The Amsterdam Book Tag

So you know how I said I was taking a quick trip… well I went to Amsterdam! Yeah I know- I can’t believe it either- but here is *proof*:

dscn3987

Also- I had no idea that the Miniaturist was based on a real dollhouse!?! Look at this:

DSCN3920.JPG

(Not sure this makes me feel better about the book to be honest- if I’d known what a magnificent miniature it was based on I might have actually ended up being more critical of the book! I’m a tricky customer that way!)

Anyhoo- enough of the preamble- this tag is pretty much perfect for this occasion, so thank you so much to Michelle@ Book Adventures for tagging me!

Why Do We Have So Many Cheese Stores In One Street – A Cheesy Read.

There is a lot of cheese in Amsterdam- and it’s not just confined to one street! This is what I felt:

wallace

Anyway, as you can probably tell I’m a HUGE fan of cheese- so what could be better than a cheesy book?! Here’s one that definitely made me smile:

Isla and the Happily Ever After

isla and the happily ever after

(I was tempted to go with Say Cheese and Die, but I wouldn’t say that book is cheesy per se)

Canal Parade – A Book that Celebrates The LGBT-Community.

Is it cheating to say Carry On? I mean, it’s not the kind of book that’s designed to celebrate LGBT- but c’mon it’s got Simon and Baz!!

carry on

Anne Frank House – A Book That Made you Cry.

Okay, it’s pretty easy to make me cry, but given the subject matter I want to recommend a book that will provoke a more of a gut-wrenching, tear at your soul kind of cry:

book thief

Museum Square – An Artsy Book.

Okay- another side note but the MUSEUMS IN AMSTERDAM ARE AMAZING!!! I make no secret of the fact that I went to Amsterdam primarily to say hello to these fellas:

vincent-and-rembrandt

And they made the trip so worth it!

Oh and I have a book about Van Gogh somewhere- that counts right?

Pigeons, Pigeons Everywhere – An Annoying Character.

My brain is going *don’t say America from the Selection series again, don’t say America from the Selection series again…* so I guess I have to say America from the Selection series!

selection

Red White Blue – Recreate The Dutch Flag Using Books.

dscn4073

(Oh what an excellent picture I hastily took 😉 )

That was great! Hope you enjoyed!

I tag:

Donna

Zezee

Wonderfilled Reads

The Quirky Book Nerd

Sorry I am Booked

Hiraethforthepages

Dreaming Through Literature

A Novel Glimpse

Mud and Stars

A Bibliophile’s Obsession

Embuhleeliest

Inked Brownies

Rivermoosebooks

And for everyone else- have you been to Amsterdam? Would you like to go?

 

38 thoughts on “The Amsterdam Book Tag

  1. Zezee says:

    Lol at the Selection series answer. That’s so cool you went Amsterdam. I’d love to visit as well one of these days just to see the city. I don’t like cheese so I doubt I’ll be tempted to try them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Donna says:

    Just when I was thinking I was low on interesting and fun tags to do, you save me. I love you 😀 ❤ I already have the perfect annoying character!!!
    I keep hearing Amsterdam is gorgeous, I wanna goooooooo!
    Hahahaha, I would totally do the Say Cheese and Die trick :p I reread it last month!
    Did you notice you did the French flag instead? :p

    Liked by 2 people

  3. hiraethforthepages says:

    AHHHH Thank you so much for the tag! By the way, I LOVE those travel photos! MAKES ME SO WANDERLUST I CANNOT. And the tag seems like such a good one! I haven’t read most of them but I *have* read the Selection and YES TO THE MOST ANNOYING CHARACTER. I am so glad I will never have to encounter her character ever again 😛 Thank you again so much!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Alex Sarll says:

    Aah i love Amsterdam! I went there for the first time about this time last year and long to go back! And thank you for some book recomendations!! The Book Thief is one that has been recomended and i have been meaning to read for a long time 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. mudandstars says:

    Thanks for the tag! Hope you had fun in Amsterdam. I’ve only ever been for a day trip, but I really want to go back there now, especially with the promise of all that cheese! Completely agree with your choice for a book that made you cry – I just finished The Book Thief and I cried so hard. Devastating. But an incredible book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

