Top Ten Books of 2016

Alrighty then- it’s finally time for my top ten of 2016!!! I’m really pleased to say competition for a spot on my top ten was really tough this year- I’ve read some incredible books- so much so that I felt the need to highlight my honorary picks yesterday in a post all of their own! Honestly, it got to the point in the year when I felt like I should stop reading good books so there would be less competition on this list!

For that reason this year’s list is special- these aren’t just great books- but books that are going to stay with me for years to come. I hope that some of them will do the same for you. Without further ado- here’s my top ten in ascending order:

(All reviews are linked to the pics)

10 monster calls.png

a_monster_calls

This is the only book on the list I didn’t review- but that was actually because my emotions were too fraught after reading to come up with anything coherent. What I will say now is that it was nothing short of beautiful– beautifully written, beautifully conceived and beautifully illustrated. It was quite simply, the perfect story. (For the record it gets *all the bananas* from me!)

9 infidel.png

infidel

Such an important book to read– this book is only lower down on this list because, while brilliant, it is a heavy subject. That description of FGM at the start is not for the faint of heart!

8 red rising.png

Red Rising Pierce Browns

This series blew me away. It’s bloodydamn brilliant!! Shout out to Kat and everyone else that told me to read this- so, so grateful!

7 the martian.png

the martian

One of the best things to come out of this year has been my sudden interest in sci fi- I am so excited to read more in the coming years, but I feel like this was my gateway drug. Ever since I read it, I just kept going back to how perfect it was- sciencey terms and all! (Come on, it’s got Mark Watney!)

6 war and peace.png

war and peace

I can’t believe this was the year I finally read War and Peace! This tome has been on my tbr forever- but this year I felt spurred on to tackle it- and I’m so glad I did, because it turned out to be rewarding for all the right reasons: fantastic plot, realistic characters and thoughts that will make your head hurt! (In a good way 😉 )

5 golem.png

The_Golem_(Isaac_Bashevis_Singer_novel_-_cover_art)

And this is the point in the list where things get really personal. This may be a children’s story, but I was moved so much by this and found Singer’s version to be truly telling about some of the horrors faced by Jews during the pogroms.

4 miss peregrine.png

MissPeregrineCover (1).jpg

I read the second one of the series the other day and was just as blown away as with the first one. The imagery and symbolism here is simply magnificent. I love what this series is doing and adore Riggs unique style.

3-the-chosen

the chosen

This book didn’t just feel personal to me, it had a universal message– the central allegory of this story, of letting go of baseless hatred, is one I think we can all learn from. This story is bound to stay with me for quite some time!

2 neverending story.png

NeverendingStory1997Edition

A book about books, when it’s done well, has to be one of my favourite things ever! And this book is one of the finest I have ever read. Imaginative, philosophical and just plain beautiful- what more could one ask for! I am also eternally grateful that this book was recommended to me by Zezee– book blogging gets you the best recommendations!

1 shadow of the wind.png

shadow of the wind

Yes, the top two books on here are books about books! This book is up there for me as one of the best books I have *ever* read. It is in the realm of the Book Thief and is without a doubt the best book I have read this year.

That was so fun to do! Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? And what was your favourite book of 2016? Let me know in the comments!

 

50 thoughts on “Top Ten Books of 2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    The Martian and A Monster Calls were on my top list last year – sososososo good! And I hear they’ve done the movie of A Monster Calls perfectly, which has cheered me up because I was so worried they’d screw it up.
    And I’m still so impressed you read War and Peace 🙂
    I have Miss Peregrine’s on my list and I hope 2017 will be the year I finally get to it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. LizScanlon says:

    Another great list… Shadow of the Wind has high priority on my reading list… You’ve been reading a good variety of books and it’s good to see some that are on my TBR rated so highly by you… I feel less scared starting them now! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. daleydowning says:

    I just finished A Monster Calls – most of it I enjoyed – and although intense feels are not my realm, I understood all the importance of them, and I thought the author did a great job on portraying the emotions very rawly and very honestly – I can definitely see why this is a story that’s been tearing up hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I adore A Monster Calls!! It’s such a beautiful and emotional book. I really want to read Red Rising, since I have heard amazing things about it (mostly from Kat as well). I have read Anna Karenina from Tolstoy and really enjoyed it. But somehow I’m scared of reading War and Peace – I have heard that it’s really hard to get through. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kat Impossible says:

    You have such great books on your list and I have no regrets recommending Red Rising to the point of annoyance to everyone hahaha A Monster Calls was one of my highlights this year as well but I had real troubles picking favourite books, so I just went with the ginormous list of TV shows instead (as you’ve seen). I guess that This Savage Song and the Six of Crows duology would definitely have gotten top spots though.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. hiraethforthepages says:

    I haven’t read most of these but I’ll be sure to definitely check them out and add them to my TBR! I definitely did really enjoy A Monster Calls when I read it ad I’m so happy that you enjoyed it as well! I an’t wait for the movie! 🙂 War and Peace I have wanted to read for a while but it really is threatening, I’m really glad you liked it though, it gives me all the more motivation!

    Like

  7. TalesOfAScottishLassie says:

    I really want to read war and peace but it’s such a big book I’ll get around to it one day. I’ve read the shadow of the wind it was really good but was it just me who needed a dictionary for every page? It had some advanced vocabulary for a modern fiction book. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

