are no excuses…

hushhush

Yeah, there’s no excuse for this one. But I feel like I’ve been punished enough. Nothing could ever erase this writing:

“You smell good, too,” said Patch

“It’s called a shower… Soap. Shampoo. Hot water.”

“Naked. I know the drill.”

Yeuch!!! Is this supposed to be sexy?!? 

Anyway that casual psychoanalysis didn’t reveal any childhood trauma of not finishing a good series or any other creepy skeletons in the closet- maybe next time!

How about you? Do you have this same scary habit of continuing series you hate? It can’t just be me!! Don’t leave me hanging!

79 thoughts on “Why do I continue series I hate?

  1. Anna says:

    That is pretty much why I finished the first three books in the Selection series too! They were fast, quick, addictive reads. So far I’ve managed to keep away from the new books… Ugh, I can’t get caught up in that again, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff says:

    You are definitely NOT alone. I stuck with the Selection series to the bitter end. I also read all the Twilight books even though by the end of the 2nd book I had started hating all the characters. I can’t speak for everyone, but I think what happens to me in these cases is that I really loved the first book(s) and I just keep desperately hoping that each subsequent book will recapture that initial magic. I think the absolute worst case of this was my addiction to Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake books. The early books were everything you could possibly want in an urban fantasy series. At some point though they just took a turn into the bizarre, but I kept reading, hoping the author would go back to the high quality of writing that captivated me in the beginning. I finally gave up about five years ago😕

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh thank you!!! Ahh yes I did the same with the selection. I progressively hated twilight more and more. I initially liked parts of the first one, but felt the same way about the second one! Ahh yes that’s so true- it’s usually cos the first one is more likeable or had some redeeming features (in my experience) ahh yes that’s happened to book series I’ve liked too- the poison study example is one of those for me. :/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Kevin Hart pic! 🙌 He’s from my hometown, Philadelphia. 🙂 I wanted to read Hush Hush a while back until I read all the horrible reviews. That dialogue is awful. Was that an invite for a shower? Lol So damn weird. 😂 Glad I skipped over that series. I raced through The Selection series even though I’d love to write the rantiest rant ever about that series. America was so annoying. I hated that her name was America for that reason. 😩 I personally don’t finish a series I did not like. If the first book doesn’t work, I can’t see the point in spending money on the rest. Just say no to the series! 👻 I did get addicted to The Selection. I’m publicly admitting that. Oh the shame! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Hahaha glad you like it!! Oh avoid it at all costs!!! The dialogue is truly awful the whole easy through- that’s just a sample. Would you believe it but it’s supposed to be him being sexy and coming onto her. It just comes across as super seedy. And would you believe it, but that live was considered so good that the author repeats it in all three books!! Haha yes America was awful! (Haha agree, one of the worst things is that it makes me say sentences like that and I have to clarify I mean the the character not the country) i really really respect that- i wish I had that self control!! (In very rare instances like fifty shades) hahaha I feel the same- let’s all feel ashamed together 😉

      Like

  4. Zezee says:

    My scary habit is not completing series. I have a tendency to stop if I don’t like the story’s direction or if I like it but anxious of how it could change. I do tend to hold on to books I don’t like though.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Anushka H. says:

    I remember when I used to be like this 😂 I understand all your reasons for continuing bad series, but I think it’ll be easier for you to DNF series once you give up on one. I used to hate DNFing series until I DNFed Bloodlines, by Richelle Mead. Once I had given up on that, and understood that it really wasn’t a big deal, I think it became much easier for me to give up series from then on.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Matthew Wright says:

    I got to the end of Book 1 of a sci fi trilogy earlier this year and declined to buy the rest. The first book was well enough written but the author’s treatment of the main character was so awful and created such a bad vibe for me as a reading experience that I didn’t want to inflict more of it on myself. Usually I will persist with a series even if some of the books in it are a bit variable, but it has to appeal generally.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. LizScanlon says:

    hahahaha 😀 brilliant… I have a couple of series like that… they have too many books involved and even though I know they’re crap, I keep reading… for example.. The Vampire Diaries books… there was 13 books in the series in the end and I should have quit the whole thing since book 6… then there’s The Ghost Bird Series by CL Stone… there’s 20 books in the series and it’s currently up to book 11ish I think… I feel like quitting but it’s like an enigma… just need to keep going…

    I have 2 books from the Hush Hush series… I’m not reading that anymore 😀 Maybe…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    If I’ve bought the books, then I feel like I need to finish them too haha That’s why now I usually only buy the first book to see if I like it before I grab the others. The only exception is if the books are on sale for Kindle or I find them at a thrift/used store for really cheap. But then that’s the bookseller’s fault like you said 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I know right!!! That’s what I usually do- but I’m the exact same when they’re all on sale- it’s just when I see them all temptingly for under £3… well I can’t resist! It’s a sickness really! hahah yes- let’s blame the bookseller!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  9. daleydowning says:

    You are so not alone! I kept pushing through the rest of Twilight, the rest of The Mortal Instruments, the rest of The Raven Cycle (sorry, fans). I think when you start a series, you feel really bad not finishing it if you felt really attached to an earlier book. For example, I loved City of Bones, laughed out loud, got all teary-eyed at the end and went, “But they CAN’T be brother and sister! They’d be PERFECT together!” And I had to know what happened to Clary and Jace and everybody else. But by book 4, I was bored. The author seemed bored. That’s a big thing for me – when it’s clear the author is done writing this series, the publisher/agent/writer needs to just BACK OFF and move on to something else.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha yes I was the same with twilight and I’m still reading mortal instruments even though I’m a little over it. And so many people feel that way about the raven cycle- so you’re off the hook! Yeah definitely! I even liked parts of the first twilight book (*shock horror*)- but the stupid ending to the first book really put me off- it was clear they just wanted to drag it out for a series for no reason. And I agree- Mortal Instruments definitely went downhill after book 3. Yeah exactly!! And if a book can be done in one (like Twilight) then it should be!!

      Like

  10. MyBookJacket says:

    Oh wow! I don’t think I have. But that’s because when I’m reading something I don’t like I get really toxic and whiny and rude and my family takes the book away and tells me to give it up. I’d probably give it up myself but The Magicians was on that I wanted to continue but a good glare from the parent stopped me. I’m glad I’ve skipped buying some of these though, was so tempted by the Matched covers!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Zainab Sheikh says:

    I agree with you. The Selection has no good thing about it except the fact that it’s addicting and entertaining. And well, I read the whole series because of these two reasons.
    I abandoned Matched series. I honestly don’t care about what happens with the characters or anything. I just don’t care..
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Bookwraiths says:

    I do this all the time. Buy crap I have no intention of reading. Why? I’ve decided I’m just a book hoarder. Even when I hate a book I do not want to get rid of it. My mind telling me “One day you might like it. Keep it til then.” By this point my collection of these kind of books is huge! I actually did a blog post a few months ago with the worst examples of this disease: series I keep buying but never read.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Donna says:

    Hahahaha, so you love torturing yourself, eh? OMG that extract! Smell is involved, help! What’s wrong with authors????
    I have never kept up with a series I hate! I need to like it at least a bit to keep going, or I feel I’m wasting time that could be used for a story I really care about. I thought I hated Throne of Glass but it’s too fun to hate, haha!
    Why are you doing this to yourself??

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha yes I do!! hahaha I know right!!! I don’t know!!! Arghhhhh!!!!
      That’s brilliant- I’m so jealous (of my own weakness- but whatever) hahaha well I’m glad you continued it then! I guess it’s the crazy optimist in me that thinks “this has to get better!!! I mean it can’t get worse!!”- it’s really dumb- I need to stop doing it!!!

      Like

  14. Lois says:

    haha I remember laughing my head off at that moment in Hush, Hush. How could that ever be seen as sexy is beyond me. I’ve developed a habit of avoiding series I know will infuriate me. It’s why I’ve not read The Throne of Glass series. Better to be safe than sorry and that way I don’t get tempted back into their hold. 😉

    Like

  15. peculiarb says:

    You aren’t alone in this! Sometimes I hang on to to series too either because I’m hoping they’ll get better or out of morbid curiosity. Right now I’m pretty much committed to finished Houck’s Reawakened series even though its probably up there in the Top 5 Worst Books I’ve Ever Read. Generally I’m starting to be a bit more picky with my series, but I can’t shake off this habit of not being satisfied unless the series is complete.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Niraja @ Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them says:

    I also usually finish a series that I start, even if I don’t like it much. I did enjoy the Selection series (books 1-3, at least) even though it was poorly written because, like you said, it was so addictive! I haven’t read the Hush, Hush trilogy yet, and after reading that quote you included, I don’t think I’ll be starting it anytime soon… Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I know right- it’s so hard to stop!!! I did quite like the first one cos it was addictive and fun- but then, after that, the series just got awful! And I never liked America’s character! haha seriously- avoid it at all costs!! That series was terrible! Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. NeverSeenANevergreen says:

    The Selection for me too! The Doon series was/is basically me wanting to know what happened next but I think I’m over it now. Actually there are a good handful of series that started off good or maybe just ‘meh’ but had enough there that I just needed to see what happened next. Luckily I’m starting to get over that now and turn to books I’m more certain to like. Snyder’s works are a favourite of mine, so I’m actually curious what your thoughts are on the other 7 books you have read of hers! Though I do agree that after poison study things were not as good but the her most recent release, night study has me doing grabby hands for the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh yes I get that- sometimes you just *need to know*. Haha well that’s an interesting question- I loved poison study and gave it five stars, was disappointed with the direction she took in the sequel making it more if a generic fantasy (I gave it 3*), then I detested the last one in that set. I also felt like shadow study spent the whole book building up to something obvious. I do agree that night study was a step in a more positive direction for the series. And as for the other 3 books, that was the touch of power series, and it was godawful. (Hated the characters, the plot and it felt super generic) haha sorry for the long winded rant!

      Liked by 1 person

      • NeverSeenANevergreen says:

        I like long-winded rants!!! I have yet to read touch of power but it is on my list. The thing I find with Snyder that has me eye-rolling a lot is the number of times she uses kidnapping as a plot device in her novels. Everyone of the 8 of her books I have read has at least one instance of that and it is really …grating? is the only word I’m coming up with. Most of the time it occurs more then once. So, so, so annoying. However I seem to be forgiving with her novels, not too sure why since every ‘plot twist’ she does I can predict since she’s so heavy handed with her foreshadowing…

        Now you have me really curious what your favourite book is, so I can see if I have read it and thought similar things about it!

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Krysta says:

    Sometimes I keep reading series because I want to give the author the benefit of the doubt. Maybe if I read three books a sudden moment of illumination will reveal that all this wasn’t as terrible as I thought!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Anne says:

    Now this is a good question! I do the exact same thing: self-torture because of daddy issues would be a nice psycho-analysis, but alas, I can’t put my finger on it either :D.

    I know for an example that the Sookie Stackhouse series is only going to get worse. And yet still, I’m at book 7 or so and still strongly intending to finish the damn series! 😀 Your example of reading 7 books while not enjoying the last 6 of it basically is even worse, though, hahahah. Maybe it’s just the fear of leaving things unfinished. Just like the other week when

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

