Illuminae Lit Me Up!

illuminaeHellooo! I’m sure I’m not the only one catching up on my December reviews now- and this one is a real gem!

Normally, I don’t go in for unconventionally told stories and I only just got into sci fi- so really this book had everything stacked against it. But do you know what? I *loved* this book! Even though I found the formatting hard to follow at first and it took me a while to get into, it ended up being one of the most exciting books I read in 2016! I am so glad I persevered with it because it was so much fun to read- it was jam packed with drama- I simply could not put it down!

On top of that, it dealt with some big “life questions”- about what it means to be human- all without being wanky! (Now that’s what I call a success!) What was great about this book was how complex it ended up being- in the end everything slotted into place and the issues I had at the start like “why is there an Orwell quote?” and “what’s with the title?” were all answered- and very satisfactorily too. Because this book is more than just another space romp- it’s about the power of the individual to speak truth to power- which practically had me fist pumping *rock on!*

Plus, if that hasn’t got you sold, this book is also full of some stonkingly good characters- I cannot tell you how much I adored them (albeit not straight away- sadly because of the formatting) From the point when AIDAN was given a voice, this book became an emotional rollercoaster. I hated the villain, I loved the villain, I JUST DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MY FEELINGS!! There were points where the reader is led to believe a character is dead- but for me this didn’t have the right punch because too many obvious breadcrumbs made it obvious this wasn’t the case. Even so- I felt so invested in this book by the end.

So after docking half a banana for the somewhat slow start, I can happily award this book:

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana half-a-hand-drawn-banana

Ah this book made me glad I gave sci fi a chance last year- what genre have you recently picked up and what book was your gateway drug to a new (or old) beloved genre? Let me know in the comments!

38 thoughts on “Illuminae Lit Me Up!

  1. daleydowning says:

    This didn’t do it for me – but I am not a big sci-fi fan, and the formatting made it too confusing for me to follow. My oldest son thought it was great, though. He’s already polished off Gemina, and really hopes there will be a third in this series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LizScanlon says:

    Yeehaw, a winner! 🙂
    Im still not sure whether to try this book out or not… on the other hand I should just go for it… I’ve seen images of the formatting and it left me bamboozled… Love your review, the booklove does shine through… so I may be brave one day and try it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Donna says:

    I have 5 reviews to write xD and I’m spending my time reading others’, haha!
    I still haven’t read Illuminae, mostly because of all the hype surrounding it but I made a point to finally get to it this year. 2017 is perfect as it’s sci-fi year for me 😀 I’m glad it worked for you. I’m pretty sure I’ll have issues with the format too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    I am so glad to hear you loved this book! I was so invested in the characters, when I never thought I’d be able to get into the story so much. I love how you mention that there are so many life questions here, I could definitely see that, and that’s one of the plus of this book for sure 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lostartofreadingblog says:

    I have heard so many mixed reviews I just can’t decide if this is a book for me, but yours is another good one it seems.
    Right now I am reading The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, I have never been able to get into short stories before but I have to say I’m about 100 pages in and I’m hooked. I just might have to explore more short stories if the book continues to be this good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Magini - books says:

    I also really enjoyed Illiminae, mostly because of the format 😀 but the story and characters were also interesting.
    Because of my audiobook December I read more sci-fi than I normally do throughout the year 😛 and some of them were really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    I *adore* Illuminae. Personally, I’m a huge fan of weird formats, particularly in epistolary novels (which is probably one of my favorite formats for reading). I love the idea that a story can be told with the documents of our lives. Illuminae, in particular, intrigued me since it was the first one I read to incorporate such a wide variety of formats. Not just letters or emails, but wikis and dossiers and all that jazz!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it, even if it started slowly for you. Do you plan on continuing to read the series?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nicola Alter says:

    I just started reading this one so I’m glad to see you’ve rated it so highly! I’m only a short way in so far, but the unusual format is fun and the premise is very intriguing. The characters annoyed me quite a bit at the beginning (I guess because of their smart-alec-y behaviour and slightly cliché jokes/retorts) but they are growing on me!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lashaan and Trang (Bookidote) says:

    So glad to hear your first experiences in the world of sci-fi are shaping up to be great. Definitely an AWESOME place to start with Illuminae for sci-fi beginners. I also thought some of the plot twists were obvious cause of those huge bread crumbs! Although it definitely didn’t take anything away from the story. It was definitely innovative in format and brought us a compelling story with the amazing AIDAN to top it off. By the end of the book, your opinion of AIDAN is like BOUND to change, it’s crazy! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

