Chosen For Endless Accolades

the chosenWell hello there! So you probably didn’t notice, but I “went dark” for 48 hours there- aka I decided to take a break from the internet to recharge my batteries. But now I’m back with the review I promised in my last post (and have been promising myself for ages).

Now, I’m going to say straight out that I loved this book. For me, reading this book was like switching on a light bulb in my brain- for a second everything was illuminated. Not just because it was brilliantly philosophical and gave me food for thought, but because it was a beautiful story with so much heart.

At the centre of this book was a modern day allegory of two boys playing a baseball game. It became an indictment against baseless hatred. The idea of pointless hatred between man and man as a destructive force is a crucial theme in Jewish philosophy- one story pits this as the cause of the destruction of the temple- but is so clearly a universal message for us all. This book, more than anything, is about bridging the gaps of perceived differences and realising we aren’t all that different after all. Personally, after all the posts I have published this week, that is the message I want to get out most of all.

Rating: 5/5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf bananahalf banana

Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Chosen For Endless Accolades

  1. hiraethforthepages says:

    OKAY THIS IS (ONE OF) THE REASONS WHY I LOVE YOU: always introducing me to SUCH GREAT books! This one sounds so interesting and great, so glad to see that you enjoyed it! Now to add another book to the mountainous TBR that will be my doom! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna says:

    Food for the brain is necessary, especially these days when powerful messages about the human nature are lost in the constant noise of our world! I love that you introduced us to so many great stories that have an impact ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

