Straightening Out My Feelings on Unravel Me (and the Shatter Me series in general)

unravel-meOkay- I’m going to say right off the bat that I am glad I continued this series. As I said in my Shatter Me review, I wasn’t sure if I’d like to read more of these, but in the end I felt like the story had enough in it to keep me interested- well, that and the fact it had pretty covers… Still, I have to say that was a good decision in the end.

What’s great about this book was that it really built on the first one. There’s no middle book syndrome here that’s for sure! While there may be a bit of internal teenage angst in this book, it surprisingly doesn’t detract from the drama. In fact it was so exciting that it made me late for work! (#noregrets) There were so many times when I wrote “ooh the plot thickens” in my notes- and what was nice and unusual for me was that I didn’t see the plot twist coming!

*Spoiler alert*– the moment it became a story about brothers, it really came into its own. *End spoiler* I will admit that in the first book I didn’t get Warner and couldn’t connect to Adam. But now I really feel invested in them both and see them as inverses of each other. One is good on the inside but unpleasant on the outside, the other is nice on the outside but a bit of a jerk underneath… (If you’ve read this series you’ll know what I mean!)

Overall, I found myself connecting so much more to the characters and their relationships than I did in the first book. All I can say is: I totally get why this was hyped now!

3½ /5 bananas

half bananahalf bananahalf banana half banana

So have you read Unravel Me? Do you like it? And what book series did you feel improved with the second book? Let me know in the comments!

23 thoughts on “Straightening Out My Feelings on Unravel Me (and the Shatter Me series in general)

  1. Kristina Steiner says:

    You make me want to read this series. I’ve just got the 1st book of the After series – want to see what the hype is about.
    Sometimes the story comes full circle in the last book of the series. I would be too curious too and wouldn’t stop reading in the middle of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maddie A. says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you like it! I hope you like Ignite Me, too, because I think this series gets better with each book 🙂
    I actually have Shatter Me in the old cover, but I bought another copy when they changed it because the new covers are SO pretty 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shoto says:

    I read the first book a while ago but didn’t continue with the second book. This review is motivating me to continue. So far, I don’t really feel connected to either Adam or Warner but you mentioned that this book helped sort that out. Great review! PS- These books have the prettiest covers!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Roscoe says:

    Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same
    layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

