How A Book Is Made Tag

So I saw this seriously awesome tag on equally awesome rivermoosereads blog, and even though I was not tagged to do it, I thought the questions were particularly relevant this month and so good, that I just had to do it! (even though I have *a ton* of work to do on my novel and that I have countless tags to do, but, you know, I’m a masochist)

how a book is made tag.png

(This tag was created by WritingMime over on YouTube.)

1. Should you participate in National Novel Writing Month to create a book?

nanowrimo

Well, I never have before, because it doesn’t suit my personality and I don’t usually set myself word limit targets (I work more by chapters), but this year I needed a bit of a prod to get some editing finished- so I’m semi-participating. If you also need a kick up the backside to get things done- then this might be the perfect opportunity for you to!

That was a really long winded way of saying- it’s up to you!

2. Self-publishing or traditional publishing?

I have no idea. Whatever suits you.

3. Write one idea at a time or write all the ideas at once?

I try to focus on one novel at a time- but I can’t help it if I suddenly get a brainwave for a story I want to write 5 years from now!

4. What genre is the easiest to write?

fantasy2

Well I like to mix it up- but everything I write comes under the rather broad umbrella of fantasy (barring occasional, slightly-shitty short stories)

5. Where do you need to write to get the work done?

Wherever I can!

6. Where do you find your inspiration?

Everywhere!

7. What age do you start writing?

When you can hold a pen and form words. Before that, you should make your thoughts known by scribbling liney-illustrations of visual frustration.

scribbles

8. What’s easiest to write? Short stories, stand-alones, series, etc.

Novels- as aforementioned, I’m not fond of writing short stories. Any mini-idea I get usually gets absorbed by some larger one- cos big stories need sustenance!

9. Do you mill your books or take years to write a book?

Depends on the book.

10. How fast can you type?

Very!

11. Do you write in the dark or in the light?

This is me right now:

night-owl

12. Hand-written or typed?

Handwritten then typed. Usually straight after I finish it so I can do a quick, basic edit, though I used to write the whole thing through before going through the mammoth task of typing it up.

13. Alone or with someone else?

It’s late- I’m gonna answer with another pic:

lone-wolf

14. Any typing hacks?

Nope

15. Are you already published?

Haha if only! But that would involve actually sending things off/coming up with some coherent plan to self-publish. Neither of which are things I relish!

16. When did you first consider being an author?

When I was 7 and my my great-uncle was visiting from Australia, I told him “all I want to do was travel the world and write”– so that’s when it became official!

17. How many books do you have in draft form?

Drafts… one that I’m editing now. Completed… three.

18. Do you outline or no?

what-do-you-take-me-for

19. What’s your favourite note-keeping strategy?

Notebooks!! Notebooks everywhere!

dscn3888

20. What do you think about writing in different genres?

Well, I pretty much decided that I wanted to stay writing fantasy/supernatural books forever- but never say never! I just think there’s so much scope within the genre to explore that I can create quite different work without ever having to talk about the “real” world! But, you know, that is really upto the individual author to decide!

I tag:

Eve Messenger

Marie

Kat

Rosereads

Jill

Invisible Moth

And anyone else who wishes to do this!

Let me know in the comments if you are participating (or semi participating) in NaNo)? Or if you just love to write!

43 thoughts on “How A Book Is Made Tag

  1. daleydowning says:

    Wow, I’m really getting loved on by you lately! 🙂

    “I don’t really do tags” I confidently used to say on my site. 😛

    I can imagine you reading some of these questions and waving your arms and shouting at the screen “WHATEVER!” 🙂 You seem to be a pretty easygoing writer. Huh, we’re usually neurotic as blazes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Haha yes i figured this would suit you though! 😊 Hahaha I’d like to think of myself like that- and i am kind of peaceful once I’m in the thrall of writing- but yeah, have to admit to being somewhat of a neurotic blaze the rest of the time- I kind of vacillate between being really laid back and a total hothead to be honest! 😂

      Like

  2. Lolsy's Library says:

    Really loved reading this and i have to agree with Number 8. I’ve tried writing short stories but my imagination takes over. I also really like that you’ve shared this tag with us. I always get self conscious about posting a tag when I haven’t been tagged in it, it’s just a weird person thing of mine,lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Thanks for the tag! I also hoard notebooks full of ideas. I tried to outline many times and end up doing my own thing. I like using a plot board. This way I can see what I wrote in my notebook up on the wall to see where the issues lie. I just sent my second book off to the editor for formatting. I still haven’t had the nerve to publish the first one. I swear I write and pay editors for fun. I get so annoyed with the traditional publishing process. I hate doing all the research for agents and publishers and then writing the query letters. I sent out a few the other day. I’m not putting much thought into it this time around. I asked two bloggers to beta read my romance novel and I’ll ask some to beta read my fantasy novel when I finally decide it’s perfect, and then I think I’ll just self pub if I don’t feel like dealing with agents and publishers. I honestly don’t know how anyone has the patience to query 100 agents. I queried 15 total and that was for two books, and I completely lost interest in writing for months because of it. And I only had a few nice rejections. I couldn’t imagine stacks of them. I think I might be a self pub kinda person, but the problem is the stigma behind self-published authors. There are some that are really good, while others don’t even pay a professional editor and make it harder for people who do pay the money to sell their books. I don’t blame people for not wanting to buy books with editing mistakes. But it also sucks for people like me who would rather pay an editor and cover designer and just go the self pub route instead of dealing with the traditional headache.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      You’re welcome! Ah I’ve heard of plot boards- they sound like fun- though I’d need a formal plan even if I did that first.
      Ahh that’s awesome- I do get that about querying, there’s just so much jumping though hoops involved- “include a bio, just don’t talk about yourself, email it to specific people, although the email is general, make it two hundred words, no three, no four!” Etc. It’s certainly a good idea not to overthink it like I do!
      Ah I understand- it’s very disheartening! I’m notoriously crap at submitting, as my supportive friends tell me- every few years I submit a couple- get a nice rejection back, then go back to the drawing board for the query again! I definitely see the appeal for self publishing- the issue in both cases for me is a) I’m an overthinker and b) I’m really not into marketing- it’s just such a headache :/

      Like

  4. Eve Messenger says:

    Hehe, I’m a lone wolf too. I get you. 🙂 So true, there are so many directions you can take a fantasy story: paranormal, horror, superheroes, magic, time slip, so many fun possibilities–yeah, that’s the genre I’m most comfortable writing in too. Thanks for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anne says:

    Hahaha, slightly shitty short stories. It can’t be that bad!!! 😀 (can it?)

    That’s a mighty fine drawing there, did you make that? 😉 Even though I’m not a writer, I loved reading this tag. Even though I have no idea what outlining is O_o

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mudandstars says:

    Oooh what are you working on/editing at the moment? I have tried doing NaNo before, but so far have never managed 50K words. I’m not participating this year, because like you, word limit targets aren’t really my thing, but I’ve got lots of free time coming up so I’m going to use it to get back into writing again. Alsooo, I’m sure your short stories weren’t shitty 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Donna says:

    Very interesting tag! I am not part of the writer’s team 🙂 I have actually never tried except for the few little creative writing assignments I had at university and a few terrible fanfictions I worked on a long time ago. I wish I could write though, but I’m not very creative. It’s much easier to read and support you all ❤ I love that you handwrite first!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

