The Diverse Books Tag

Happy Monday! (ughh that feels wrong to say- is anyone ever happy it’s Monday?)

After all the lovely conversations I had yesterday- thank you for that! – I really wanted to continue the conversation and talk more about diverse books. Plus- tis the season to do overdue tags!

Thanks so much to the awesome Codie for tagging me for this one!!

RULES

The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read. If you can’t think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next category.

THE QUESTIONS.

1. Find a book starring a lesbian character.

I’ve wanted to read this for ages!

oranges-are-not-the-only-fruit

2. Find a book with a Muslim protagonist.

It has to be A Thousand Splendid Suns– it may be a cliché at this point, but it’s one of my favourite books- the list wouldn’t be complete without it!

a thousand splendid suns

3. Find a book set in Latin America.

This didn’t really do it for me, but I could appreciate the dense prose and liked the characters in this one

love-in-a-time-of-cholera

4. Find a book about a person with a disability.

All_the_Light_We_Cannot_See_(Doerr_novel)

5. Find a science-fiction or fantasy book with a POC (person of colour) protagonist.

I need to read this:

labyrinth-lost

6. Find a book set in/about any country in Africa.

Have you read this? Have you? If you haven’t- what are you doing with your life? It was one of those books I just loved at uni and it also happens to be one of the most ground-breaking modern African novels… moral of the story: read it!

things fall apart

7. Find a book written by an Indigenous or Native author.

This is the only one on the list I had to hunt for- but I’m glad that I did cos I found something awesome to add to my tbr

black_elk_speaks

8. Find a book set in South Asia (Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka etc).

midnights-children

9. Find a book with a biracial protagonist.

everything everything

10. Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues.

I want to go with a bit of a curveball here and say Poison Study– it may be a bit of an unusual answer, but you *should* know what I mean if you’ve read it

Poison-Study-new-UK

 Gonna tag some of my newer followers:

Bookstooge

Annmarie McQueen

Meadow of Roses

Geronimo reads

Feel free to ignore!

And to everyone else- I’m looking for your fave diverse book recommendations- hit me up people!

25 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    What a deliciously fantastic mix of books you talked about in this tag. I want to get around to reading Labyrinth Lost also. Oh, and Poison Study is coming up soon in my TBR. I go in blind on so many books, I had no idea it featured a trans protagonist–cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicola Alter says:

    I’m planning to finally read ‘poison study’ this month (or next month, depending how long my most recent book order takes to arrive 🙂 ) – very curious to see what you are referring to. Also curious about Labyrinth Lost – will be keeping my eyes out for your review if you read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! I know 🙂 – there should actually be linked to your original post (where the instructions are) as long as the link is not broken! Have to check that later!! Ahh that’s very exciting!!! Gosh there must be so many awesome recommendations now!!!

      Like

  3. luvtoread says:

    I really loved Things Fall Apart. That ending just blew me away. Have you read Achebe’s other works? I haven’t yet but hope to some day! I just finished Ben Okri’s The Famished Road which is also set in Nigeria, and reading Things Fall Apart helped me understand some of the things that weren’t explained in Okri’s book. I’m really enjoying African literature, I haven’t read all that much yet, but I’ve really loved what I’ve read. I enjoy the rhythm and ease of the writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Transhaan says:

    I would’ve had such a hard time doing this tag, but I definitely love the answers you’ve shared! I really should read Hosseini’s books soon, feels like I’ve had him in my scope for a little too long. 😛

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

