Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Was Picture Perfect

MissPeregrineCover (1).jpgNow, you may or may not have noticed from the type of books I review on here, I don’t really go for graphic novels or books centred around pictures all too often- but after reading this I’ve realised I need to change that- pronto!

With the images and plot working in tandem, I found Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children both compelling and atmospheric. Yet this isn’t a traditional graphic novel, with the pictures being a response to the story, but, even more interestingly, the photos actually dictated the direction of the narrative! It’s certainly an unusual way to tell a story- and I didn’t expect to like it all that much- but this book surprised me in so many ways!

One of the most surprising aspects of the book was that it deals with some very deep and mature themes. On the one hand it is a story about being different- cleverly doubling the narrative of the Holocaust with an analogy for the Holocaust- so that the story of what it is like to be an outsider is told twice over. On another level, it is about exploring one’s own psyche and reconciling with the dark and dangerous parts of one’s own mind. Through the prism of the narrator’s eyes we see and what it is like to doubt your own sanity.

It’s pretty genius stuff and for that alone I would have been impressed with the book. But what really sold me on was how flawlessly this sum of parts came together. With the help of an eclectic cast of characters and his brilliantly organised visuals, Riggs really did create the picture perfect story.

Rating: 5/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

I can’t wait to read the next one- and thanks to the lovely Fernanda over at Mystery Date With A Book I won’t have to wait long- here’s the copy of Hollow City I won in her giveaway:

hollow-city

So I am well aware that this book is about as divisive as Marmite is in Britain- you either love it or hate it! For that reason I’d like a show of hands -*figuratively speaking*- what did you think of this book? Let me know in the comments!

35 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Was Picture Perfect

  1. Maddie A. says:

    I’m so glad you love this book! I’ve had this book for a looong time but I still haven’t read it yet because I wasn’t sure if I’d like it, and there are way too many other books I want to read. I’m definitely going to read it, though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna says:

    So happy you loved it! I have only read okay or bad reviews so I was a bit worried, especially as I’ll be reading it in November! I was stunned by the details and the pictures of the book, I admit I did not know much about it before I got it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I’m happy to hear that you loved this book! 🙂 I have already read the whole trilogy and really enjoyed it as well. I just love the whole concept and the way it’s atmospheric. Hollow City is my favourite out of the three, so I hope you end up loving that one as much as I did! Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. luvtoread says:

    Great review 🙂 You already know that I loved the book! I loved how history, and the photos, and the plot all tied together. I was totally not expecting the book to have as much depth as it had. A very pleasant surprise!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LizScanlon says:

    i have only read the not so reat reviews for the book so to read your 5 star praise with some interesting facts about the read, i am now on the fence. i never really felt compelled to read this series, but… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Paperback Princess says:

    I loved it. Have yet to read the other two. They are sitting on my shelf. By the amount of likes on my IG account, I’d say this series is a huge hit. If I’m not mistaken, Ransom Riggs originally proposed this book as just pictures, but the publisher/editor told him to write a story to go with the pics.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. hiraethforthepages says:

    So glad that you enjoyed this one! I’ve been meaning to pick it up, especially after hearing about the release of the movie but I still haven’t had the chance to! Really hope you enjoy the rest of the series, I can’t wait to pick this one up now! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fleur @ Frankly Books says:

    I’m happy you enjoyed this! Personally I wasn’t as big of a fan as I could have been, but I adored the movie. Perhaps because it seemed a little more complete in the aspect that it didn’t have a cliffhanger? I guess the pictures in the book, also kind of contrasted with what I was imagining. Might have thrown me off a little bit.

    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just posted SISTERS & CAKE | THE SIREN BY KEIRA CASS

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Anne says:

    Awesome! 😀 You know how I feel about the book (=meh ) but I can only applaud your enthusiasm for it! Plus, you bring up some valid points :). I’m just hoping I’ll like Hollow City better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

