My Bookish Overview 2016

Hello all! I thought I’d cram one more post into 2016 before I rush off to start ushering in the New Year!

This year has been an absolute rollercoaster for me in the reading department (and in a lot of other ways too!) and I somehow managed to read 153 books! I know- I can’t believe it either!! But the number of books I read is not the only thing I want to measure. If you remember (and to be honest, I barely remember doing it) I made three bookish resolutions at the end of last year, and I’m gonna look back over them now to see how I did!

resolution-1-quality

war and peaceI have had an amazing reading year- and a lot of that is thanks to *you*! All of your amazing recommendations meant that my average rating was 3.5 (higher than normal) and I rated a whopping 76 books 4-5*. I also managed 40 classics/modern classics this year! There is no way I would have thought at the beginning of the year I would read this volume of books and maintain the quality I wanted- but somehow I did! All in all I’d say I successfully hit the target. And let’s be real, one of those books was War and Peace, so I’d have said this was a success even if the rest of my reads had been 1* airport fiction.

resolution-2

dscn3446I did this… and I also didn’t. The issue is I kept buying books- and have still more coming in the post! Out of the ones I had on my TBR till the end of time, I read all the physical books I owned- but not as many on the Kindle. Next year I’m gonna have to change that- but until then, I’d say this was a success.

resolution 3.png

Well…. This was a whopping failure. I managed to do a tag week, like I promised- but I didn’t even get close to doing this. I’m going to try and tackle more next year, but let’s face it, there’s no way this is gonna be a resolution again!

And that’s it from me! No more wraps ups and no more 2016… Have a great new year and an awesome 2017!

37 thoughts on “My Bookish Overview 2016

  1. Transhaan says:

    Definitely an amazing success when it comes to your first resolution! I also like the idea behind the 2nd one, although I’m pretty sure I’d end up making the number of owned books grow faster than the number of books-I-own read. 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jess @ JBelkBooks says:

    Looks like you had an amazing reading year! I’m extremely jealous of how many books you read, especially the amount of classics! Congratulations with completing your resolutions — Here’s to an even BETTER 2017! Happy New Year 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Martin says:

    That’s amazing. 153 books is like one every two and half days. I’ve read nowhere near that much, makes me wonder what I’ve been doing with my time!
    Best wishes for new year and may your 2017 reading bring you joy. Thanks for all the times you’ve visited and liked my blog.
    All the best.
    Martin

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LyfWithEm says:

    Happy new year! That is an AMAZING amount of books! A few years ago, I managed around that amount, but since exams have gotten in the way…umm yeah I probably managed like 30 this year? Maybe not even that…idk. I just find it so hard to find time to read nowadays? I’ll try more this year 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. daleydowning says:

    I really like your points of quality over quantity, and not committing to too much in terms of blogging. Is it just me, or does blogging honestly take up a huge chunk of time, and nobody tells you that when you first start out?! I greatly appreciate the community sharing when people tag me – but tags also take a lot of time, and what if we forget to do them all and… Yeah, you’re right, it just often doesn’t work.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Donna says:

    153 books? I need to work more on managing my time to squeeze MORE BOOKS TO MY LIFE!!!! Haha, but I’m happy with my 76 mostly great reads 🙂 I never thought I could reach this number.
    Haha, reading the owned books is a battle for everyone! That’s why I needed a challenge to help me with that in 2017! I counted more than 125 books in need of love… That’s not good!!
    I slowed down on tags at the end of the year, but I’m hoping to find interesting ones to use for my Suntags again *fingers crossed*

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha trust me- it’s abnormal for me too!! I *never* would have thought I’d read this much in a year!
      haha yes!!! ahh wow- I’m scared to even count the number I have on my kindle that I haven’t read… It genuinely scares me!
      Ah yes, I get what you mean, I hope to pick up on tags again soon! Good luck! I enjoy your Suntags!!! 🙂

      Like

  7. Grab the Lapels says:

    153 books is a lot–over 3 books per week, when you think about it! And you read 40 classics! I’m impressed! When I hear about people reading so many books a year, I typically check their reading lists and find it’s a lot of YA and chick lit. Kudos to you 🙂 I’m thinking about getting someone to buddy read The Brothers Karamazov with me. Are you interested in reading another fat classic?

    Like

Leave a Reply

