Lady Midnight Could Have Been Dead Good…

lady midnightIf this series wasn’t getting a little old, that is. I would like to say that this book completely blew me away and that it was the best of the Shadowhunters books I have read… but unfortunately this series is getting a little samey for me.

I dunno, I don’t want to be unfair, because I did enjoy it and I especially liked the necromantic touch, but to be honest, it felt more like a reread than a new book. And don’t get me wrong- I love rereads- just not when it’s supposed to be the start of a new series.

There were things I liked however. Most notably- and this is a bit spoilery because it’s supposed to be a surprise that this character turned up- I LOVED Mark. He was such a complex and ambiguous character- he’s probably one of my favourite of Clare’s characters so far- and that’s saying something.

And there is a lot of promise in this series. The premise is very intriguing. Plus the cutesy romance was, well, cute! I can never turn down a little sweetness in my life- and this book was just the ticket. And while I wasn’t crazy about the villain in this one- I hated the bit when they gave a creepy grin at the end of the book to say *look at me I was the dastardly villain all along*– I did like their motivation and the setup for the villain in the next one.

What makes me desperate to continue this series, however, is I want to know about the parabatai curse! Seriously- this is something that has been mentioned since the dawn of the Shadowhunter books- and yet it has never been explained! I will keep reading just for that!

Rating: 3½/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf banana half banana

Thanks so much to Jill @rantandravebooks– I already mentioned I won a giveaway for amazon vouchers- and  this is the other book I bought with them!! 🙂

Are you into the Shadowhunter world? Have you read this one? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

23 thoughts on “Lady Midnight Could Have Been Dead Good…

  1. yourdaughtersbookshelf says:

    I admit I haven’t picked this one up yet, for pretty much the same reasons you listed. I read all of the Shadowhunter books, and really felt that there was nothing new happening in them. I loved the series at first, then just grew tired of it. I may wait on this series for awhile, and see how the next book sounds before starting.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. wonderfilledreads says:

    I’ve had this book since it was released but I have yet to read it. I never finished TMI and so I plan to reread that series and finish it before moving on to this one. I absolutely loved TID trilogy so I was hoping that Clare continued on with the success of that one with this new series but so far it seems like people aren’t finding that to be the case. So disappointing!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. daleydowning says:

    Yeah, for me this “new” (not new) series fell flat as well. It kind of bugged me that the author focused on characters that were BARELY mentioned in TMI, and suddenly she wrote about them as if they were the next big thing. But they all just felt like re-writes of Clary and Jace, Izzy and Alec, Hodge and Simon and Magnus. Especially Emma and Julian and the other warlock. It was basically like a 3rd draft of the 5th TMI book. Lame, in my opinion. I won’t keep reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anne says:

    I haven’t read any books in the entire series/saga/something yet! I did watch the first episode of Shadowhunters, though, and couldn’t motivate myself to get to the second episode :P. Are the books better? Seems like they are! *strokes beard*

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Donna says:

    The hype around the book has prevented me from getting it. I have never read anything by the author, should I start with this one? #lostamongalltheauthorsandbooksshereadsabout (yep, I like long and hard hastags to read :p)

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh I understand that. If you’re interested, I’d recommend starting with the Infernal Devices, cos those are the best ones (and chronologically the first) They’re a lot of fun, but by the end of the mortal instruments it starts to fizzle out. hahahahaha #thatwasabsolutelyhilarious!

      Like

Leave a Reply

