Eating Up Five Quarters of the Orange

five-quarters-of-the-orangeAhh the end of the year is fast approaching and I still have so many reviews sitting in my drafts! Now admittedly, I am trying to cram in a few more of these before January hits, but I did want to share this one because I really felt like it captured the scenery of the Loire Valley perfectly. Through Harris’ typically sensory style, I felt really nostalgic for the place she described and felt transported both through time and space.

Going into this book, I wasn’t sure I would enjoy it, because I had been told the mother was a bit dodgy and abusive. Now, while the mother was no saint, I actually found her to be a very sympathetic character. However, even though I enjoyed this book, I did have my problems with it- and it was not from the things I was forewarned about!

Firstly I really didn’t feel like the main character was a 9 year old- she was far too mature for her age. I think it would have been a really good idea to age her up a couple of years. Secondly, and more importantly, I had a huge problem with the children acting as collaborators. It just made me uncomfortable to be honest- and I didn’t get how they could be both very aware of what they were doing and yet claim innocence. It was contradictory in a way that didn’t make sense. It left a bit of a bitter taste in the mouth.

Despite that, I rated it a solid

Rating 3/5 bananas

 half bananahalf bananahalf banana

So that was my short and sweet review- have you read any books by Joanne Harris? Did you like them? Let me know in the comments!

18 thoughts on “Eating Up Five Quarters of the Orange

  1. JJAzar says:

    Nailing the age of a character is important, right? I remember taking issue with Ender’s age in Ender’s game. Seeing kids too far ahead or far behind where they should be with hardly any justification simply leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Great review!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mudandstars says:

    I remember getting this book from the library years ago, but I don’t think I ever read it! I’ve read a few Joanne Harris books, but the only one I really enjoyed was Chocolat. I have two collections of her short stories, but found that I only loved a couple of stories in each of them. I do really enjoy her writing style, but I find it hard to connect with her characters. Have you read any of her other books?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Donna says:

    It can be tricky for an author to write a child because sometimes the actions and/or words sound so mature or too childish. If you don’t have kids the age of the characters at the time you’re writing the story, just don’t bother, it sounds weird 90% of the time! Oh, the Loire Valley! I’ve never been xD Great review, here’s an orange for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yes absolutely- I think for me the issue here was also how complex their thoughts were and getting upto shenanigans and into plotting things that most teenagers would struggle to keep up with… in short the ages were just wrong! haha yes- you’re one hundred percent right!! Ahh thank you!!! 🙂

      Like

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! Yeah absolutely- here it was that they were plotting and thinking things that were too complex for their years- it wasn’t just that they were ahead of their years, it was that it was far too much to be believable! hahaha yes it makes sense!! haha I get what you mean about caffeine!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Martin says:

    Ok so now I really want to read this book. Partly because I visited the Loire valley about three years ago and loved it, but a,so because I was just reading about how Samaur was one of the last places that offered resistance during the fall of France in the Second World War. Then you mention collaborators and I’m thinking “interesting”. It’s going on the list.
    Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

