Midnight Star Was a Sparkly Conclusion To A Bright Trilogy

midnight-starSo way back in 2015 I read Young Elites and Rose Society– then I had the horrible ordeal of waiting for the finale. The thing about waiting over a year for the final book in the series is that the conclusion can often disappoint- it doesn’t live up to expectations, the story’s gone cold while you waited or you’ve just lost interest. Luckily for me, however, this did not happen to me with Lu’s masterful series.

Now I’ve mixed reviews around for this finale, but for me it was a very satisfying ending to a unique story. Personally I thought it ended the only way it could. In fact it was so beautifully done that I was left shaking and with tears in my eyes.

New, imaginative elements were brought into the finale that were only hinted at in the rest of the series, giving it more of a mythological edge and the feeling that the story would become part of legend. This took the book to a whole new level- and was impressed that Lu was able to step it up in the last book- not many series manage to do that! Apart from being disappointingly short and a little rushed, I felt this was the perfect way to end it:

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana half-a-hand-drawn-banana

One satisfied Orangutan

So this was my first read this year- it’s early days but how’s your reading shaping up so far for 2017? And have you read this series? Do you like it? Let me know in the comments!

28 thoughts on “Midnight Star Was a Sparkly Conclusion To A Bright Trilogy

  1. Matthew Wright says:

    Over Christmas I read a deco-era spy novel by Mark Gatiss (who’s written a fair number of Dr Who scripts). ‘The Devil In Amber’. It wasn’t bad – had every potential to be cheesy, but Gatiss delivered a solid story with some great characterisation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. daleydowning says:

    I’ve read Young Elites and DNF Rose Society – more because I just didn’t care for the subject matter. I really like the writing style. But I also feel twitchy about the story of a villain-to-be when she could just as easily use her abilities for good. Yeah, I know, I’m a bit picky like that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicola Alter says:

    I’m not sure how this series managed to slip under my radar. I’d certainly heard of the first book but for some reason I didn’t look into it/add it. Perhaps the cover or blurb or something made me worried it would be clichéd – but from your review it sounds like it was unique, imaginative and entertaining so I guess I should add it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Great review! I find that is hard to write reviews for subsequent series books, but you have done a great job. No spoilers, no mysterious comments attempting to hide some important facts–just a simple impression of how the ending felt after time had passed. I haven’t read any of Marie Lu’s work, but I am certainly intrigued now.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

