Embroiled in Manipulated Lives

manipulated-livesHello! Today I have another very exciting review I didn’t get to last year- and this one’s by the lovely indie author…

So this book came to my attention on Donna’s blog– and like her I am fascinated by what makes humans tick- particularly those upto no good. In fact, this book is pretty well timed considering I am starting to develop a taste for this area of Psychology.

But I digress! This is very much a character based book- so let’s start by discussing some of the heroes/heroines of the story. I felt this was where the book was really strong- the author created some lovely characters- my favourite being the very lovable and human Tess. With these sympathetic anchors, I felt deeply invested in every tale, and could feel how manipulators can wear down a person and even change them.

When it came to the manipulators there could have been more of a gender balance as narcissism affects both men and women- but Liis did a great review where she discussed that a little, so I won’t dwell on it too much. Overall, I found some of the villains a little cartoonish, but most of them had just the right amount of humanity to be intriguing. I enjoyed the twists and turns of each story and felt like I was taken along for an exciting (albeit dark) ride. One of the best things about the way it was done was that you never knew who to trust- which always kept me on the edge of my seat!

One theme across the anthology that worked really well was the use of Stockholm Syndrome- it served as an excellent link to connect all the different narratives. This coupled with the subtle use of atmosphere created a singular purpose across the book- at times reminiscent, others unsettling, it cast a powerful spell from beginning to end.

Rating: 3½/5 bananas                  

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana half-a-hand-drawn-banana

So that’s all for now- have you checked out this book? And what dark and twisted tales do you secretly get a kick out of? (I won’t judge 😉 ) Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Embroiled in Manipulated Lives

Leave a Reply

