My Top 5 Not-All-That-Scary Spooky Reads

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! Hope you’re all having fun! Now I love getting in the spirit of Halloween- it’s a great treat to let my hair down and eat sweets, but, I’ll be totally honest, I can’t do scary things!! I’m into really tame things- like Disney and junk food and basically acting like a child. I mean, this is me tonight- strategically hiding from all the dead that have come out to play:

scaredy-cat

So this year I thought I’d share a list of books that get me in the mood for Halloween, without actually keeping me up at night wondering *are the monsters coming to get me!*- aka this is my orangutan-approved-kid-approved “spooky” book list:

The Raven Cycle

raven boys

This counts doesn’t it?! I mean, it’s dark and there are spooky moments. It’s got an atmospheric feel and it might even get your heart rate up. Plus- paranormal stuff totally counts as scary- right? Right?! (I’m not sure I’m off to the brightest start with this one- ah well!)

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

miss-peregrine

I just wrote a rave review of this one cos it was scarily good. I doubt you’ll be hiding under the bed after reading it, but the creatures in it are imaginatively terrifying and the pictures freaky (if you are like me and are scared of your own shadow, that is)

A Monster Calls

a_monster_calls

So I read this one recently and I have to say that it is one of the scariest books on my list- in that it is terrifyingly emotional. It will wrench at your heartstrings and scar you for life. And if having your heart broken doesn’t scare you, nothing will.

Shadow of the Wind

shadow of the wind

Well I won’t say “scary” as such for this one, but it definitely has a mysterious and creepy feel- it will get under your skin for sure! Plus mystery books are a great cop out for people that don’t want to read scary books over Halloween! (I’m actually reading the second one tonight!)

The Witches

thewitches

I don’t know about you- but this terrified me as a child!! Just thinking about the Roald Dahl’s witches makes me *shudder*I defy you to find me a more terrifying book for adults! (ok- you probably could- but I’d rather you don’t take me up on that challenge and

And for a bonusFifty Shades of Grey– this book is terrifying for all the wrong reasons- I warn you *never to pick it up* or you will spontaneously combust (or rather- you’ll wish that you had!)

I mean just read to this:

“I flush at the waywardness of my subconscious – she’s doing her happy dance in a bright red hula skirt at the thought of being his.”

Yeuch!! There were times when I wanted to punch her “subconscious”!

Moving swiftly on- what are your non-scary spooky reads? Any recommendations for me? And if you prefer a genuinely terrifying book- what would you suggest a scaredy cat like me should avoid at all costs?

24 thoughts on “My Top 5 Not-All-That-Scary Spooky Reads

  1. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff says:

    I definitely agree with you and Claire about The Witches. I was 18 when it was published and it scared the pants off me! I should reread when I have time. I’m not even going to get started on my loathing for E.L. James and her books. I only read the first one but it was enough that every time someone mentions her or her book, my blood pressure goes up! Fifty Shades of Garbage is more like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mudandstars says:

    Awesome list! I absolutely agree that Fifty Shades is terrifyingly bad. The Witches really scared me as a child too – I remember there was a performance from the stage-play of it on Blue Peter, and I was so frightened by it that my mum complained to the BBC haha. The Shadow of the Wind looks really good – adding it to my TBR now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anne says:

    The head witch in the Witches….*shudders* and it had me checking for gloved women with a purple glow in their eyes all the time when playing outside. Shadow in the Wind is definitely fantastic! AND eery :). As for 50 Shades…I hope to God that it’s not one of the series where you’ve felt compelled to read the sequels :’)

    Like

  4. MyBookJacket says:

    *blinks for a few seconds at definition of scary* I definitely agree with you on fifty shades. Although I’m liking the similarly titled books that are coming out. Fifty sheds of grey for instance. Hahaha. Hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

