Not Suitable for Children! Reading Between the Lines of Dogger…

So it’s been a long time since I’ve done this, but I thought I’d do some more “reading between the lines” of one of my favourite childhood books…

*Insert usual disclaimer that this is satire*

doggerWell, I have to say I used to think this book was suitable for children, but boy was I wrong! The subliminal messages in “dogger” would give Freudian psychologists a field day! I mean, just look at the wordplay in title for heavens sake!

And what about the fact it’s all about a toy getting lost and found… I mean it’s not too difficult to insert some Fifty Shades of Grey style thoughts in there!

NO THIS IS NOT ME READING TOO MUCH INTO IT!! Like every good psychoanalytical reading I just happen to see phallic symbols everywhere… And incest- cos siblings in books equal incest- you’ll know this if you’ve ever studied English Lit… Every single book is corrupted by sex and you’ve got to take my word for it because *I have credentials*- very, very shiny credentials! (No- I’m not reading it this way cos I’m a bit of a pervert- don’t you try to psychoanalyse me now!)

I think my argument can be summed up thus:

i'm right you're wrong.jpg

So yeah, I think I proved my point there. Obviously this book is an absolute disgrace and you should in no way buy this for your children for Christmas!  (maybe just for a friend who appreciates a giggle …)

Okay, that’s all for now- I think that got slightly weird….

37 thoughts on “Not Suitable for Children! Reading Between the Lines of Dogger…

  1. LizScanlon says:

    😀 Wonderful… and entertaining at the cost of your not so mixed emotions about the book 😀 Yeah, agree with a commenter above- never able to look at children’s books the same way… in between the lines it is! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jack Dowd says:

    There’s a children’s book called Dogger?! H-how was this allowed to happen?! Anyway I think what we see in a book tells us more about ourselves than the author, for example The Great Gatsby. Anyway, very funny to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Donna says:

    MOUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    You know I love you, right?
    Who thought it would be a good idea to give such a title to a children book?
    Now that I think of it… All children books have hidden sexual messages. Mankind is screwed!! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tiana says:

    I’m working on a post that celebrates bloggers in this community that have been a support and inspiration to me. I hope for you to participate by letting me know two things. One, is What are you passionate about? Two, is what is your favorite quote? Thank you so much for your comments and wonderful posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

